We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the middle of everything....if that's what you are looking for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Right in the middle of everything....if that's what you are looking for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Nice hotel in the middle of Waikiki. It has everything you need....clean rooms, dining options and the like. Problem for me was that it is too centrally located. If you are looking for a nice, quiet place to relax....this might not be the best choice, so look around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Aloha chuckw47 and thank you for your comments about our Beachcomber hotel! Yes, you're right about our central location, but we hope that the benefits of being in a convenient location outweighed the Waikiki activity level. Our team works hard to take care of our many guests and we truly appreciate your business and support. Mahalo and Happy New Year! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    506
    695
    187
    41
    21
See reviews for
411
507
72
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

If you are looking for a centrally located hotel, this is it!!! There is a Macy's onsite. Waikiki Shopping Plaza (with the 2 level Victoria Secret!!!), Ross Dress for Less, ABC store, International Market Place and restaurants including Cheesecake Factory is closeby!! What more could you want?? We had a king room with balcony. We really liked the room decor and the comfy bed was a bonus after a long haul flight!! We will stay here again!! We recommend this hotel to anyone looking at being close to everything. The beach is minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Aloha js4rq, thank you for your kind words and for visiting us all the way from Brisbane! We certainly agree with you that the Beachcomber has a most central Waikiki location and your description of the area will serve future visitors well. We're also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our room decor and comfortable beds. Mahalo for your recommendation and hope you and yours have a happy 2013! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband stayed here for 7 nights from Thanksgiving day. We found the staff on the front desk very helpful. Our allocated was room was close to the lifts and my husband was concerned about noise, so we nicley asked if there were any other options and we were give 2 or 3 (I can't remember) other rooms to look at. We happily chose a room on 20th floor overlooking the International Marketplace. This was quieter than our previous stay on teh other side, and had a lovely view across the Moana to the beach. The room was spacious and clean. Housekeeping looked after us nicely.
We were disappointed that our room key no longer gained access to the Pink trolley for free, but other than that had no complaints.
We used the gym , which was adequate for a decent workout and the pool was good for a swim and we enjoyed the hot tub on a couple of occasions in the evening. Unfortunately it wasn't open one morning at 8am, whcih would have been nice for a swim before breakfast.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Aloha JohnandLisa, thank you for your review and for choosing the Beachcomber as your home here in Honolulu two years in a row! We truly appreciate your business and our team is most grateful for your kind words about our helpful front desk and housekeeping. We wish you a happy 2013 and look forward to your return to Hawaii in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

This was a very good stay. A few things:

Reception was very friendly. The location is in the middle of everything. For quieter street noise, ask for a higher room floor.

The AC may be a bit week. Maintenance can adjust it lower if you need it.

The pool is decent and you also have a hot tub.

Honestly it was a pleasant stay in Waikiki. If you want quiet, go to Maui.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Aloha Cgyguy30 and thank you for your review of our Beachcomber! We appreciate your kind words about our friendly staff and agree with you totally about our prime central location here in Waikiki. We also appreciate you visiting with us all the way from Alberta and hope you plan to return soon for another vacation in Hawaii. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I just spent the night here on a work trip and it was great. The lobby area is reached by an escalator so that actually cuts down on the random foot traffic through the hotel. People who aren't staying here don't have any reason to go upstairs. The service was impeccable - everyone was very friendly and prompt - plenty of "aloha" for such a large property. As to the previous poster who commented on the location - what do you expect when you book a book a hotel on Kalakaua, in the middle of Waikiki? Tranquility???
As to cost/fees - all of this disclosed on the website when you book. I had a great room on the 21st floor with fantastic views of the beach. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Aloha LBOskiBear, Happy Holidays and thank you for your business, support and great observations about our Beachcomber! We feel we have a wonderful hotel, too, and especially appreciate and find your kind words about our team most rewarding - friendly with lots of Aloha. It looks like your recent stay was a short one - hopefully, next time you'll have more time for some well-deserved R&R. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was the last stop on our Hawaii trip and it was also the worst one. Hotel is located on a very noisy main road at the Waikiki beach which might be a plus for some as you just step outside and there you are in the middle of Waikiki action. BUT when you arrive first you will be greeted by $30/day parking, which is just plain robbery. Reception staff was very "cold", nothing special. Here is your room on the X floor, take the elevator on the right.

Arriving at the room on the 4th floor we were shocked. Our view from the room was into the neighboring building wall. I mean JUST THE WALL was everything we could see. I immediately called the reception, that this is awful and they offered me to pay and upgrade to "Ocean view". I do not need the ocean view, I just don't want to look at the wall on the distance of 5m. Terrible.

Bathroom is very small with a shower (no tub) and our toilet was leaking badly (clean water from pipe).

Cleaning was OK, but they do not notice things as leaking toilet...come on....

Pool is a joke and there is of course no "resort" of any kind, don't expect it. Waikiki beach is also not recommended as it is like going to supermarket for "resting", go drive to some other beach and enjoy it.

This hotel is certainly for people that are after shopping and do not travel with their own car. If you are a family with kids go some place else, there a really nice hotels in the neighborhood and I would pay more money for certain to avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid low level rooms at ALL COST. There are many rooms looking into walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Aloha ALiEN2108 and thank you for your comments on the Beachcomber. I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and were disappointed in our hotel. We value all of our customers and their feedback and thank you for taking the time. We hope that you did enjoy Hawaii overall, and thank you for choosing us for your vacation destination. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed at Beachcomber for 5 nights in 2 rooms. We are a couple with 3 adult children. We requested 2 doubles with Ocean view. We were on 18th floor and both rooms had fantastic views. The rooms were spacious and bathrooms good. We slept with our sliding door open most nights for fresh air. We didn't really notice the noise. The location was fantastic. We could go shopping or out for the day and come back and have a choice of restaurants or shop till 11pm! The breakfast was adequate with fruit, cooked or waffles. Entertainment as well! James at the tour desk was great. The price we paid was also fantastic. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Request high floor with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Aloha jillypink and thank you for your kind words about our Beachcomber hotel! We're delighted to hear that your family enjoyed their recent Waikiki stay and agree with you about our fantastic central location and spacious rooms. We truly appreciate your business, especially coming all the way from Down Under and look forward to your return in the future. Happy Holidays and Best Wishes for a joyous 2013! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, Honolulu Surfing Museum and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.