We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Save Saved
You added The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #20 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
fullerton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

The Royal Hawaiian Resort is he gorgeous place , this place everything is pink , from the towerls , building , even the uniforms ... the view is amazon , we live on the 10st oceanfront tower room , can see the Diamond head and wakiki beach , the beach is very private , the banana bread for the wellcome set at room , the must memoryable is the Aha Aina show at the resort . if I have change I wll come back again !

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    998
    449
    210
    75
    59
See reviews for
486
899
67
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a few days and loved it. The staff is terrific and they make your feel exceptionallly special. The attention to detail was the key and I would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone who is planning a trip to Honolulu and/or Waikiki Beach.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Me and my boyfriend took a trip to Oahu and were able to stay at the Royal Hawaiian using my hotel points. This place is gorgeous and everything's pink. From the towels to the uniforms to the lemonade (Hibiscus lemonade - they have it specially made for the hotel and it's delicious). The service was excellent, you were always greeted with a smile, and we got banana bread in our room when we got there :). The location was very convenient. Close to the bus stops if you're travelling on a budget. As for the rooms, like the other reviews, I'd advise asking for the historic building instead of the tower. The historic building just got renovated and everything has a unique taste about it. They're much smaller though, and it's harder to get an ocean view. All in all, we had a wonderful time there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

For the most part, the recent renovation of the Royal Hawaiian is brilliant. This hotel is often described as an oasis on Waikiki, and that is a spot on description. Shielded from busy Kalakaua Ave by the Royal Hawaiian Center, the hotel is cool and quiet. Service is top notch.

Couple of things though - we stayed in a Junior Suite in the old building. The bathroom, while small, is great quality and has top notch amenities. Bedroom is OK in size and has a very comfortable bed and a large HD TV. The airconditioning seems to be a very old unit and does not even have a thermostat. Even stranger, there was a sitting room attached to the bedroom, which had some chairs and a very comfortable sofa, but no air-conditioning!! Which meant that the bedroom would be nice and cool, but the sitting room was hot and stuffy. Very strange oversight in that side of the renovation...

The other unfortunate aspect of the renovation is how the hotel has allocated its beach-front space. They have replaced the wonderful open-air Surf Room a casual dining venue, with an enclosed fine dining restaurant. Cabanas have also been built in between this restaurant and the beach, thereby ruining the beach and Diamond Head views from the restaurant. There is a large flat lawn next to the Mai Tai Bar which doesn't appear to be used for anything and then a function room that never seemed used on the other wing. What this means is that the hotel almost seems like it has turned its back on the beach. It's a real shame and has destroyed the naturl human connection that should exist between Waikiki and the Royal Hawaiian.

And while we used the new large free-form pool that is shared between the Sheraton and the Royal Hawaiian, I laughed the first time I saw the Royal Hawaiian's own pool - could you build a smaller pool?!?!? It's not much bigger than a large spa! Ridiculous, particularly when you consider all that wasted space nearby...

However, those things aside, I would certainly stay there again, if only for the service, the atmosphere and the quietness, with all the advantages of being in the heart of Waikiki.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

My family fell in love with this hotel and if we are lucky to return to waikiki and can afford it we will stay here. Where to start, the staff, courteous, friendly, helpful, special mention to Rob (served drinks by the pool) he spoilt us and made the children feel welcome. I fell asleep by the pool and when I woke up there was a ice water next to me, thanks to Rob, he remebered our name and our friends names we met around the pool. Our kids are 11 and 13 and were happy to stay in this pool as opposed to the sheraton next door. Little things that you don't notice until you go over to the Sheraton to do the laundry or use the gym stand out to me. eg. When you go to the lift and press the button it arrives straight away, when you go to the concierge you get served, no lines, no queues. The Sheraton has about 10 lifts and you can wait a long time and they always had queues at their desks, it is very busy. The Royal Hawaiin is so peacful and relaxing. Free coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning and free bottled water at night in your very clean room with comfortable beds. To the management of the Royal Hawaiin, well done don't change a thing.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

We only stayed at this hotel for 2 nights but enjoyed the location. We stayed in the tower, 16th floor with a great view of Diamond Head and the ocean. Room seemed small but you couldn't beat the view. My only gripes: my husband and I were on the beach and they simply started closing up shop. Someone came and took our umbrella away with out saying a word. We also awoke on the second morning to sounds of our air conditioner vent dripping. The whole entry way was full of water and we mopped it up with towels and told management on our way out.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana farm
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

was great stay in great location, concierges could stand to be more knowledgeable as sent us to Polynesian Cultural Center on Sunday when closed. Other then that was great trip and stay. Will come again some day

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hawaiian, a Waikiki Beach Hotel, has Abhasa Spa, renowned restaurants, and a pool with a waterslide and cabanas. We have gorgeous indoor and outdoor event space for weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.