We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ditto to all the 4 stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ditto to all the 4 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Good location, decent rooms, staff helpful. 14th floor still too low to leave patio door open and hope to get sleep. Not impressed with $14 buffet breakfast at attached Jimmy Buffet restaurant. Was slightly better than typical Holiday Inn Express free one. Front desk got us booked last minute to snorkel when we had given up hope.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Aloha Mneilcihsos, thank you for your review and for visiting with us all the way from Iowa! We certainly appreciate your kind words about our hotel, location and helpful staff. We'll also be sure to share your comments about the restaurant and the front desk with all concerned. We appreciate your business and hope you return to the Islands in the not-too-distant future! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    746
    205
    47
    22
See reviews for
454
545
77
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Room OK - bed comfortable - very noisy at night but it's waikiki, right? It was our honeymoon, so we got an ocean view room + a bottle of bubbles, which was very appreciated! Great location - close from everything! Nothing fancy, but we did not stay in the room anyway! Clean and good value! No complaints!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Aloha KplusM, Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We appreciate your kind words about our great location, clean hotel and good value and hope you return for one of your anniversaries! Mahalo for visiting Hawaii all the way from Montreal - we appreciate your support! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville,WA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

It's been almost 30 years since we last visited Honolulu, and stayed at this same place! It's still a great place, and the location is perfect: close to the International Marketplace, Waikiki. Our room was located on the 4th floor, and it was quiet, nice size, and very clean. The furnishings were comfortable. Staff at the desk were very helpful. Only problem we had was not realizing we needed to use our "key" to reach our floor via the elevator. Only after advising the staff the elevator wasn't working properly did they tell us we needed to insert our key in a rather unoticable slot. We've traveled to many International destinations, but rarely had this situation, although we do appreciate the safety in having this. Still, it would have saved us and the staff time had we been told up front about using our key in the elevator.Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Aloha luvgr8trvl and thank you for returning to Hawaii and the Beachcomber after 30 years! Waikiki has changed, but we're glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and agree with you about our perfect location, clean and comfortable rooms and appreciate your kind words about our very helpful staff. I apologize about not informing you about our elevator key cards, but you're right - it's an added security measure appreciated by most. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel was perfect! Close to the International Market Place & everything else that there is to see and do in Honolulu. Our third person in our party didn't show up, so they credited us the $30. They were even willing to let us stay a bit later the next morning so when our third person arrived she could have gotten cleaned up. But, thanks to the airline she didn't make it there on time (we were on a cruise for the week leaving that same day). The breakfast at Margaritaville was really good for being a buffet. If I go to Honolulu again, I would stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Aloha caribbean_smiley and thank you for your "Perfect" review of the Beachcomber! We're grateful to receive your rating and our team is most appreciative and will continue to work hard to take care of our many guests. Yes, our location is most central and convenient and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed Jimmy Buffett's / Margaritaville. We look forward to your return in the not-too-distant future! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Visiting over Christmas period, hotel was extremely busy, however, staff always helpful and courteous. Great central location in Waikiki - close to beach, shops, restaurants. Standard hotel rooms - clean, and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Aloha TraceyH, thank you for spending Christmas with us and for your kind words about the Beachcomber! Yes, Waikiki was quite busy over the holidays and we are especially pleased to hear about our helpful and courteous staff. Our team works hard to take care of our many guests and your compliments are most appreciated. Mahalo and we look forward to your return to the Beachcomber one day. /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This holiday inn was clean comfortable and great location.Valet parking and check in was fast and easy.This property is a little older but well maintained,bathrooms are a bit small but OK.Quick walk to the beach and Lots of shopping right out the door.I would stay here again-no problems.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Aloha DavidH and thank you for your kind words about your recent Beachcomber stay! You describe us well - clean, comfortable rooms, great location and a well-maintained property. We appreciate you visiting us all the way from Mississippi and look forward to your return in the not-too-distant future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

As I am an avid supporter of Priority Club hotels worldwide, I made the decision to stay at the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber during my recent business travel to Hawaii.

I found that this hotel was greatly situated walking distance from Waikiki beach, great restaurants and entertainment. I was surrounded by families on holiday, who really seem to have been enjoying themselves. Inside the hotel, the staff was friendly, even though i was reprimanded for taking my luggage on the escalator. There is one bar next to the pool which is nice, food is ok, but for better food its best to walk down the main street.

My colleagues stayed at other hotels (which has beachfront property), at similar rates as what I was paying. I therefore feel that this hotel is somewhat pricey and that you need to check all options before making a decision.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Aloha ASteyn and thank you for your loyal support of the IHG PCR program and for choosing to stay with us at the Beachcomber on your first visit to Honolulu! We're delighted to hear your compliments about our good location and friendly staff, but I do apologize about the strong words about your luggage on the escalator. Our team is trained to encourage safety for all concerned and we'll refresh them on the practice. I do agree with you about shopping for hotel rates in the area, but I'm confident that you'll find our hotel a consistently good value compared to beach front properties in Waikiki. Mahalo and we look forward to the next time you visit us all the way from Sydney. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, Honolulu Surfing Museum and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.