We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well priced hotel - close to all Honolulu can offer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Spreyton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A well priced hotel - close to all Honolulu can offer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Ambassador Hotel was well priced to suit my 'comfort level' whilst in Honolulu. The Hotel is clean, efficient, helpful and overall a good place to stay. I found the $20 fee extra per day - initially a little disconcerting but the Wi Fi, Pool & bike (2 hours only) made it a little more palatable..... Bottom line is I feel that Honolulu, for the average working person, is a little 'hard on the pocket' - you get what you pay for hence the Ambassador lived up to my expectations...and a little more!

Room Tip: Get a room that allows the Trade Winds (Western Side) to enter (leave the balcony door open) as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We got stuck in Oahu due to our flight.
Of course, in high season - if you need a room same day - you have not much choices, except you don't mind to pay 400+$ for one night.
Therefore we was happy to get a room in the Ambassador Hotel. It would not have been our first choice for a family vacation and staying there for longer, however if you without kids and active all day long, so you only need a place to sleep it might a perfect budget solution. The location is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Durham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here the first week of June. The reception staff gave us a warm welcome. Our room was exactly as in the picture. Although not top end luxury it ticked all the boxes. Very spacious. It had a balcony with no furniture but with a table and 2 chairs in the room we just put these on the balcony when we needed them and enjoyed beer and wine bought from the ABC shop beside the hotel at very decent prices. The white zinfandel is cheap and lovely. The room has a fridge to keep your drinks cool and there is an ice machine on one of the floors. We had a kettle too but no mugs. The bathroom has a walk in shower. A bit dated but plenty of hot water and shampoo is provided but no body wash. The wardrobe is in the bathroom with plenty of storage space and a free safe and iron and ironing board. There's a decent hairdryer too. What more could we want. The air conditioning is noisy but at times we left it off. Oh and wifi extends to your room and it's free too. We had a brilliant signal. The TV had some decent channels. In reception there is a person at a desk that will book your trips. I booked ahead with Shaka tours, they were cheaper than other companies and used Roberts of Hawaii who were excellent. We did Pearl Harbor and Honolulu highlights, circle island tour and The Chief's Luau. The food wasn't up to much at the Luau but The Chief is such a genuine warm person he makes the show. The Hotel has a pool with loungers and umbrella's and was fine for a couple of afternoons rest. This hotel is ideal for anywhere you want to go to. Very near the beach, through Fort Derussey Park. 5 minutes to eating places. Try IHOP for breakfast. $8.95 for a breakfast and a stack of pancakes. Coffee is extra but cheap and they give you a flask on the table full of it. It's good for other meals too. Prices are not expensive compared to England. The same or less. We took too much spending money. Hard Rock Cafe has a happy hour after 10.00 at night. Cocktails $5 and A pint of beer $4 and a live band. Try Arnold's beach bar beside Eggs and Things. Cheap drinks all day. Mai Tai's are lovely and strong. It's down a side alley and looks a bit grim but locals seem to drink there. Honolulu zoo is within walking distance and really nice. Beware the bugs though it's the only place I got bitten. The Ambassador is a lovely place to stay when you'd rather stay down budget and keep the money you save on not having all the frills to spend on other things, Give it a try. I'm pleased we did.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While planning our 9 days vacation in Oahu, we searched for a decent, simple and affordable hotel which is located within the Waikki area. Since we booked several tours and we will be out most of the time, Ambassador a Hotel is very ideal. It is walking distance to Waikiki beach, Kalakaua Avenue, and Ala Moana Center. Several convenience stores (ABC and Whalers) and bus stops are a few steps away. Our room has two queen beds, kitchenette complete with ref, electric four burner stove with oven, microwave oven, bread toaster, percolator, pots, china and silver wares and other cooking utensils, hand towels but no pot holder. The bathroom is quite small but the toiletries were replenished daily. There is flat screen tv. There are no chairs in the veranda, most
probably its purpose is a view deck since you can see the Waikiki beach from there. Drinking water is available in the ground floor and laundrynette is in the second floor. An average size pool is in the third floor. Our room was fixed and cleaned daily. Hotel staff were kind and courteous. For practical reasons, this hotel is very ideal for us, we only need a place to sleep, rest and have our personal needs done since our main purpose was to tour Oahu and make the most of our time going to scenic spots and to sample all the dining places and go shopping.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is just my experience and point of view. For the average traveler who experienced hotels ranging from Motel 6 to the Windsor, this hotel is boarder line motel status. But if you are on spring break and all hell is breaking lose, you would not see anything wrong with this place. If you are with your family and have the time to observe detail you would be extremely disappointed.

Pros:Price- sometimes but there is a certain price is not worth it.
-location is pretty good
-cleanliness decent
-Pool-no complaints

Cons: Attention to details-rusted refrigerator door
-ROOMS OPEN TO WALKWAY LIKE APARTMENTS, soaked when raining
-A/C is a bedroom style single unit: made noise and taped up at the bottom.
-On the 9th floor you can hear the back up buzzer of the tour bus at 4AM.
-Patio/Lanai area no furniture-strange
-Outdated carpets
-TV feels small like a 22-32 inch screen
-Lobby first indicator of Weirdness
-No bed skirt
-Four guest, "4" pillows and only 2 towels. Simple Math!


Overall it depends on if you have needs of getting a hotel or you have time to get a good hotel.

I personally would not stay there again unless I have to.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket - Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We made a reservation last minute by calling the telephone number provided on the hotels website, when we arrived the staff claimed we hadn't got one and we arguing with us about the difference in the telephone numbers / call centres on their website - not the best concierge service I've received and not what you need after a 11 hour flight ! Eventually they found is a room which stunk of stale cigarettes masked by white paint. The room was old, tired noisy and bad value for money. The location is at the very end of the strip and better value can be found renting a private condo which is what we did after 1 night.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooele, Utah
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We recently stayed at the Amabassador with our 3 children. We stayed in the city view suite with 4 beds. There was a bedroom with a full size bed and one twin. The livingroom couches turned into 2 twin beds, as well. My husband and I opted to put the 3 children in the bedroom (there is no tv in there) and we just pushed the 2 twins together and slept in the living room. The kitchen was stocked with the utensils and pans that we needed to cook, however they did not have any hotpads/potholders. The room was very large with a lot of drawers for all of our belongings. We stayed in room 713 which had a wrap around private balcony that we LOVED! We've been to Waikiki 2 other times and stayed in other hotels. This was the first time we hardly heard sirens at night. The walk to Waikiki beach was a little long for my 6 year old but we made it. The hotel is close to a mile away from the Waikiki beach but is closer to the military beach (can't remember the name). Safe neigborhood. Parking is $25 a day but we researched all of Waikiki and that is the normal fare for parking. There is barely any street parking and it's always being used :( Staff was VERY friendly and remembered us each day even though the hotel was full. The pool was very nice, as well. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Address: 2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#64 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel Waikiki 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A year-round holiday paradise that blends contemporary comfort with tranquil ambiance, our Waikiki discount hotel is the perfect spot for family vacations, romantic getaways, or last-minute escapes. Delight in our private yet convenient location - just steps from Waikiki’s most popular shopping, restaurants and nightlife. Lounge by our sparkling pool or stroll over to gorgeous Waikiki Beach. Enjoy spacious, newly renovated accommodations appointed with all of the amenities of home. Come discover the warm hospitality that makes the Ambassador Waikiki the premier choice of Waikiki hotels among budget savvy travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Honolulu
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.