We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is best thing about it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel Waikiki to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #69 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Location is best thing about it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here for a night at the end of a trip to Hawaii, so we could catch an early flight. We had a family room with kitchen, which we didn't use. The decor was very tired but clean enough. Towels were old, small and thin. Even though we were on the 14th floor there was a lot of traffic noise. I used the business centre to check in for my flight, and the pcs were ancient and slow, with out of date browser software. When I tried to print my boarding pass the printer didn't work. On the plus side, it was close to downtown Waikiki. And there was parking. Didn't have much interaction with staff, but they were pleasant enough. It did the job, but one night was enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    41
    35
    12
    13
See reviews for
30
40
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is a little average for the price you pay, but does the trick if you are wanting to spend more of your time out on the mainland. It is in a good location, walking distance to most shops and bus stops.
There is only wifi in the lobby, which was pretty annoying.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

the location right in the heart of Waikiki beach is excellent, 5 min walk to the beaches, 10 minutes to the shopping centers, bus station in front,quiet surroundings at night, downstairs big convenience store and coffee shop, good pool 3rd fl, guest launderette check in/ check out fast and professional, very friendly staff the room was huge with 2 queens, balcony, iron and board, fully equipped kitchenette with big fridge, the in room safe is more than big enough for a 15' laptop, flatscreen tv, wired internet at the room, wifi in public area, it's not a new place but good maintained and absolutely clean, we will be back

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

It's a hotel in a good location and that's what we were looking for. Nothing fancy but for the price, we got what we expected. About a 15 minute walk from Duke's, etc. Bus stops all around to wherever you want to go. Used the "business center" to print boarding passes which was very handy. Must have been a fire station nearby as there were sirens much of the time. Our room was on the second floor and there were no stairs with one elevator out of service and two VERY slow elevators which really sucked.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. It's the best deal on the island. The room was a king bed with a balcony. It was very clean and housekeeping did a sensational job everyday. Within walking distance to everything. Staff is SUPER friendly and helpful with directions and things to do. Room is basic but if you're on Oahu to stay in the room, you're doing it wrong. Stay here! It's wonderful!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We booked this room for one night. We were vacationing in Maui but chose to see what Waikiki had to offer. The front desk receptionist were both amazing. They allowed us to check in a little early. Gave great suggestions on where to eat. We stayed in one of their Penthouse rooms. The room was clean but yet really didn't feel so clean. Not quit sure if it was the carpet or that the building in old. No wifi in the rooms only in the downstairs lobby. Although I booked for 6 I had to pay additional $30 for a rollaway due to not enough beds. The wrap around balcony was excellent we could see the ocean on onside and the mountains of the other. If you do book for a large party be prepared to share the ONE shower in one of the bedrooms. The restroom in hallway is only a two piece. I really think what made this an okay stay was that the staff was truly wonderful. The location is great it is in walking distance to everything. If you don't mind a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Do yourself a favor and stay here on your holiday.. Stayed 11 days and have no complaints.. Would recommend to everyone.. This is the best hotel deal around treat yourself... Staff was very nice and helped every time I needed them. Nice neat rooms no dust or mold.. Do it right and stay at this hotel..

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Address: 2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A year-round holiday paradise that blends contemporary comfort with tranquil ambiance, our Waikiki discount hotel is the perfect spot for family vacations, romantic getaways, or last-minute escapes. Delight in our private yet convenient location - just steps from Waikiki’s most popular shopping, restaurants and nightlife. Lounge by our sparkling pool or stroll over to gorgeous Waikiki Beach. Enjoy spacious, newly renovated accommodations appointed with all of the amenities of home. Come discover the warm hospitality that makes the Ambassador Waikiki the premier choice of Waikiki hotels among budget savvy travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Honolulu
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.