We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mold and ants” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel Waikiki to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“mold and ants”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very basic equipment which was totally ok considering the price. What was not ok that the bathroom was in a very bad condition (mold and ants). better to spend some more Money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    44
    39
    14
    17
See reviews for
31
44
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

***Looks really were deceiving**** The pictures on the internet look nothing like the rooms shown. The Elevator to the rooms were very nasty and it made us wonder what the rooms was going to look like. When we got off the Elevator to our floor the walls were very dirty and the doors to the rooms. This lead us to believe the rooms were probably not in the best condition. The rooms are worn and outdated and had a very bad odor. There was a couch in our room that was made of vinyl and the cushions were torn and it was not attractive and we didn't even want to sit on it. We had rust on the side of the tub and there was some type of mold growing up under the sink. If we had not already pre paid for the nights we would have found a much nicer place to stay. The sink in the bathroom barley drained. When you would take a shower you would have to stand in ankle deep water because it drained so slow. The room does not even provide a coffee pot for those who like to drink coffee. The Hotel staff have I to say was very pleasant so that was the only nice experience. We will pay the extra money and stay a much nice Hotel that will offer more amenities.

Room Tip: if you get a non smoking room and someone in your party smokes and your room has a balcony you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Choosing to stay at this hotel totally depends on your what's most important to you. If you are looking for an ooohhhh-la-la, romantic place for your honeymoon with room service from a 5 star chef, this is not the place for you. For everyone else, this place is great. The rooms are clean. They look a bit outdated but so what. I had internet access plugged right into my laptop. The view from either side of the hotel is nice - ocean, canal or mountains. There's a pool if you want that and some other simple amenities. The location is key. Right in the heart of Waikiki - you can walk everywhere. The reality is, who spends all their time in the hotel anyway? I was only there to sleep and shower. The desk staff was helpful when I needed information. The price was just right. The only bad thing about this hotel is lack of access to the stairwell. I HATE elevators and was forced to endure it everyday. They keep the stairwell locked. I understand the safety concerns but there should be some way that someone who doesn't want to take the elevator can access the stairs.

Room Tip: The room did have free internet access but if I recall correctly, it wasn't wireless. I had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to rate our property and adding your very nice comments. I am happy to hear that we were able to meet most of your expectations during your visit. We hope to see you on your future return visits.
Much Mahalo
Roy Yamamoto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed before at the Ambassador hotel, and while it is in need of some upgrading, it was an ok stay and a perfect price. The last stay was a bit different, and that was probably the last time. What I like about the hotel is the location, at the eastern part of Waikiki that is near everything, to include parking at FT Derussy, and a centralized location that allows for easy access into and out of Waikiki. The 2d part is the hotel front desk staff, which really are as good as some as some of the reviews mention. When you have a great staff, you can overcome many of the smaller problems and make for a great stay when folks are so super friendly. The outside walkways give great views of the sunset and also of the rainbows towards the mountains.
The downside of my stay was I had a room was sharing with bugs and did not start seeing them till part way through the stay. I had no food in the place, so why they arrived I do not know. I identified the problem to the reception desk, had it checked out, and the room was supposed to have gotten sprayed. Because it was the next to last day, did not see need to change rooms, but should have, since problem was still there the last night. I misunderstood the compensation that was offered, which had thought to be different than what was given. If you decide to stay on the strengths of what the hotel offers - just make sure you request a room change if the same problem occurs.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much for your rating and comments.
I would like to first of all, thank you for your patronage and comments about our location and staff. I would like to apologize about the inconvenience we may have caused and not being able to fully meet your expectations.
Again, Much Mahalo.
Roy Yamamoto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Strengths and weaknesses about this hotel. Travelled to Oahu with 2 male friends and I needed a separate room for myself. Checked into room 1111 and was comfortable. Moved to friends' room #629 for one night stay and found their room In need of maintenance - believe theirs was in old wing. Small cockroaches came at night in toilet. Good configuration as 1 of the bed was blocked and I had some privacy. Corridors were not well-lighted and felt eerie walking along it at night. But since it was exposed to outside view, felt ok.

Hotel is close to Waikiki beach, walking time of about 10-15 min. Also a few public buses ply there and brings you to Polynesian Cultural Centre, Diamond Head, Hanauma Bay and Pearl Harbour. Must say the only good thing about this place is the location.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to respond to the survey and to add your comments.
I am sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your full expectations during your visit.
We appreciate your patronage.
Much Mahalo
Roy Yamamoto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Definitely not worth the money!!! The images do not match with reality! The room was large and the staff very nice but the kitchen and the bathroom was from the ' 50s, and when we walked in the corridors, it felt as if we were in an open prison. Book anything else!!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to conduct the rating and comments.
I apologize that your visit with us did not meet your expectations.
We apppreciate your patronage and time to respond to the survey.
Mahalo
Roy Yamamoto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first stay at the Ambassador. The staff there are great, helpful and really friendly. The hotel itself is looking a bit tired and needs refresh. However, saying that it was good value for money. The rooms have everything you need, the internet service was excellent, and the bed was really comfortable. Our only challenge was the noise. Our room was on the 4th floor facing the road outside, and there was a lot of noise from the cars and people out on the street. Also the tour buses come early in the morning and around 5.00 AM each day we heard the beep beep beep as they reversed and parked outside the hotel.

Unfortunately we had the misfortune of having a very noisy neighbor who was somewhat nocturnal and enjoyed staying up to 4.00 AM in the morning - which disrupted our sleep a lot. We are a family, and I would have expected the hotel to book young party goers together, and family groups together as each type of customer is looking for a different experience while in Hawaii.

The Ambassador was a good value Hotel, but I probably won't be back.

Room Tip: If you stay at the Ambassador, ask for a room that does not face out onto the main roads when you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to respond to the survey and to add your kind comments.
I am happy to hear that we were able to provide your with satisfactory accomodations during your visit.
We really appreciate your patronage.
Much Mahalo
Roy Yamamoto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Address: 2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A year-round holiday paradise that blends contemporary comfort with tranquil ambiance, our Waikiki discount hotel is the perfect spot for family vacations, romantic getaways, or last-minute escapes. Delight in our private yet convenient location - just steps from Waikiki’s most popular shopping, restaurants and nightlife. Lounge by our sparkling pool or stroll over to gorgeous Waikiki Beach. Enjoy spacious, newly renovated accommodations appointed with all of the amenities of home. Come discover the warm hospitality that makes the Ambassador Waikiki the premier choice of Waikiki hotels among budget savvy travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Honolulu
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.