We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service during and after” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic service during and after”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had a Fantastic 5 night stay at the Beachcomber. When we arrived back in Australia my wife had forgot to take her items out of the safe ..I made a phone call to the Hotel and house keeping had found the items and moved them to the lost and found department. They have arranged for the items to be sent to us .... I would like to say the honesty of the house keeping is second to none... MAHALO to all that work at the Beachcomber..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha MatthewL, thank you for staying with us at the Beachcomber and for your wonderful review! We're delighted to hear that your 5-night stay was fantastic, and appreciate your kind words about our hard-working housekeeping staff. Please come back and stay with us again when your travel plans bring you back to Honolulu in the future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    763
    209
    48
    22
See reviews for
465
563
80
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

With so many hotels to chose from in Hawaii and especially Waikiki, it was nice to know the choice of the Holiday Inn Beachcomber Waikiki was a great choice. The staff are fantastic and the rooms are terrific. I had a corner room on the 10th floor with ocean views. The bathrooms could do with a little TLC, however it was functional and the showers were great. The beds are very comfortable and the pillows are terrific. Some people on her complained about the street noise. This is not a hotel fault, it is part of the choice you make when choosing a hotel in the centre of everything. Once the door to the balcony is closed, the noise is very muffled and is not enough to effect sleeping. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Anything you want is within quick walking distance and the staff would always offer advise if needed.

Room Tip: Always ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha QFTravellers and thank you for your kind review of our Beachcomber! Yes, we agree with you about our superb location, and are delighted to hear comments such as great choice, fantastic staff and terrific rooms. We hope you have many fond memories from your recent Hawaii visit and look forward to your return to Waikiki and the Beachcomber in the not-too-distant future. Mahalo for your support! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was our first trip to Hawaii and we were very happy that we had chosen the Holiday Inn for our accomodation,. Great shops, Restaurants and the Beach all a short walk away. Arrived at the Hotel at 8.30am in the morning after an overnight flight, we were aware of the check in policies and knew that it may be 3pm before we could get a room, but, the helpful Front Desk staff had us checked in by 11.30am. Rooms not huge but comfortable and clean and really we didnt spend that much time in there as we were too busy shopping! Housekeeping staff were efficient and friendly, Took us a little while to get used to the noise of the 1000's of AC units when we opened the door to the balcony and at times we had to wait for the elevators not because they were slow just because they were so busy. Pool area whilst small was always clean and there was plenty of towels available. Would definately recommend this hotel and would stay there again on my next visit

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha Tequila2inOz and thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Beachcomber on your first trip to Hawaii! We certainly appreciate your business and your kind review. Thank you for pointing out the helpful front desk, clean and comfortable rooms and efficiently, friendly housekeepers. Our team takes pride in their work and we hope you come back to visit us again in the future! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Beachcomber both before and after our cruise. The location is ideal for the beach, International Market and other shopping venues. The hotel itself is pretty standard for Holiday Inn, but the people are superior. Everyone was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable - bellmen, desk personnel and housekeeping. We asked for a late checkout when leaving for our cruise and they were able to accommodate us. When we returned from our cruise, we asked for late checkout and they were unable to accommodate us due to the hotel being fully booked. We completely understood, but the people at the desk were so apologetic and gave us options for our luggage and suggestions of "walk around" things to do till our shuttle picked us up. We were also there for Spam Jam and received an e-mail alerting us to the traffic changes so we were able to navigate accordingly and did not feel lost or frustrated by the changes. I had read other reviews that complained of noise in the rooms from all the activity outside and we experienced none of that, even with Spam Jam. The only noise issue we had was the birds as soon as the sun came up and Holiday Inn certainly has no control over that.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view room on floor 19 and a partial ocean view on floor 11. Both were comple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Aloha jerryandsusan32, thank you for staying with us at the Beachcomber twice and for your kind review! Yes, we do have a superb location, but we are most delighted to read your comments about our superior staff. We hope you enjoyed your cruise and your time in Hawaii and that you return in the future to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, Hawaii
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was my first stay at this hotel. On this weekend, there was a main street (Kalakaua Ave) closure due to a festival known as the "Spam Jam". Nonetheless, even though traffic was crawling, the hotel called us ahead of our arrival day to make us aware of the potential traffic snarl - so we were prepared for this - made for less stress. Upon arrival, the bell men were attentive and tended to our bags immediately. Parking is valet only with a rate of $30/day for guests. The lobby is not on street level; requires a escalator ride to access the front desk. Front desk staff attended to check in immediately with a warm aloha. Our room was on the 11th floor. Even if we did not have a "ocean view" room, you can still see the ocean partially - so beautiful. Room was clean. Bed pillows are available with soft or firm pillows to choose from. Bed was comfortable. Safe and small refrigerator available too. The only small annoyance was the roaring sound you can hear from other rooms when a guest open/closes the lanai wooden shutter doors. This hotel is very central to multiple activities in Waikiki. The Spam Jam festival was literally in front of this hotel, lots of restaurants and shopping nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Aloha HawaiiAndi, thank you for staying with us at the Beachcomber recently and for your kind review! We're delighted to hear that you found our rooms clean and beautiful, and that our bellmen, valet and front desk were friendly and full of aloha. We hope you were also able to enjoy the annual Spam Jam block party on Kalakaua. Mahalo and come back for a staycation again in the future. /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for seven nights in a 'partial ocean view room'. We found the room to be very clean and spacious, fitting 2 double beds in for the three of us.The beds are very comfortable and I love the choice of firm or soft pillows. The rooms themselves are reasonably modern but the bathroom is very outdated.My 16yr old daughter loved the free wi-fi in the rooms. The pool in the resort is not very big, but we didn't have much time to spend there anyway. The balconies are also quite small, having two chairs and a small table on it. It wasn't very pleasant sitting on the balcony either as the noise from the ajoining building's airconditioners was extemely loud. Not so good as we usually enjoy sitting on a balcony relaxing. Jimmy Buffet's is on the first floor and is a great place to eat and 'happy hour' seems to be all day! I enjoyed my stay here because of the cleanliness, good service and Holiday Inn reliability.

Room Tip: Rooms looking toward the airport have the dreadful airconditioning noise from other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Aloha NolaM and thank you for your review of your recent 7 night stay at the Beachcomber! We're delighted to hear that in general you enjoyed your stay and are pleased to hear that you found our cleanliness, good service and Holiday Inn reliability up to par. We appreciate your feedback on the other issues as we always strive to improve upon our guest experience. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

From the start, our dealings with the hotel staff has been great. Check in was a breeze although we had to wait for over an hour before we can go to our room. Our Hawaiian Airline flight was a bit early so we were there before to actual check in time - but no worries. They allow you to leave your baggages so you can roam around waikiki. Everyday I would stop by the front desk to confirm that my bus routes to various places are correct and they have been super helpful. So, for their staff I would give all 5 stars!

As for the room, it was adequate. We were given 2 queens size bed for 3 people (all friends) with a slihgt view of the ocean. Our room was on the right side of the hotel so we have view of Kalakaua. Noise was not a problem even though the hotel is situated in the middle of everything. Literally in the middle of a busy waikiki.

The location is just spectacular. Close to everything....beach access, food places, bus stops, bars - everything. I would definitely stay here again given the chance... Mahalo!

Room Tip: They offer 15% discount for patrons on their restaurant and bar - not bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Aloha tabsterinc and thank you for your review of our Beachcomber! We're delighted to hear that our staff was great, our location spectacular and that you'd return and stay again! Mahalo for the ultimate compliment, for your business and support! We look forward to your return in the future. /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, Honolulu Surfing Museum and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.