We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a Free Night!
Ranked #21 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I recently stayed at the holiday inn Waikiki and I loved it!! It was in a great location in amongst all the shops and right next to the beach. The staff were friendly and helpful the rooms were kept clean and the view from our balcony was ok. But do be warned when my boyfriend booked this holiday he thought the parking was $30 for the stay but it is not its $30 a night!! Which is silly money when your staying there for three weeks!!! Also check when celebrations take place down the main road because when we arrived there was some kind of festival taking place and we could not reach the hotel car park for a couple of hours. Overall a great hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Aloha LouiseF, thank you for your kind words and for visiting us all the way from the UK! Our team works hard to take good care of our many customers and we enjoy hearing about our great location, clean rooms and friendly staff. My apologies about not being able to access our parking - you were probably here during Aloha Festivals Week when Waikiki hosted a parade or block party. And yes, parking is not inexpensive here in Waikiki, but we try to keep it as reasonable as possible and price it below our competition. Hope your future travel plans include Hawaii again! Best Wishes for a Happy New Year! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    457
    660
    174
    40
    21
See reviews for
384
472
67
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This holiday inn is pretty standard as any other I've been too. This one was clean and comfortable. My husband is a priority club member and we were upgraded to a suite. There was a box of macadamian nuts in the room as a gift. There was also a fridge which was nice because we had our one year old with us and needed a place for milk and such. The location on the hotel is awesome. You walk out and there is Waikiki, and a few blacks down access to the beach. You are near resturants and shops just such a convienent location for anything! There is a pool and its located on a roof top deck where you can swim and have drinks over looking Waikiki shops. You can see everyone out and about from the tables. The jimmy buffet resturant is good but pricey. We only stayed here 2 nights but for the location and price for us we would return again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Aloha Cinjssc, thank you for your review of our Beachcomber and for being a loyal IHG Priority Club Rewards member! Your kind words about our awesome location, clean and comfortable rooms are much appreciated. Hopefully, you return in the near future for more than a couple of nights. Mahalo and Happy New Year! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Nice hotel in the middle of Waikiki. It has everything you need....clean rooms, dining options and the like. Problem for me was that it is too centrally located. If you are looking for a nice, quiet place to relax....this might not be the best choice, so look around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Aloha chuckw47 and thank you for your comments about our Beachcomber hotel! Yes, you're right about our central location, but we hope that the benefits of being in a convenient location outweighed the Waikiki activity level. Our team works hard to take care of our many guests and we truly appreciate your business and support. Mahalo and Happy New Year! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

If you are looking for a centrally located hotel, this is it!!! There is a Macy's onsite. Waikiki Shopping Plaza (with the 2 level Victoria Secret!!!), Ross Dress for Less, ABC store, International Market Place and restaurants including Cheesecake Factory is closeby!! What more could you want?? We had a king room with balcony. We really liked the room decor and the comfy bed was a bonus after a long haul flight!! We will stay here again!! We recommend this hotel to anyone looking at being close to everything. The beach is minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Aloha js4rq, thank you for your kind words and for visiting us all the way from Brisbane! We certainly agree with you that the Beachcomber has a most central Waikiki location and your description of the area will serve future visitors well. We're also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our room decor and comfortable beds. Mahalo for your recommendation and hope you and yours have a happy 2013! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband stayed here for 7 nights from Thanksgiving day. We found the staff on the front desk very helpful. Our allocated was room was close to the lifts and my husband was concerned about noise, so we nicley asked if there were any other options and we were give 2 or 3 (I can't remember) other rooms to look at. We happily chose a room on 20th floor overlooking the International Marketplace. This was quieter than our previous stay on teh other side, and had a lovely view across the Moana to the beach. The room was spacious and clean. Housekeeping looked after us nicely.
We were disappointed that our room key no longer gained access to the Pink trolley for free, but other than that had no complaints.
We used the gym , which was adequate for a decent workout and the pool was good for a swim and we enjoyed the hot tub on a couple of occasions in the evening. Unfortunately it wasn't open one morning at 8am, whcih would have been nice for a swim before breakfast.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Aloha JohnandLisa, thank you for your review and for choosing the Beachcomber as your home here in Honolulu two years in a row! We truly appreciate your business and our team is most grateful for your kind words about our helpful front desk and housekeeping. We wish you a happy 2013 and look forward to your return to Hawaii in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

This was a very good stay. A few things:

Reception was very friendly. The location is in the middle of everything. For quieter street noise, ask for a higher room floor.

The AC may be a bit week. Maintenance can adjust it lower if you need it.

The pool is decent and you also have a hot tub.

Honestly it was a pleasant stay in Waikiki. If you want quiet, go to Maui.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Aloha Cgyguy30 and thank you for your review of our Beachcomber! We appreciate your kind words about our friendly staff and agree with you totally about our prime central location here in Waikiki. We also appreciate you visiting with us all the way from Alberta and hope you plan to return soon for another vacation in Hawaii. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I just spent the night here on a work trip and it was great. The lobby area is reached by an escalator so that actually cuts down on the random foot traffic through the hotel. People who aren't staying here don't have any reason to go upstairs. The service was impeccable - everyone was very friendly and prompt - plenty of "aloha" for such a large property. As to the previous poster who commented on the location - what do you expect when you book a book a hotel on Kalakaua, in the middle of Waikiki? Tranquility???
As to cost/fees - all of this disclosed on the website when you book. I had a great room on the 21st floor with fantastic views of the beach. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Aloha LBOskiBear, Happy Holidays and thank you for your business, support and great observations about our Beachcomber! We feel we have a wonderful hotel, too, and especially appreciate and find your kind words about our team most rewarding - friendly with lots of Aloha. It looks like your recent stay was a short one - hopefully, next time you'll have more time for some well-deserved R&R. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, Honolulu Surfing Museum and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.