We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Waikiki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Waikiki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We can recommend the Holiday Inn Beachcomber Waikiki, fantastic location, 250 metres to Waikiki Beach, right next door to the International Markets. We had an ocean view room on 22nd floor when we stayed there in April this year & really enjoyed it. Service in the Hotel was great as were the meals & service at Jimmy Buffetts Restaurant. For anyone looking for value for money & a central location the Holiday Inn is the place to go

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Aloha UsKiwis30 and thank you for your kind review of your recent Beachcomber stay! We're delighted to hear about our great hotel and restaurant service and totally agree with you about our central location next to the International Market Place, and our fantastic location and value. Thank you for your support and business. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    529
    712
    196
    43
    22
See reviews for
438
521
73
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is right in the heart of the action, so if you like busy, this place is for you. Very nice rooms, big, clean, with fantastic beds ( we had a twin room, ocean view.) The ocean view was between buildings so that was disappointing but we were only on the 10th floor. It may be unobstructed higher up but not sure.
The pool area is noisy with music constantly being played so if you want to relax it won't be here. There is a restaurant Jimmy Buffets attached to the pool area so it can be very busy with people drinking at the bar. The meals from there were HUGE and you needed to share them all. Location is handy to everything but it can be noisy with bands playing, street noise etc so get a high floor. Small pool for the size of the hotel.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid street and pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Aloha frannie0707 and thank you for review of your recent Beachcomber stay! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our very nice, big, clean rooms. And yes, we're in a central Waikiki location and therefore, as you say, very busy with lots of guests and activities in and around the hotel. We appreciate your business and all the support from our visitors from Down Under. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Why go all the way to Waikiki and stay here? The rooms are ok sized and clean, but really need a better renovation. This is a mediocre example of the new branded Holiday Inn. Not on the beach and not really even much of a view. I was upgraded to a partial ocean view. Don't waste your money on that. It s convenient for shopping. If you want a bargain room it is ok for that.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha Floridagator and thank you for your comments about our Beachcomber! We're pleased that in general, you enjoyed your stay. And thank you for your general feedback - we always appreciate hearing from our many guests. We hope you return to visit Hawaii again in the not-too-distant future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Clean hotel, large rooms. Right across from the beach. Pool is a plus, if you want to get away from the beach crowd.

You need your key for everything, a little annoying but It shows the safety of the hotel.

I would definitely stay again !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha Jennifuh and thank you for your review of your recent Beachcomber stay! Yes, our location is superb and our hotel clean and we appreciate your testimonial that you would stay again - the ultimate compliment. Mahalo for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was a vacation to celebrate my anniversary with my wife. Room was just an average room with two double beds. Though the room was clean it was rather small with a small icebox. Room was noisy. Room next to mine was loud. We were on the 15th floor but above the air-conditioning units. The street was active and noise traveled all the way to our room. Staff was pretty good but it was still disappointing.

Room Tip: Stay away from the AC units high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha Bill_Lam and thank you for your review of your recent Beachcomber stay! I'm sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your hotel experience. I'm glad you found our rooms to be clean and our staff good, but do apologize for the noise due to our central Waikiki street front location. We do hope that you enjoyed your Oahu experience and hope you return for future anniversaries. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

my boyfriend and I stayed here during our last night in Hawaii. Coming from other islands, downtown Waikiki is big, bright, and very commercialized. Lots of commerce nearby for any of your tsotchke needs. Everyone was very hospitable. The room was nice. We were upgraded to a "partial ocean view" which meant that the beach could be seen through two buildings... if you looked to the right off the balcony. It was fine, but didn't feel like an "upgrade". They were very generous with our checkout time and letting us keep the rental car in the garage without charging extra because we had a late flight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha driby and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We certainly appreciate your kind words about our hospitable staff and nice rooms, and hope that next time, you're able to spend more time with us here in Waikiki and get to know the island of Oahu. Mahalo for your support! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Good location BUT because of this very noisy. My wife booked the hotel and warned by other Tripadvisor comments she emailed and asked for a quiet room on a higher floor. We got a room on the 11th floor, apparently an upgrade with sea views BUT right above the air-conditioning units from the Macey's shop beneath. The fact the the windows are not double glazed and the strange method of fastening them meant that all the sounds from outside could be heard. It was like trying to sleep on a plane with the noise of the engines.

Room Tip: Need to pay extra to get a room above floor 18
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha JohnM and thank you for your comments on your recent Beachcomber stay. I'm sorry that you were not able to fully enjoy your visit. Yes, we do have a central, convenient location and unfortunately, the sounds of the neighboring buildings and streets can be uncomfortable at times. We do hope you return to Waikiki in the future and thank you for your support of our destination. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, Honolulu Surfing Museum and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.