We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

When it come to location, the Holiday Inn can not be beaten. It is located right in the heart of Waikiki in the middle of it all!. It is worth paying for a high floor upgrade so you can see the ocean and Diamond Head. The room was very well appointed with the most comfortable bed and pillows. No mini bar but vending machines are available in the hotel and there is an ABC convenience store just a few minutes walk away and it has everything you need and quite a few things you dont! There is a restaurant (Jimmy Buffet's) that is in the building but not part of the hotel, I was not that impressed but to each his own. There are a dozen other choices all within easy walking distance. The staff were friendly and happy to always help out. Internet in the room is FREE, which for an Aussie travelling is a big bonus. Outrigger have long had the strong hold in the Waikiki area and now there is a new kid on the block that easlily out does them. Would happily recommend and stay there again and again.

Room Tip: High floor, you will get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    762
    209
    48
    22
See reviews for
465
563
78
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We found the service at Holiday Inn Beachcomber quite disappointing. The front office staff were polite enough but not particularly friendly or interested.
The room we had on the 9th floor was comfortable and spacious with partial views so no complaints there. The housekeeping staff were quite pleasant also although kept the tea bags etc to a minimum.
The restaurant staff were completely disorganised when we were there with long waiting times, running out of cuttlery, milk, yoghurt etc and one morning because there was omelettes on the menu put the cost of breakfast up $4.00 to $15.95. The service at the nearby Outrigger Hotels is very good and a lot of people just went there.
The concierges were in no hurry to interrupt their conversation when the taxi driver arrived to take us to the airport and were very slow in getting out our luggage.
We would not stay there again or recommend.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Quoted a partial ocean view and that is exactly what I got. If I stood to the side and leaned to the left, I could partially see a sliver of blue. This was not a Resort Hotel and it is misleading to call it such. While the hotel is located less than a block from the beach, the amenities within the hotel are not up to par. The pool is smaller than those you find in a backyard. The front desk staff was rushed and not very polite. When I asked for a concierge, they sent me to one of the tour desks that are operated by outside vendors. Parking was $30/night. You had to have a room key to get on the elevator. I would stay away from this hotel if and when you travel to Honolulu.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at the Beachcomber for 2 nights before our one week stay in Kauai. I think it was a great choice especially since we decided not to rent a car for just a couple days. This hotel is centrally located to most everything. Great shopping and restaurants within walking distance. The room itself was nice - we had an ocean view with a small balcony. Small frig in the room as well as a safe. The pool is small but clean. Margaritaville attached to the hotel is fun and wasn't very busy at all. I think if I was staying in Waikiki for more than a couple days I would have wanted to be on the beach. The beachcomber is across the street but the properties right on Waikiki are very nice and if you can afford it that is where I would want to be if I was staying longer than a day or two.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We spent a night in Waikiki after a 7-night cruise and stayed in this property. Weren't sure what to expect but this was an excellent find. The location is excellent -- close to everything. There's a safe in the room, as well as a mini fridge and tea/coffee maker. There's also free wifi. With the room card you can also use the Pink Shuttle that goes around the Waikiki area including the Ala Moana shopping mall (for a song).

The room -- cheerful and well-maintained. You won't feel like having landed in the lap of luxury but it's quite nice really. Kudos to the nice staff that run the place! I'd defnitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

we had an alley side room view. stayed for three nights

pros: the staff was very polite. room is fairly update-close to the stores and the beach.

cons: the price was too high for what they offered. no room service. room is very very small. the walls are incredibly thin, and the sound travels easily. the first 2 nights we didnt have anyone in the next room. but on the third night someone was next door to us, who had a hard time sleeping, in the middle of the night we could hear her on the phone talking away for hours. it kept us up all night.

i wont be staying here again.

Room Tip: if you want a quiet room the alley side on the higher floors are quieter. the ocean view rooms are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We requested and paid for an oceanview room for a recent stay and were disappointed to find the ocean view was through a gap between all the buildings along Waikiki strip. We were only staying 2 nights on this occasion but returning a week later after our Cruise.
The staff were not very helpful as we had booked through Flight Centre, so after discussing this issue with our Agent back in Australia we were placed in a room on floor 20 for our return (stayed another 5 nights) and found the view much better. The room however only had a double bed and not a queen bed which was a little small for my 6' tall husband. This was minor thoguh given the perfect location, the lovely clean rooms and the facilities.
Overall, our stay at Beachcomber was excellent and we would stay again.

Room Tip: * Rooms on the East side have beautiful beach views above floor 20. * Request beachfront accommodat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, Honolulu Surfing Museum and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.