We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Clean and Tidy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Clean and Tidy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights in September 2012 and thought it was a great location and good value with good service. The room was soacious enough for Australian standards, it was nothing fancy but clean and tidy with standard decor. Location right in the heart of Waikiki across the road from the beach. We had a balcony but unfortunately it faced a building so we couldn't see anything other than concrete and glass and could hear the A/C vent of a night from outside. Having stayed at the Sheraton previoulsy this hotel is just as good - rooms are much the same just without the sheraton price tag or the slippers and robes ;-) The rooms are a little dark but other than that great place to stay would recommend. It's like a 3 1/2 star by aussie standards. Also the tour/travel info desk people were fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for thje side facing the beach or north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Aloha TeamJAG and thank you for your kind words about our Beachcomber! You describe us well - great location, good value and service, clean and tidy rooms, etc. We're glad you were our guests for 7 nights and had an opportunity to enjoy not only Waikiki, but hopefully Honolulu and Oahu as well. Thank you for visiting with us all the way from Australia! We certainly appreciate your business and hope you return soon. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    827
    225
    49
    22
See reviews for
505
614
90
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn on Waikiki for one night where we had a stop over from the East Coast on our way back to New Zealand.
We had been in Hawaii 3 weeks earlier so we knew where the holiday was situated and it was a perfect location for wanting to be in the heart of the atmosphere and shopping on Waikiki.

The hotel is just also just across the road from Waikiki beach and you have a huge choice of restaurants to choose from on your doorstep.

The hotel staff were excellent, and helpful in all circumstances. On the day we checked out we had an 11pm flight home, and were hoping for a late check out that day. However the hotel was fully booked and although they couldnt give us a late check out due to being fully booked, they offered us a hospitality room which meant we were able to go back to the hotel after checking out and use a hotel room for 30mins, to use the shower and freshen up.

We also left our bags with the hotel for the day - and this was the most amazing service as it meant we could go out for the day, go to the beach etc and come back and use the shower and change before our 10hr overnight flight. This was such a fantastic service and the hotel staff were so helpful - we were very appreciative of this extraordinary service as have never experienced this anywhere else!

The room was reasonably modern, very clean, spacious and had a great bed. Reasonable prices and I would certainly recommend to anyone going - especially for the excellent service.

Room Tip: We got upgraded to a room with a view which was excellent, however there wasn't much of view as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Aloha KT113 and thank you for your kind review! You indicate you were only here in our hotel for one night, so we hope you return and next time, for a more leisurely holiday. Your comments are spot-on as you describe our good, central location, our helpful staff and our clean, reasonably priced accommodations. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber in the near future! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

This is a very convenient hotel with clean rooms and in good condition. Avery good value with access to the beach only a short walk. Plenty of nice restaurants and very nice shops close by. In the middle of the action. While this a not luxury it is a nice surpirse. We spent 10 nights and would certainly return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Aloha DaveH and thank you for your review of your recent Beachcomber stay! Wow - you spent 10 nights with us! We really appreciate your business and are delighted with your comments about our convenient, close to the beach, restaurants and shops location description. And thank you for mentioning our clean rooms in good condition and our great staff! Our team works hard to take care of our many guests from all over the world and your kind words make their day! Mahalo and hope you return soon! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed for 5 x nights in August. Awesome location in the heart of Waikiki. One block back from the beach. The room was a good size with the vanity separate from the shower and toilet area. Bed very comfortable with a pillow selection. Room was a little dated in decor but tidy and clean.
We were on in the 2 nd floor. Our balcony overlooked a walkway down to some restrooms so we did not use it at all as in the evening people were standing around and coming and going. Disappointing , however we booked the cheapest room type so was prepared for this. Jimmys buffet was OK for breakfast,if you didnt want to walk to far but found cheaper and nicer down the street. We had a late flight so managed to get a room for 30 minutes to shower etc before heading to the airport. Good pool area with acess to towels to take to the beach. Overall wouldnt hesitate to stay here again but would pay for a higher floor.

Room Tip: Request higher floor to avoid looking directly out to people coming and going to restrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Aloha shazma and thank you for your comments on the Beachcomber! Yes, you're right about our prime location, comfortable bed & pillows and tidy, clean good-size rooms. We truly appreciate your business, especially coming all the way from New Zealand. Hope you return to Hawaii for another visit in the not-too-distant future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyneton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed there twice recently. Great location in the middle of Waikiki. Rooms were clean and comfortable, housekeeping was first class. Jason at the tour desk in the Lobby organised three activities for us, and each was great value and precisely as he described. GO TO THE DINNER SHOW THERE AT THE HOTEL - MAGIC OF POLYNESIA.

Room Tip: Perhaps go high to get away from some adjacent building rooftop equipment noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Aloha Prussia32 and thank you for your kind review of your recent (two) Beachcomber visits - we certainly appreciate your business! You describe our hotel well - great location, clean and comfortable rooms, first class housekeeping and a wonderful Magic of Polynesia show. We're also delighted that you mention our staff, especially Jason at the tour desk. Thank you for visiting us from Down Under and we look forward to your return. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Right in the heart of the waikiki strip! Beach is right across the road behind the hotels on that side. Absolutely in the heart of the shopping center! Great food to be found when out and about. Room was small but more then adequate, cause really you're only sleeping in it. Bed was super comfy, room was clean, shower was great! Like other's suggest, I'd skip the breakfast buffet and go find something off site. Front desk staff were super nice and helpful, as were the bus boys!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Aloha Canukgurl and thank you for kind review of our Beachcomber! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel's convenient, central location and that you found our staff super nice and friendly. We've been a favorite among Canadians for many years and appreciate your business and support. Hope you return to Waikiki soon. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is quite close, but not at the beach. About a hundred meters or so. The property in itself is large and airy, allows plenty of breeze and sunlight to come in. Pleasant smiling staff, neat and adequately large rooms, very little to complain.

The breakfast is served at the 2nd (or is it third?) floor near the smallish swimming pool. The selection is a mix of continental and Japanese, perhaps justifying the two largest groups of tourist that visit the place. Leave your plate unattended for a minute and a flock of birds would attack the breakfast which is fun to watch if it happens to the table next to you :).

The reception provides towels to take to the beach. There is an ABC store right next to the property to address to any need one may have. Walking distance to the high street with a huge selection of restaurants and shopping outlets including Macy's, if the tourist just so desires.

I would definitely stay here again, or anywhere else for that matter, if given a change to visit Hawaii once more. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Aloha Perkydoc! Thank you for visiting Hawaii all the way from India and for your kind review of the Beachcomber! We're glad to learn that you enjoyed our hotel, its convenient location, nice guest rooms and pleasant staff. We hope you return Waikiki soon. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.