We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Holiday Inn experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Consistent Holiday Inn experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

This was a very good stay. A few things:

Reception was very friendly. The location is in the middle of everything. For quieter street noise, ask for a higher room floor.

The AC may be a bit week. Maintenance can adjust it lower if you need it.

The pool is decent and you also have a hot tub.

Honestly it was a pleasant stay in Waikiki. If you want quiet, go to Maui.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Aloha Cgyguy30 and thank you for your review of our Beachcomber! We appreciate your kind words about our friendly staff and agree with you totally about our prime central location here in Waikiki. We also appreciate you visiting with us all the way from Alberta and hope you plan to return soon for another vacation in Hawaii. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    525
    707
    193
    43
    22
See reviews for
433
517
73
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I just spent the night here on a work trip and it was great. The lobby area is reached by an escalator so that actually cuts down on the random foot traffic through the hotel. People who aren't staying here don't have any reason to go upstairs. The service was impeccable - everyone was very friendly and prompt - plenty of "aloha" for such a large property. As to the previous poster who commented on the location - what do you expect when you book a book a hotel on Kalakaua, in the middle of Waikiki? Tranquility???
As to cost/fees - all of this disclosed on the website when you book. I had a great room on the 21st floor with fantastic views of the beach. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Aloha LBOskiBear, Happy Holidays and thank you for your business, support and great observations about our Beachcomber! We feel we have a wonderful hotel, too, and especially appreciate and find your kind words about our team most rewarding - friendly with lots of Aloha. It looks like your recent stay was a short one - hopefully, next time you'll have more time for some well-deserved R&R. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was the last stop on our Hawaii trip and it was also the worst one. Hotel is located on a very noisy main road at the Waikiki beach which might be a plus for some as you just step outside and there you are in the middle of Waikiki action. BUT when you arrive first you will be greeted by $30/day parking, which is just plain robbery. Reception staff was very "cold", nothing special. Here is your room on the X floor, take the elevator on the right.

Arriving at the room on the 4th floor we were shocked. Our view from the room was into the neighboring building wall. I mean JUST THE WALL was everything we could see. I immediately called the reception, that this is awful and they offered me to pay and upgrade to "Ocean view". I do not need the ocean view, I just don't want to look at the wall on the distance of 5m. Terrible.

Bathroom is very small with a shower (no tub) and our toilet was leaking badly (clean water from pipe).

Cleaning was OK, but they do not notice things as leaking toilet...come on....

Pool is a joke and there is of course no "resort" of any kind, don't expect it. Waikiki beach is also not recommended as it is like going to supermarket for "resting", go drive to some other beach and enjoy it.

This hotel is certainly for people that are after shopping and do not travel with their own car. If you are a family with kids go some place else, there a really nice hotels in the neighborhood and I would pay more money for certain to avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid low level rooms at ALL COST. There are many rooms looking into walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Aloha ALiEN2108 and thank you for your comments on the Beachcomber. I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and were disappointed in our hotel. We value all of our customers and their feedback and thank you for taking the time. We hope that you did enjoy Hawaii overall, and thank you for choosing us for your vacation destination. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed at Beachcomber for 5 nights in 2 rooms. We are a couple with 3 adult children. We requested 2 doubles with Ocean view. We were on 18th floor and both rooms had fantastic views. The rooms were spacious and bathrooms good. We slept with our sliding door open most nights for fresh air. We didn't really notice the noise. The location was fantastic. We could go shopping or out for the day and come back and have a choice of restaurants or shop till 11pm! The breakfast was adequate with fruit, cooked or waffles. Entertainment as well! James at the tour desk was great. The price we paid was also fantastic. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Request high floor with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Aloha jillypink and thank you for your kind words about our Beachcomber hotel! We're delighted to hear that your family enjoyed their recent Waikiki stay and agree with you about our fantastic central location and spacious rooms. We truly appreciate your business, especially coming all the way from Down Under and look forward to your return in the future. Happy Holidays and Best Wishes for a joyous 2013! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The location of HI Beachcomber cannot be beat. It's in the heart of Waikiki with direct access to everything. The beach is a short walk, Macy's is in the lower level, the International Market Place is right next door, there are shops in all directions as well as restaurants. Btw, Marukame Udon is right behind on Kuhio, walk straight back on Dukes, and is a must try for an inexpensive and tasty lunch or dinner.

The customer service was excellent. Upon check-in I felt very welcomed and a valued guest. Both my mom and I were constantly greeted by name.

Our room was on the 6th floor. As expected, it can be a bit noisy. Escpecially in the early morning with commercial trucks beeping away, but it wasn't as bothersome as I had expected. The room itself was very spacious. The mini refrigerator and coffee pot were a plus. The beds were very comfortable. Housekeeping was always very helpful, providing extra towels when requested, being respectful of the DND when posted, and keeping the room very clean.

The pool area is small, but kept clean and is a great area to look down on the street and people watch.

The elevators could be a little tricky at times having to use your card prior to hitting the floor number, escpecially since we were on a lower floor. However, that is definitely a plus for security.

This is not a high end resort, but has most of the amentities to help make for a great stay. Overall, this property is great for the value. I would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Aloha scorpqueen and thank you for your review of our Beachcomber! We're delighted you stayed with us and agree with you about our superb location on Kalakaua Avenue, spacious rooms and great value! Most rewarding to me, however, are your comments about our excellent customer service and helpful housekeeping staff. Our team works hard to take care of the many guests from all over the world and your kind words are truly appreciated. Happy Holidays and Best Wishes for a wonderful 2013! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We like the location, its right across Waikiki beach, short walking distance to Kuhio beach, close to food court , shopping etc. Rooms are spacious, clean and quiet (16th floor). Staff is very helpful especially the housekeeper, always asked if we need extra towels for the kids. We definitely would stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Aloha JessieS and thank you for your kind words about our Beachcomber! Our team takes great pride in taking care of our many guests and we certainly appreciate it when we hear compliments such as yours, especially about our hard-working housekeepers! We agree with you that our hotel has a great location, and clean, spacious rooms, and we look forward to your return in the not-too-distant future. Happy Holidays! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

we stayed from the 15th/25th October on the 21st floor we had two rooms one either side of lifts I was a little concerned it may be noisy but heard very little, the view was great the rooms spacious and clean the staff courteous and friendly.The position of the Hotel is amazing everything is within walking distance, it may not be the flashiest Hotel in Hawaii but it met all our needs. Thank You we will be returning very soon.

Room Tip: The lifts are so fast I dont think it matters,the waiting time for the lift was unbelievable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Aloha LindaK and thank you for your kind words about the Beachcomber! We're delighted that you were able to enjoy 10 days with us! Your words sum it up well - rooms were spacious and clean, staff courteous and friendly and location amazing! We certainly appreciate your business, especially visiting Hawaii from Down Under and look forward to your return in the future! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, Honolulu Surfing Museum and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.