We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Santa Clarita, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel was really great for the price. We had a partial ocean view that was fantastic. Staff were very friendly and great and the hotel was also very clean.

The location of the hotel is superb. Waikiki beach is very close and you are smack dab in the middle of a shopping and restaurant hotspot. The International Marketplace is also right next door where you can get the best souvenirs for the lowest possible prices! Even though there was a lot of hustle and bustle going on outside of the hotel, it was never loud when we stepped inside or even when we hung out on the balcony.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha JennyR and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! Superb location, great for the price and clean rooms are music to my ears, but especially gratifying is your acknowledgment of our friendly staff. Our team works hard to take care of our many visitors and we certainly appreciate your kind words. Mahalo for your business and support. /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    746
    207
    47
    22
See reviews for
454
547
77
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It is central to everything. Really great rooms and good prices and great services too, nothing is a bother to the staff, all you have to do is ask and they are straight onto it. I'll be coming back for sure.

Room Tip: If you can afford an ocean view get it, you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha MickR, thank you for your kind words and for choosing to stay with us here at the Beachcomber! Central location, great rooms and service and good prices say it all! And it's great to hear that you'll be coming back - thank you for your support! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have stayed at this property several times and for some strange reason, I tried different hotels in Waikiki (mostly business related) and they were clearly not as good of a hotel. I just stayed at the Beachcomber again and found it to be only perfect. This is a Holiday Inn, and the rate can be slightly higher than other properties, but this place has great service, great location and simply delivers everyting you need.

Until we move to Honolulu, this is my hotel of choice. I think if you give this place a try, you will too conclude that it's simply perfect. The hotel general manager is Dean and he runs a wonderful hotel. If you get up early like I do, say hello to Jenny at the front desk. I have found Jenny to be very informative, wonderful personality, and just a great person. My hat's off to the staff at this hotel.

Stay there, I seriously doubt that you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Aloha 678855, thank you for your kind review and most importantly, for your continued business and support of the Beachcomber! We never get tired of hearing about our wonderful service and location, and especially enjoy hearing about our awesome staff, including Jenny at the front desk. Yes, until you move to live in Honolulu, we're delighted with the opportunity of welcoming back to your home in Hawaii - the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort. Mahalo and hope to see you again soon! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Loved this location and how close to the beach and shops this hotel offers. I especially enjoyed the friendly service we received on multiple occasions from Sydney at the front desk . She helped us beyond our expectations and made our concerns feel like no problems at all.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Aloha TommieDean and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed our hotel, its location and the friendly service. And thank you for mentioning Sydney at the front desk! Our entire team works hard to take care of our many visitors and we're delighted when our guests mention this in their online reviews. Thank you for your support and we hope you return to stay with us again in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in June. It was a great hotel. It was on the Main Street, great for shopping and getting to the beach. The restaurant was great! Great staff and food was amazing! Awesome atmosphere and good pool facilities! Would recommend this place to everyone. The staff were great!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha Staceyjmill and thank you for the review of your recent Beachcomber stay! We certainly appreciate your kind words about our location and restaurant, but most of all, we're delighted to hear you describe our staff as great! We thank you for your business, support and recommendation and hope you return to the Beachcomber in the not-too-distant future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were checked in by Reid who was very nice and made us feel welcome as if we really were valued guests. Great start!

We were assigned a room on a very high floor with a direct ocean view which was greatly appreciated. Looking to the left we could also see Diamond Head. Our room, the bathroom, halls and entire hotel were immaculate. Everything was modern and up to date and reliably Holiday Inn in style which is a good thing.

The location is excellent because it's close to everything - an assortment of any style of restaurants, shopping from basic to upscale. The beach is right across the street with very easy access. I felt no need to spend a whole lot more to stay directly on the beach.

We just stayed a night in transit to Australia but really enjoyed our time here. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and we already have since this stay. We also stayed here last year for one night which is why we came back. This review is delayed so the next one will have to wait.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha mommabean and thank you for your kind review of your Beachcomber stay! Great value and excellent location are key reasons why many visitors stay with us. We also receive many compliments about our friendly staff and we thank you for recognizing Reid at the front desk. Yes, we are reliably Holiday Inn Resort and we appreciate your recognition of our hotel and the IHG brand. We thank you for your support and look forward to your return in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, New Mexico
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed overnight with family prior to a cruise. The property was very clean and the value considering Hawaii prices for hotels was not bad. The front desk staff was very helpful. Would have appreciated a tub in the bathroom. I believe most of the rooms do not have them. The toilet area did not have a vent system to remove humidity/odors which I found surprising and somewhat unplesant. Bed was comfortable and ammenities were standard. I found the price for breakfast was astounding considering that most properties include at least continental breakfast these days. I know some guests were offered a discount coupon for the buffet but we were not given that opportunity. I guess had we spent more on the room, (larger, more days perhaps) this might have happend. While not on the beach the property is in close walking distance. The parking garage is off an alleyway which is very very difficult to locate. Signage could definately be better for this property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Aloha NMandbeyond and thank you for your comments on your recent Beachcomber stay! Too bad you were only in Waikiki overnight - I'm sure if you spend more time here on a future visit, you'll realize more of what Waikiki and the Beachcomber offers. Great to hear you say our hotel is very clean and you felt the value was fair; sorry about not having full tubs - all of our rooms are equipped with the half tub / shower combo only. And sorry to hear about the breakfast - all of our hotel guests do receive a discount at Jimmy Buffett's simply by showing their room key card. Also, I agree that especially to first-timers, our hotel and entry may be hard to find, especially on a busy one-way Kalakaua Avenue, but local codes prevent us from installing larger, more signage. We'll keep looking at ways to improve upon the situation and your feedback is appreciated. Mahalo and hope you return to Hawaii again in the future! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, Honolulu Surfing Museum and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.