We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Beachcomber and shuttle Hawaii23” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Florence
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Holiday Inn Beachcomber and shuttle Hawaii23”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We asked for a room with balcony and view of the ocean. We got it both times and it was beautiful. The room was nice and big enough for 3 adults. The hotel staff was helpful and very friendly.
We used Hawaii 23 (Mark) from the airport and back. We also called him for all other shuttle connections we needed while on the island. He was wonderful and helpful. Would use him again. Thanks Mark.... for making our trip worry free.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony with an ocean view. Keep in mind that entertainment goes on at night on the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    757
    209
    48
    22
See reviews for
463
559
77
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We had a room on the 17th floor for 2 nights, then the 14th floor after our cruise. This hotel is central to shopping, restaurants and transport. From arrival at hotel, the porters were helpful and friendly, check-in was a breeze and rooms were clean and comfortable. We didn't notice the noise from the 17th floor (from bars below) but certainly did on the 14th floor. Would happily stay here again but would book rooms from 17th & above in the future. Breakfast at Jimmy Buffett
was a bit ordinary.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Ont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Great location.View of the street, ocean,and mountains from the 22nd floor.Staff very friendly. Clean.Pool small.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at your Hotel last year, sorry I have taken so long to write this review. I am always reading what other say as it is like reliving our holiday.

We just loved the location, each evening we sat and watched the world go by on the Balcony. We were on the 7th floor which suited us fine as we really felt right in the action of all the goings on.

Right opposite the Beach, sadly we didn't swim as much as we would of liked but time just did not allow.

The room was lovely. Lovely king bed with wonderful fresh crisp linen. The housekeeping was first class.

We are looking to come back again from NZ very soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed here Mar 30 - April 4, 2012. Originally I was trying to get a room at the Sheraton Royal Hawaiian, and I "settled" for the Holiday Inn. However, the Holiday Inn exceeded all of my expectations. Besides the location being in the heart of the main area, the hotel room was excellent. It was large, clean and comfortable. Additionally, I found the staff friendly and helpful. The common areas were comfortable and clean as well. I spoke to people staying at the Sheraton Princess and the Hyatt and was told that although the buildings and grounds were nice, the rooms were not. I definitely recommend the Holiday Inn to anyone looking to stay in Waikiki.

The only possible downsides (not for me though) is that the pool didn't have much shade coverage, and the beach is a block away. However, most hotels are a block away from the beach - it really is a short walk. But you have to rent umbrellas and chairs from vendors on the beach. However, I was impressed that the Sheraton Royal Hawaiian had chairs on the beach and umbrellas for their patrons.

Room Tip: I stayed in 803 and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Aloha fayesuave and thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Beachcomber! Our ohana works hard to take good care of its many guests, and we have many loyal Canadians among them. As you mention, there are many choices in Waikiki, but we feel we are an excellent value - great location, affordability and aloha. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This hotel was very nice, clean, close to everything, Macy's is under this hotel.
Wifi in this hotel is included anywhere in the building, without extra cost. I had no view of
the ocean but for us it didn't matter. Our breakfast was included. The beach is across the
street. The Magic of Polynesia is also in the same building, and there is also a bar with
happy hours. This hotel was recommended by Norwegian "Pride of America" that is the cruise line we took to visit Hawaii. This Hotel is on the main street of" Kalakaua avenue"

Room Tip: Always look in the Internet before choosing an hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
431 reviews 431 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is a good, reliable hotel. I have stayed at Holiday Inns allover the Asia/Pacific region and this one is a good quality example. As with all of them, the location is marvellous - it is surrounded by good eateries and plenty of shopping. Waikiki Beach is only a few metres walk away and the buses to Honolulu are easily found on Kuhio, right behind the hotel. On the down side, this hotel has no restaurant - disappointing as Holiday Inns are renowned for good quality food - that means there is no room service overnight. The closest place to get breakfast is the Beachcomber on Level 1, attached to Jimmy Buffets. This is okay - quite fine for breakfast, but don't expect a sumptuous buffet. The Waikiki area, renowned for good times and partying, can be noisy through the night, so you will need to be aware of this possibility - not the hotel's fault. Good coffee and the service is outstanding here. All in all, it was a good stay and I would come to stay here again.

Room Tip: You can see Waikiki Beach from most balconies - but I'm not sure if you'll get away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Aloha Ali_Hawkins, thank you for being a loyal IHG / Holiday Inn customer and for your kind review of the Beachcomber! Our staff takes great pride in taking care of our many guests and hearing how you enjoyed your stay brings much joy to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, Honolulu Surfing Museum and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.