We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location - fantastic view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
NSW
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic location - fantastic view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed at Beachcomber for 5 nights in 2 rooms. We are a couple with 3 adult children. We requested 2 doubles with Ocean view. We were on 18th floor and both rooms had fantastic views. The rooms were spacious and bathrooms good. We slept with our sliding door open most nights for fresh air. We didn't really notice the noise. The location was fantastic. We could go shopping or out for the day and come back and have a choice of restaurants or shop till 11pm! The breakfast was adequate with fruit, cooked or waffles. Entertainment as well! James at the tour desk was great. The price we paid was also fantastic. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Request high floor with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Aloha jillypink and thank you for your kind words about our Beachcomber hotel! We're delighted to hear that your family enjoyed their recent Waikiki stay and agree with you about our fantastic central location and spacious rooms. We truly appreciate your business, especially coming all the way from Down Under and look forward to your return in the future. Happy Holidays and Best Wishes for a joyous 2013! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    506
    695
    187
    41
    21
See reviews for
411
507
72
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The location of HI Beachcomber cannot be beat. It's in the heart of Waikiki with direct access to everything. The beach is a short walk, Macy's is in the lower level, the International Market Place is right next door, there are shops in all directions as well as restaurants. Btw, Marukame Udon is right behind on Kuhio, walk straight back on Dukes, and is a must try for an inexpensive and tasty lunch or dinner.

The customer service was excellent. Upon check-in I felt very welcomed and a valued guest. Both my mom and I were constantly greeted by name.

Our room was on the 6th floor. As expected, it can be a bit noisy. Escpecially in the early morning with commercial trucks beeping away, but it wasn't as bothersome as I had expected. The room itself was very spacious. The mini refrigerator and coffee pot were a plus. The beds were very comfortable. Housekeeping was always very helpful, providing extra towels when requested, being respectful of the DND when posted, and keeping the room very clean.

The pool area is small, but kept clean and is a great area to look down on the street and people watch.

The elevators could be a little tricky at times having to use your card prior to hitting the floor number, escpecially since we were on a lower floor. However, that is definitely a plus for security.

This is not a high end resort, but has most of the amentities to help make for a great stay. Overall, this property is great for the value. I would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Aloha scorpqueen and thank you for your review of our Beachcomber! We're delighted you stayed with us and agree with you about our superb location on Kalakaua Avenue, spacious rooms and great value! Most rewarding to me, however, are your comments about our excellent customer service and helpful housekeeping staff. Our team works hard to take care of the many guests from all over the world and your kind words are truly appreciated. Happy Holidays and Best Wishes for a wonderful 2013! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We like the location, its right across Waikiki beach, short walking distance to Kuhio beach, close to food court , shopping etc. Rooms are spacious, clean and quiet (16th floor). Staff is very helpful especially the housekeeper, always asked if we need extra towels for the kids. We definitely would stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Aloha JessieS and thank you for your kind words about our Beachcomber! Our team takes great pride in taking care of our many guests and we certainly appreciate it when we hear compliments such as yours, especially about our hard-working housekeepers! We agree with you that our hotel has a great location, and clean, spacious rooms, and we look forward to your return in the not-too-distant future. Happy Holidays! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

we stayed from the 15th/25th October on the 21st floor we had two rooms one either side of lifts I was a little concerned it may be noisy but heard very little, the view was great the rooms spacious and clean the staff courteous and friendly.The position of the Hotel is amazing everything is within walking distance, it may not be the flashiest Hotel in Hawaii but it met all our needs. Thank You we will be returning very soon.

Room Tip: The lifts are so fast I dont think it matters,the waiting time for the lift was unbelievable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Aloha LindaK and thank you for your kind words about the Beachcomber! We're delighted that you were able to enjoy 10 days with us! Your words sum it up well - rooms were spacious and clean, staff courteous and friendly and location amazing! We certainly appreciate your business, especially visiting Hawaii from Down Under and look forward to your return in the future! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from an 8 night stay at the Holiday Inn.

The hotel is in a fabulous location, close to all the shops, cheesecake factory and a short walk across the road to the beach.

The room was spacious by comparison to rooms other friends had at other accommodations in Waikiki at the same time as us and also much cheaper as there is no daily resort fee on checkout.

The only thing we found that was that the cleaning of the room was not quite what we are used to when traveling. The sink etc was not wiped down and sometimes the bed looked like it was made in a rush or the sheets had just been pulled up. This is not a big deal though and would not stop us from staying here again.

We stayed on the 22nd floor and could still hear the street noise but it didn't stop us from sleeping. The view of diamond head was definitely worth the extra $ we paid for the upgraded room.

Overall this us a great place to stay, friendly staff, terrific location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Aloha Jbo500 and thank you for your kind words about our Beachcomber! We're glad you spent 8 nights and got to thoroughly enjoy Waikiki and the island of Oahu. Yes, we do have a fabulous location and our rooms are spacious enough for most. Your housekeeping comments will be reviewed as we always look for ways to enhance the guest experience. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to your return in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The room was clean, close to Waikiki Beach,and shopping, hotel employees very co-operative courteous. We really enjoyed our four night stay. Honolulu IS a large city so there is some noise during the night even though the windows are sealed (we were on the 21st floor) but we definitely would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the beach and it did have some night time emergency vehicle noise. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Aloha Oilit and thank you for your comments on your recent Beachcomber stay! We're delighted to hear that you found your room to be clean, our hotel to be conveniently located and that our staff to be very courteous. We take great pride in hosting many guests from all over the world and your kind words are truly appreciated. We hope you return to visit Hawaii again in the future! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was my second visit to Waikiki but first at Beachcomber, stayed for 10 nights on 11th floor facing Diamond Head and found room to be comfortable with good view but at night the air conditioners on the rooftop below were just too noisy,so did ask to be moved but there was no way front office were going to meet our request. We were told to come back each morning to see if there was anything else they could offer us but as our day excurtions were booked for the next 4 days with early starts we did not ask again we just put up with it but will not be staying there again. Did not like the way Jimmy Buffett bar drinkers sit and look out at you in the pool either.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of building may have less noise from A/C units on rooftop
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Aloha JaniceD and thank you for your review of your recent Beachcomber stay! I'm glad to hear that you found your room comfortable and provided a good view, but of course wish we could have done more in response to relocating you away from the noise. I realize you have many choices in Waikiki, but when you do return next time, if you decide to give us another opportunity, please reach out to me and we'll do everything possible to ensure a most enjoyable stay. Mahalo for your business and support of Hawaii! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, Honolulu Surfing Museum and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.