We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great airline emply rate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great airline emply rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed only 1 night in Oahu so the kids could go to Pearl Harbor and chose this hotel after driving (which is not fun in Waikiki) around looking at hotels. It's amazing how many hotels, shops, restrnts, and people can fit in such a small beach area. Although this isn't our usual kind of vacation-we prefer quite and more "non commercialized" areas but everyone should experience Waikiki at some point. This hotel is in a great place-across the street from the beach. Nice view from the pool and the little grocery/gift store actly had great prices! The Jimmy Buffett restrnt is nice but expensive-of course. The rooms were very nice, beds are great, mini fridge, even the balcony was nice. Worst part was the $30.00 parking fee-almost half what we paid for the room. The staff was very friendly--which every Hawaiian on every island is so polite--they really appreciate the traveling public.

Room Tip: Bring your airline id for a great rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    834
    227
    49
    22
See reviews for
511
624
91
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

I stayed here on my own as I visited hawaii for business. I stayed for one week, the room was fantastic, it was immaculately clean, receptionists and concierges would help you with anything you wanted. The location is great, just a quick walk across the road and you are on the beach. I would strongly recommend it, and the price makes it an even better deal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We are a couple in our late 20's and stayed at the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber from 10th June to 20th June. It was our 1st time to Hawaii. This hotel is excellent the room is spacious and well equipped - hairdryer, fridge, good mixer shower, iron and ironing board, toiletires provided, coffee maker, free ice down the corridor, ice bucket provided in room too and a large LCD TV. We were in room 520 on the 5th floor only slight complaint was that our room was near where all the fans for the airconditioning units for the shops next door so took two days to get used to the noise of the fans thats with the balcony doors shut - apart from that NO complaints. Hotel staff are excellent, very welcoming and helpful. Jimmey Buffet restaurant give hotel guest 15 % off the bill for breakfast or/and lunch just need to show your key card. Jimmys buffet is excellent really nice staff and atmosphere! With regard to people previously saying lifts are confusing as you have to insert your key card - it took us two gos to understand how it works so really easy no drama! We used Expedia in the hotel to book our tours/activities for 6 tours it cost us $600 each but we managed to book a lot our days were jam packed!

Activities/tours I recommend:

Kaoula Ranch - horseriding and movie tour
Polynesian Cultural centre - YOU MUST GO - thouroughly enjoyed it - get ambassador tickets you are treated like royalty its worth it!
North Shore - AMAZING - go see the turtles!
Waimea beach - stunning
Honoloulou Zoo - loved it nice and relaxed - not expensive
Wet and wild water park - SO much fun, take plenty of sun cream though!
Go to the Hilton hawaiian village and see penguins
Ala Moana shopping centre - they have a body shop there in case of toiletries emergencies!
Hike to hidden waterfall on windward side of the Island - really worth it!

We went to the Dole pineapple plantation which was really expensive only to be disappointed and told once there we will not see any hawaiian pineapples in the fields as they have only just planted them - felt a bit ripped off. Pineapple ice cream there was amazing though. You do see pineapples growng but from other countries :(

Money wise: we took £712.00 spending money so works out around $1400 - this was not enough and had to use credit card to withdraw more money. To have a good time in Oahu for 2 weeks you would need $2000. Everything is expensive as it is imported in a Mc donalds meal cost $8.99! One thing we did not prepare for was that VAT is not included on the price of items they wack that on when you get to the till. Tipping takes up a lot of your money too as restaurantd will provide you with the amount you HAVE to tip when they present you with the bill!

Beaches all had toilet facilities which was handy but never any soap which is expected so just pack some antibacterial hand rub.

Flower Leis: You can only take the purple Orchid Leis legally back to the UK anything else customs will throw away.

International market place - haggle with the maket traders don't pay the first price they will go down! Don't waste your time with the peal traders there its such a scam you pay $14 for the pearl out of the oyster then they say if you want to put it in a setting pendant/ring etc it goes up to $400! CRAZY. I bought some pear earring from Polynesian cultural centre and the Peal Shop in the North shore much better quality and better price and settings!

We had an incredible holiday it met all our expectations and more, got a lovely tan weather was in 30s when we went, be warned it does drizzle rain for about 10mins at a time but this is normal then sun shines through again people continue sunbathing when this happens as we found out.

We are definitely having withdrawl symptoms after our amazing holiday. Absolutely fell in love with Hawaii, the people, culture, history and beauty.

nb tap water there is completely safe to drink!

We would love to go to Maui in the future, just have to gear ourselves up for the 17.5 hours plane journey again!!

Room Tip: Request for floor 8 upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

This is truly a hotel that is well located....easy access to the beach, shopping, and yummy restaurants.....we had a car, and it was easy to get in and out of the hotel....valet was quick to get our car and help with luggage.....the cleaning staff left our rooms immaculate.....they (especially Nola) were extremely polite, respectful, and friendly....when Honolulu is our vacation destination, we will retun to the beachcomber!!

Room Tip: ask for upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed for a week, in a partial ocean view room, which faced Duke's alley on the 20th floor. We could see the ocean, which was nice. We had requested a room on a high floor and initially were given a corner room at the rear of the building on floor 25 (the top floor). I found the height a bit disconcerting, especially the balcony, so we asked for something lower and in the middle, and staff were very helpful, giving us a choice of 2 other rooms. We were happy with our chosen room on the 20th floor. It had a better lay out than the corner room, and seemed bigger, having two double beds, rather than one queen bed.
Other reviewer's have mentioned noise, and yes the drinks rubbish is emptied about 11.20pm each night - one crash of glass and it is over and garbage trucks do start early in the morning, but we just went back to sleep. You are staying in the middle of a busy tourist area, and noises like this probably occur elsewhere as well.
We only used the pool once for a quick dip, the fitness center was good, and we loved the location, easy access to beach and free trolley to Ala Moana.
Although it would be nice to stay on the beach, for value for money, you can't beat Holiday Inn, and we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

My husband, myself and our three kids stayed here twice. We stayed from 6/10-6/13 (two rooms, next door to each other on the 6th floor facing the street). Then we went to another island, and came back on 6/20 for one night before flying back to the mainland (two connecting rooms-one a suite and one a regular room, 23rd floor facing the side alley but with a great view of the beach).

The rooms were clean, beds were comfy and the staff was great, check-in and check-out were a breeze. Shower isn't huge, but its certainly not tiny as some have stated. The only complaint I have, and it isnt a huge one, is the elevators. It was busy and they were slow, and you have to use a key to get to your floor. So, if ten people get on the elevator, everyone is pushing and shoving to get their key in. One time, by the time we got our key in, we had passed our floor. That says more about the other guests lack of courtesy than it does about the hotel itself.

The pool is small but nice, and the bar and restaurant are wrapped around the pool. Jimmy Buffets leases the space so you are not able to charge to your room. We did not rent a car, so did not use valet, but the bellhops were great and brought our luggage up quickly. We did not experience any noise issues (and there was a festival going on right out front while we were there).

I would definitely stay here again, as it is right in the middle of everything. We were told that Holiday Inn just purchased the property in November. My husband is a Platinum Holiday Inn member and so we used points for all but one of the nights.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a week and throughly enjoyed it Nice big room and clean,nice tv could not fault the place We went to the magic of polynesia show which is in the hotel really good night. The hotel is in the heart of waikiki so fairly busy,beach across the road an abundance of restaurants Try the cheesecake factory across the road on a weekend night they are busy but go and get a pager and come back relax untill it is due to go off.
elevators were plentiful and quite quick.recommend to all

Room Tip: e
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.