We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and Macys in the building!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Perfect location and Macys in the building!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed at the Beachcomber with husband and 17year old daughter, our room was on the 25th floor and the view was over kalakaua Avenue, Waikiki and Diamond Head. The room was always clean on our return from a day out, room size excellent for 3 people.
There's a small but very good Macy's in the building and they are open til 10pm every night! The pool was verty small and not very inviting but why use the pool when the beach is across the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above level 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    738
    201
    46
    22
See reviews for
445
539
75
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I loved it here .. just returned from a week stay, perfect central location for shopping and or transport,...staff were helpful and friendly including the cleaning staff, my room was an oceanfront with fantastic views, I was on the 17th floor and I had no problems with any noise at all, as suggested by another reviewer, .. room was spacious and clean and bed was comfy, big flat screen TV made bedtime enjoyable. I wont even bother to look for other hotel deals when next I visit, .. I’m coming straight back here ! :o)

Room Tip: Don't forget to use the free pink trolley
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

So centrally located we were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go or we used the Pink Trolley which was complimentary and lots of fun. No need for a rental car. The Bus or shuttles for further distances were easily accessible. The hotel staff was excellent! My husband and I were very impressed with the prompt courteous service we received from the front desk, the bellhops, maintenance, housekeeping, just everyone was great. The rooms were very clean and we had no problems with noise. Very comfy beds. Would definitely stay here on a return trip!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at the Beachcomber for 8 nights and it was the perfect hotel for our vacation. The hotel is centrally located next to everything and is only a few steps away from the beach.

So where to begin? Let me start off with the staff. They were awesome and allowed us to check in early. We came in from San Diego, so we landed earlier than check-in time. Jenny was great and held our luggage until our room was ready.

The room was very spacious and we had an amazing view from our balcony. You can definitely tell the rooms were recently renovated: flat screen t.v.'s, refrigerators, granite countertops in the bathroom area, comfortable beds, etc. The hotel also provides guests with free wi-fi access, which is great because most hotels nowadays charge you for internet. If you need help planning your trip they have a concierge desk that can provide you with tons of information.

Like I said before the hotel is within walking distance from just about everything. For those of you who love to shop. You can ride the Trolley (Pink Line) to the Ala Moana Center (the trolley usually charges 2.00 each way). Knowing that we were going to be there for awhile we took advantage of that and took the trolley to the Ala Moana Center and from there walked over to the Wal-Mart and bought tons of Hawaiian Sun (Juice Drinks) and stuffed them in our fridge.

The hotel is also right next door to the International Market, which is awesome if you don't get a chance to go to the Aloha Stadium for Swapmeet. You should definitely check this place out for souvenir shopping. They have tons of carts and you can always bargain with them. Just make sure you have enough cash on hand. ATM fees get expensive. On different nights they have free hula shows and a farmers market, which is definitely worth checking out.

Overall the hotel was great in terms of value, service and quality. I would definitely recommend this hotel for everyone. We were definitely sad to leave, but Mahalo and Aloha A Hui Hou Beachcomber.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racoon, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

AAA Discount is great, 15% off Jimmy Buffets Restaurant if you are a hotel guest.

Room Tip: Ask for AAA rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I booked this hotel because it seemed to be a good location for our stay and the price was reasonable. I read the reviews about the noise from below so I called ahead and requested a higher floor. We were given a higher floor with a beautiful ocean view! Even though, the noise didn't bother us. It stopped about 10 p.m. The location of the hotel was perfect. Next door to the International Marketplace and within walking distance of everything we wanted to see. The staff was friendly and helpful and the hotel was very nice. Loved the Valet Parking! Even though it was $30 p/nt, it was so easy to get the car and leave the car because parking is impossible on the Waikiki strip. I would definitely stay again if we visit Honolulu.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

If your looking for a hotel that's in the perfect location to all,,, this is it! During our stay we received great services from the front desk staff to management! Our rooms were wonderfully design rooms, with beautiful views and very comfortable beds so that you feel rested! So, here's a very especial hats off to management, again thank you kindly for our great stay!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, Honolulu Surfing Museum and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.