We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“confortble” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel Waikiki to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Starting at $109 (USD)
Ranked #71 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“confortble”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed 5 night in April,2015. I always use this hotel,when I come to waikiki.Flat & CardAccess parking is easy to me.Connection is simple from airport.Free WIFI is good to me.l come back again.maybe soon.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, yesterday
Aloha,
It's very refreshing to hear you enjoyed your stay and to see you again. We look forward to your next trip and hope if there is anything we can assist you with, that you let us know.
A hui hou,
Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    55
    58
    20
    26
See reviews for
44
47
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was in Honolulu in March, as my fourth trip. Once in 2008, In 2012 with my son, 2013 where I surrendered my appendix to Hawaii, and most recent March 2015. I am 65. Could someone adopt me. I was made for Hawaii. Perfect climate, friendly people, palm trees, gentle breezes, sand, beach, sun, kayak, snorkel and love the atmosphere.

Room Tip: Room at top, 18th floor has view when step out your door of palm tree, reservoir, and mountainside a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha Sharon,
I'm so sorry to hear about your appendix. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay as well. And adopt you? Yes, welcome to the Ambassador Hotel O'hana (family.) We welcome your next visit and hope it is soon.
Warmest Aloha,
Adrian Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had the unfortunate experience of seeing a staff member bullying another.
A man by the name of Jeff was being extremely rude and unprofessional to a lady he was working with (she seemed new). He was belittling her and almost had her in tears! And infront of customers! We felt extremely sorry for her as she was lovely.

The amentity fee is ridiculous, cost us $250 AUD and is what I see as a trick to seem cheaper online.

For people thinking of staying, everything asside from this was ok, basic and as expected for the price. Location is good.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha Ali00093,
I apologize for this unfortunate experience. We do not condone this type of behavior and will investigate this matter further. In the mean time if you would like to contact me, please feel free to call the hotel and ask for myself.
Sincerest apologies,
Adrian Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

While this hotel is old, it's location and price are good for travelers. 5 minute walk to the beach. Kitchens available to assist in overall vacation cost reduction (cook your own food). Easy access to highways for travel around island.
Beds are not too comfortable and the paint is peeling in places.

Overall, while not a 4 star hotel, our stay was comfortable, enjoyable, and not as expensive as the big name hotels in Waikiki. Would definitely stay here again"

Room Tip: Ocean view room are corner rooms and provide good cross breezes at higher floor levels. Lower floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mcook95,
It sounds like you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our location and offerings. We hope you can stay again soon. We are currently looking into making several great improvements in our rooms and property overall.
Mahalo,
Adrian Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel for a week in Honolulu. I'm sure there's more modern looking hotel rooms in Waikiki but the staff was very friendly and the rooms stayed clean. They even give you a water bottle and access to clean water through out your stay. I'd stay again!

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha Naytuhshay,
I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and our eco-friendly water bottles. Living in Hawaii is beautiful and we like knowing our re-usable water bottles decrease our footprint and will help to keep Hawaii GREEN!
A hui hou,
Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have not stayed at this hotel, but I just have to say that the resort fee is becoming quite standard in Hawaii...just as it already is in Vegas. You cannot be upset with a hotel for your own inability to read the fine print when booking your own travel online. People need to stop acting as if they have been duped. If you are choosing to book your own travel online, and you choose something which has a certain bed, or a resort fee and fail to notice this cost or detail..that is not the hotels fault..geeze people, take some responsibilty

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. I hope you find some time to stay with us and you can truly enjoy our property and all the amenities we have to offer.
Safe travels and warmest Aloha,
Adrian Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Expedia gave me false information about my room accommadations but the manager in reservations did everything possible to make things right without any extra chage. My 9 night stay was great. It is a wonderful value for the budget conscious guest.

Room Tip: Beware of Expedia. They will tell you anything they think you want to hear without the true facts o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Mahalo Barbara for your review. It was a pleasure to serve you, and we welcome your next trip to O'ahu.
Warmest Aloha,
Adrian Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Address: 2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A year-round holiday paradise that blends contemporary comfort with tranquil ambiance, our Waikiki discount hotel is the perfect spot for family vacations, romantic getaways, or last-minute escapes. Delight in our private yet convenient location - just steps from Waikiki’s most popular shopping, restaurants and nightlife. Lounge by our sparkling pool or stroll over to gorgeous Waikiki Beach. Enjoy spacious, newly renovated accommodations appointed with all of the amenities of home. Come discover the warm hospitality that makes the Ambassador Waikiki the premier choice of Waikiki hotels among budget savvy travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Honolulu
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.