We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mahalo Holiday Inn for being part of our fun trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Mahalo Holiday Inn for being part of our fun trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

From the start, our dealings with the hotel staff has been great. Check in was a breeze although we had to wait for over an hour before we can go to our room. Our Hawaiian Airline flight was a bit early so we were there before to actual check in time - but no worries. They allow you to leave your baggages so you can roam around waikiki. Everyday I would stop by the front desk to confirm that my bus routes to various places are correct and they have been super helpful. So, for their staff I would give all 5 stars!

As for the room, it was adequate. We were given 2 queens size bed for 3 people (all friends) with a slihgt view of the ocean. Our room was on the right side of the hotel so we have view of Kalakaua. Noise was not a problem even though the hotel is situated in the middle of everything. Literally in the middle of a busy waikiki.

The location is just spectacular. Close to everything....beach access, food places, bus stops, bars - everything. I would definitely stay here again given the chance... Mahalo!

Room Tip: They offer 15% discount for patrons on their restaurant and bar - not bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Aloha tabsterinc and thank you for your review of our Beachcomber! We're delighted to hear that our staff was great, our location spectacular and that you'd return and stay again! Mahalo for the ultimate compliment, for your business and support! We look forward to your return in the future. /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    507
    695
    187
    41
    21
See reviews for
412
507
72
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manly, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is my 6th visit to waikiki from sydney. I love the place. I booked this hotel as a two night layover from doing a huge mainland trip and before going on a cruise back to sydney. This hotel is in a fantastic location, I cannot stress how great this location is. Three weeks beforehand I stayed across the road in the outrigger waikiki on the beach which was twice the price and whilst it was a very nice hotel the beachcomber had all the same stuff and actually better views at half the cost. Yes you will pay for the resort fees but that is because the hotel has a pool and gives you towels to use at the pool and at the beach. The $25 a day is well worth not having to dry or pack towels. We we upgraded to the oceanfront room-wow I would definitely book this again. Jimmy buffets is also there but I didn't like the look of the breakfast, it had an Asian style to it and is not my thing so we brought fruit from the abc stores and put it in the fridge instead. The hotel is close to everything; the bech is across the road, Macy's is downstairs, the Cheesecake Factory is across the road and the international market place is next door. What more do you want to know??? The rooms were clean, it had a coffe machine but the coffee was not nice. It had plenty of storage. If you are travelling with more than two people book this place, you will love it. Actually we are all going back there agin in October.

Room Tip: Excellent location, good views, great rice,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Aloha DonnaB741, thank you for your kind review and most of all for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort 6 times! We certainly agree with you about our location and facilities, but wanted you to know that we do Not assess resort fees - we never have and hopefully, never will... Should you have any quesitons on resort fees, please reach out to our staff via our website email address. Mahalo for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back later this year. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel was in a great location. If you like Holiday Inn hotels, you will love this one. The International Market place was right next to the hotel as well as many more shops. The famous Waikiki beach was across the street with an easy entrance by the Mona Surfrider. I also liked it as it was near the coffee place i like in the Royal Hawaiian shops (Island Vintage Coffee). The room was nice with a partial ocean view. I had a 2 double bed room with a shower stall no tub. The shower and toilet were in a separate room from the sink with a slider door which made it convenient for multiple people to get ready. There is Jimmy Buffet's restaurant attached or next to the hotel which is good to get a few drinks. It is also a few blocks from Lewers St. which has many bars and restaurants for tourists. We ate breakfast at Moose Mcgillycuddy's which was good but make sure you get a coupon book to get the buy one entree get one free. It seemed like a good bar to go to at night for sports or to hang out.

The staff was very accommodating in changing my room type as I came with my buddy and initially booked a king bed since it was all that was available at the time. Also they provide some free bathroom items if you forget them such as toothbrush, toothpaste, razors, shave cream.

I would recommend and go again. I think the cost is good for the location you get and the Holiday Inn costumer service.

If yuou want something cheaper with good location you could also try the Park Shore which is next to the Zoo and across the street from the beach. Lulu's restaurant is rioght there which has good nachos (make sure you get the Kahlua pork with it!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha madEQMs and thank you for your recent review of our Beachcomber! For someone that only stayed one night, you sure know the area! You'll need to return and stay with us again, next time for at least a few days. Yes, we're in a great location and as far as Holiday Inns are concerned, I think we are among the best. And thank you for your kind words about our nice rooms and accommodating staff! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

After a week in Maui, we stayed at this Holiday Inn for 5 nights. I'm a Priority Club Platinum member, and got two rooms. One with points, paid for the other.

I'll start with the location. As far as Waikiki beach goes, it's in a great spot. You're right in the middle of the huge mall, which is Waikiki. The beach is about a hundred steps away, as there's a surfboard lined walkway between buildings across the street. Only issue, is the beach is always packed. Waikiki is very pretty, and I'd urge you to explore some of the nearby hotels like the Sheraton, Hilton, etc. which are also resort/spas (and are FAR more expensive). They all have great restaurants, amenities, and paid services which you can use, even if you're not a guest.

The hotel itself is clean, and nice. It smelled fresh as well. Our room was nice, clean, and perfectly suitable, even though we stayed in a far bigger room at the Kaanapali Beach Club the week before. The furniture is tasteful, and the bed is comfortable. The balcony we had faced to the Southeast, and we had great views of the mountains to the left, and the beach to the right. We couldn't see Diamondhead because another large building was directly in our line of sight. Wasn't an issue though. The bathroom is a bit small, but it helps that the sink is detached so the misses can take her time getting ready. The concierge was helpful, as were the front desk staff. Being from the East Coast, we had a late flight going home, so they let us check out at 4pm from one of our rooms so that we could spend a little more of the day in the sun until we had to pack up and go.

One complaint I had, which wasn't the hotel's fault necessarily, was that the streets were extremely noisy at night, and even with the doors and curtains closed, we still heard hooting and hollering on the street below. We were on the 16th floor. Voices just seemed to echo. Also, a lot of sirens. I'm talking 4 in the morning.

I noticed a lot of riff-raffs on the streets after sunset, and you really don't want to venture too far away from the beach, as the streets get a bit shady. Lots of people loitering on the corners and such. Only stating this because if you have kids, you might want to keep a leash on them sometime around sunset. Maui was much different.

We rented a car from Avis at the Sheraton for two days, explored Hanauma Bay and the North Shore. Everything is pretty close by, and easy to get to. Definitely worth it to get out of Waikiki and see what Oahu has to offer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha JeffH, thank you for being a loyal IHG Priority Club Rewards member and for your thorough review of your recent Beachcomber stay! Yes, we do have a most central, convenient location in the heart of the bustling Waikiki resort area. And we certainly appreciate your comments about our nice, clean hotel and warm staff. Thank you for visiting with us all the way from the east coast and we hope we see you back in the Islands in the not-too-distant future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Fantastic location just one block from Waikiki Beach - basically down the lift, cross the street and you're on the beach! Lots of shops and restaurants within 2 min walk.

Hotel wise it was nothing special, clean and tidy like you'd expect in a Holiday Inn. One thing which was fantastic about this hotel is WiFi, it's free and it actually works very well.

The room was a bit smaller than I'd expected, and unfortunately we had a low level room next to the air conditioning. With balcony doors closed it was quiet but you can't leave the door open, never mind sit on the balcony! There were also cigarette butts on the balcony too which was a bit gross.

The hotel feels a bit 1990's, in need of a refurbishment, especially the tired looking public areas.

Room Tip: Anything higher floor to get away from the air conditioning ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Aloha Kitkat271 and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We're happy to hear that in general you enjoyed our clean and tidy hotel. The cigarette remains on your lanai are inexcusable and I hope you were able to bring this to our staff's attention and have it addressed. And thank you for your feedback on our "look". We did have the public areas upgraded in 2009, but as heavy traffic takes it toll, we'll address a refresh in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our first family trip to Hawaii and what a great place to stary. Right in the middle of the action and shopping. If you want a quite secluded location this is not for you and it is not tope end 5 star but this is very good 4 star hotel within walking distance to evreything. The rooms are spacious beds very comfortable and a great bar area over looking the pool. James at the expedia desk is the standout for helping us organise trips and things both before we arrived via Email and once we were there. He personifies customer service and the staff at the front desk could take some lessons from him.

Room Tip: High floors for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Aloha OliDaze and thank you for your kind review of the Beachcomber! We're delighted that you chose to stay with us on your 1st trip to Hawaii and hope you return in the near future. Yes, we're in the middle of the action here in the Waikiki resort area. Thank you also for mentioning James at the Expedia desk. And if you can provide more information about your front desk experience, I'd be interested in hearing from you. Our team works hard and appreciates your business and support. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saitama, Japan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here (Ohana Waikiki) on our honeymoon in 2008 and just loved every single minute of it. The reception area was under construction, so we got a good deal from the travel agent for the time we wanted to stay here. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the beach and opposite my favorite restaurant, the Cheesecake Factory. We had a balcony, where we could enjoy the sunset while drinking champagne that we got as a complimentary gift for honeymooners.Our room was spacious, clean and non-smoking, which was one of my criteria.
If I come back to Hawaii, I will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Aloha eurOpeankiwi and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We're delighted to hear that you stayed with us back in 2008 and returned for another pleasant stay four years later! Thank you for your kind words and it pleases me to hear that you'd return again - we look forward to it! And by the way, Congratulations on your upcoming 5th wedding anniversary! Mahalo for your support! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, Honolulu Surfing Museum and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.