We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Central to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay if you want to be close to everything - beach, shops, markets and restaurants- and not pay too much for accommodation. As mentioned it is on the main street of Waikiki and you can walk to most places. the trolley bus is not far away if you want to go to Ala Moana shopping mall or join tours.

The rooms are big and good. The hotel has Jimmy Buffet's attached to it but you can go out and choose a different restaurant each night. Macy's is located downstairs, the International markets is nearby and everywhere is ABC store which is a convenience store where you can pick up snacks, breakfast food, souveniers.

Across the road is Cheesecake factory which is a restaurant but also sells cheesecakes. if you want to go there for dinner then go early and put your name down and they give you a buzzer. this place is packed and you can wait up til 1 hour or more for a table, The food is fine but I'm still undecided if it is worth the wait. the thing everyone talks about are the cheesecakes but for some one from Australia I did not think they were anything special and also thought they were cheesecakes like we have here but they are just cake. Anyway you have to try it at least. While you wait check out the Forever 21 shop - great clothes and helps you fill in time.

The tour desk is great at helping you organising trips - Dave was great.
The beach is accessible near the Outrigger hotel across the street and you can bring towels from the pool areas to beach. Sunday afternoon at Duke's had live music and really added to a party atmosphere on the beach. The beach does not have huge waves and is great for swimming. The walk along the beach or footpath is good.

In terms of shopping you have to go Waikele premium shopping outlet and Ala Moana shopping centre. A day at each one is best as the shops are spread out and so takes awhile to see everything. I found the price of clothing, footwear and cosmetics well priced compared to Australia and the perfumes are well below the price at duty free shops in Australia.
The only thing I can't use to use if tipping and the fact that he pricing is not inclusive of taxes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Aloha rykony, thank you for visiting us all the way from Sydney and for your kind review of the Beachcomber! We agree with you and are delighted to hear that you found our hotel's location ideal, our room affordably priced and that you enjoyed Waikiki and Honolulu in general. We look forward to your return in the not-too-distant future. Mahalo for your support! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    825
    225
    49
    22
See reviews for
505
613
89
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Clean room, comfortable bed, pillows identified as firm or soft, spacious room, small lanai facing ewa with a partial ocean view partial mountain view. This was much nicer than other Holiday Inns that I have stayed at before. Didn't like the required valet parking but totally understand because of the lack of parking spaces in the building. Reception is on the second floor (take elevator) and staff was helpful and friendly. It appeared that there was only one housekeeping staff per floor. Although the hotel had said 12 noon check in, it was really closer to 3 pm because only one person was cleaning the rooms on our floor.

Room Tip: The x09 rooms are corner rooms overlooking diamond head and the ocean (kalakaua ave.).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha 4HNLmom and thank you for your kind review of your recent Beachcomber stay! Our team is always delighted to hear about a guest that enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms and we especially like to hear that you found our ohana helpful and friendly. We value your business and hope you return in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bega, NSW, AUS
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Have stayed at lots of Holiday Inns before and this has got to be the best! We had a room with beach views (partial!) and a balcony overlooking the main street, but not too noisy. Great bed and choice of pillows. Slept really well. Air con worked really well. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful. Dave at the tours counter was great and organised us a really good circle tour to see the sea turtles. Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant (on-site) is very good and fast. Laundry was very useful after three weeks travelling. Breakfast is too expensive. Left our bags on the last day, no problem and had use of the hospitality room before heading off for airport, which was nice.

Room Tip: Choose a room higher up for views and to avoid noise from road and nightclub (even though sound-proo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha placidscout, thank you for your kind words and for visiting with us all the way from Australia! WOW - one of the best Holiday Inns! We certainly appreciate your feedback and it's especially rewarding to our ohana, our family, our team here at the hotel. Your compliment of a pleasant, helpful staff really made our day! Thank you for your business and support and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Good location with friendly staff and nicely appointed room. There have a unusual small rectangular bathtub instead of the normal size one. I had a Waikiki beach facing room during the weekend. The view is fantastic, you can see ocean and the mountain. At night the house on the mountain light up and its quite nice. It does gets a little noise at night from all the bars/clubs if you leave the balcony door open.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha vchiu and thank you for visiting with us all the way from Singapore! We thank you for selecting the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber as your hotel here in Honolulu and especially appreciate your kind words about our good location and friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

PROS: Spacious rooms. -- Comfortable beds. -- HDTV. -- Mini fridge. -- Coffee maker. -- Safe. -- Work desk. -- Complimentary high-speed wi-fi. -- On site coin laundry. -- Convenience store. On site entertainment and tour coordinator. Bar and grill. Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville restaurant. -- Great breakfast buffet. -- Great location in the heart of Waikiki and a two minute walk to the shore of Waikiki Beach.

CONS: Valet only parking at $30 per day! If you're staying for ten days like we did, this charge alone will double the rate of your rental car. -- Small swimming pool ... but hey, the beach is across the street, what are you doing in the pool? -- No microwave in the room. -- No room service.

Room Tip: If you made a reservation for an "ocean view" room and want to be able to see iconic Diamo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Aloha deeteedub and thank you for your thorough review of your recent Beachcomber stay! I appreciate your recap of the PROS - you describe them well. I also welcome your feedback (CONS) as we are always interested and appreciate hearing what our customers have to say. Our team works hard to take care of our many guests and we look forward to your return to the Beachcomber in the not-too-distant future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Beachcomber is in a great location and has very nice rooms--big with comfy beds and a refrigerator. I would suggest going somewhere else for breakfast in the mornings though, and be warned that Internet time in the business center costs money if you haven't brought your laptop or tablet to access Wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha 100SF and thank you for your kind review of your recent Beachcomber stay! Yes, we agree with you that our hotel is most conveniently located and we're delighted to hear your compliments about our nice rooms and comfy beds. If you did have specific comments about our breakfast service, please email the hotel and share your comments with me. Thank you for your support and we look forward to your return to Honolulu and the Beachcomber in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I booked a room at the Holiday Inn Beachcomber Waikiki. We were very impressed with the service and the rooms. I would like to mention valets Cliff and Josh. Their valet service was very pleasant and helpful. When I needed my car they were really quick. Also I would like to mention bell man Kyle. He gave me excellent service when I needed bags brought to my rooms and when I was checking out. The rooms were clean and nice. I plan on coming back to the Holiday Inn Beachcomber Waikiki next year for vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha kayah808 and thank you for your kind review of your recent Beachcomber stay! We're delighted to learn that you were impressed with our nice, clean rooms and service, but especially rewarding are your comments complimenting our parking valets Cliff and Josh, and our bellman Kyle! Mahalo for your support of our hotel and we look forward to your return in 2013! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.