We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice rooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice rooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Beachcomber is in a great location and has very nice rooms--big with comfy beds and a refrigerator. I would suggest going somewhere else for breakfast in the mornings though, and be warned that Internet time in the business center costs money if you haven't brought your laptop or tablet to access Wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha 100SF and thank you for your kind review of your recent Beachcomber stay! Yes, we agree with you that our hotel is most conveniently located and we're delighted to hear your compliments about our nice rooms and comfy beds. If you did have specific comments about our breakfast service, please email the hotel and share your comments with me. Thank you for your support and we look forward to your return to Honolulu and the Beachcomber in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    723
    197
    44
    22
See reviews for
441
525
74
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I booked a room at the Holiday Inn Beachcomber Waikiki. We were very impressed with the service and the rooms. I would like to mention valets Cliff and Josh. Their valet service was very pleasant and helpful. When I needed my car they were really quick. Also I would like to mention bell man Kyle. He gave me excellent service when I needed bags brought to my rooms and when I was checking out. The rooms were clean and nice. I plan on coming back to the Holiday Inn Beachcomber Waikiki next year for vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha kayah808 and thank you for your kind review of your recent Beachcomber stay! We're delighted to learn that you were impressed with our nice, clean rooms and service, but especially rewarding are your comments complimenting our parking valets Cliff and Josh, and our bellman Kyle! Mahalo for your support of our hotel and we look forward to your return in 2013! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Both my husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Beachcomber.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff warm and pleasant. We did some island hopping and out of all the hotels we stayed in, we felt most comfortable here.

I must admit, whilst planning for our Hawaii trip, I was overwhelmed by the number of hotels and was told by many to get a hotel by the beach. I stumbled across the Holiday Inn Beachcomber website and decided to give it a go. Location was excellent. A 2 minute walk from the beach, smack bang in the middle of a myriad of shops and restaurants (across the road from Dukes and the Cheesecake Factory!). Public transport is conveniently accessible with trolley stops near by.

Again, feeling overwhelmed I didn't to book many of the activities from home (Australia) and so we decided to wing it. The hotel provided a complimentary activities desk service - not too sure if all the other hotels provide this but assume so. We had fantastic help by a fellow called James. He knew everything about everything!. He was fantastic and recommended us amazing experiences which made our stay in Waikiki great. I highly recommend anyone staying at the hotel to ask for him at the Expedia desk - he can definitely help you out with anything. It's a free service provided by the hotel so there isn't any pressure.

Overall, if you're not up for one of the 5 star hotels and want a comfortable (newly renovated), clean and convenient place to stay, Holiday Inn Beachcomber is the place. I know I'll be back there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Aloha wanthav, thank you for visiting with us all the way from Sydney and for your thorough review! We certainly agree with your clean, comfortable and convenient remarks about our hotel. And we're especially delighted by your kind words about our warm, pleasant staff and for mentioning James at the Expedia desk. Mahalo and we look forward to your return to the Beachcomber in the near future. /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family of (4) enjoyed our Christmas week stay at the Holiday. This is our second stay at this hotel and we enjoy being near the shopping centers and restaurants in the area. Plus it is a short walk to the beach. The hotel staff was great and the rooms were good. I highly recommend that you rent a car. This allows you to drive to beautiful beaches and other locations on the island. For us this location is the best of both worlds. Enterprise rental car is just down the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Aloha RonS and thank you for your review of your recent Beachcomber stay! We're delighted that you returned to the Beachcomber and spent Christmas week here with us. Thank you for complimenting our good hotel location and guest rooms and your kind words about our great staff is most appreciated by our ohana! Mahalo and we hope to see you again in the near future! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were unable to book a room at the Sheraton which is across the street from the Beachcomber, so we reluctantly booked a couple of days at the Beachcomber. From first impressions, we only noticed the activity in the pool area. But when we opened our hotel door, we were quite surprised! The room was very, very nice and clean and looked liked it was recently renovated. We were located facing the pool and the Cheesecake Factory. Very impressive and close to everything Waikiki offers. One of the most beautiful beaches is located across the street at the Outrigger and Sheraton. We ate at the International Market which was literally a few yards behind the hotel. Fantastic value for your money in an area where all the action is!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Aloha KelleySM and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! It's especially rewarding to hear from kamaaina - we're delighted to hear that you found our rooms very, very nice and clean, and our location and value superb. Thank you for your support and we look forward to seeing you at the Beachcomber again in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltillo, Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Check in staff very polite and helpful, i had read other reviews and was nervous about staying here. Our room was on the 4th floor at the front and apart from News Eve we were not bothered by the street noise. The room was small but adequate. Breakfast is a disaster, eat anywhere else and it will be better. Coffee is like dishwater. My platinum priority club acknowledged but nothing else, no upgrade. Would i stay here again, not if i could find another hotel.

Room Tip: Have no tips as it seems to be potluck
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Aloha bolmanlp, thank you for your comments and for being a loyal Priority Club Rewards client. We're delighted to hear that you found our staff polite and helpful, but am disappointed to hear about your breakfast experience. We will review your comments with restaurant management immediately and am confident this will improve in the near future. When you return to Honolulu next time, drop me an email as I know we'll take good care of you. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I recently stayed at the holiday inn Waikiki and I loved it!! It was in a great location in amongst all the shops and right next to the beach. The staff were friendly and helpful the rooms were kept clean and the view from our balcony was ok. But do be warned when my boyfriend booked this holiday he thought the parking was $30 for the stay but it is not its $30 a night!! Which is silly money when your staying there for three weeks!!! Also check when celebrations take place down the main road because when we arrived there was some kind of festival taking place and we could not reach the hotel car park for a couple of hours. Overall a great hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Aloha LouiseF, thank you for your kind words and for visiting us all the way from the UK! Our team works hard to take good care of our many customers and we enjoy hearing about our great location, clean rooms and friendly staff. My apologies about not being able to access our parking - you were probably here during Aloha Festivals Week when Waikiki hosted a parade or block party. And yes, parking is not inexpensive here in Waikiki, but we try to keep it as reasonable as possible and price it below our competition. Hope your future travel plans include Hawaii again! Best Wishes for a Happy New Year! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, Honolulu Surfing Museum and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.