We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting sand in the bed and dirty sheets! We slept on the previous guests sheets yuck!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disgusting sand in the bed and dirty sheets! We slept on the previous guests sheets yuck!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Checked into the hotel yesterday arrived earlier in the day and was informed our room would not be ready until after 3pm which was fine as the was the check in time. But when going to bed At 10.30pm our bed was full of sand and had discovered the sheets had not been changed from the previous guests! Disgusting!!!!!!! I have never experienced this in any hotel ever and received a simple sorry from hotel management! SORRY doesn't cut it for a room which is $650 a night. I will be writing letters to the local government authorities and Sheraton head office upon my return home. Mr Edwards room 111

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    509
    234
    89
    65
See reviews for
546
973
76
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Staying at the Royal Hawaiian or "Pink Palace" on Waikiki beach over Xmas is a treat! Old school charm abounds with decorations and festivities. Am early 7am check in was a treat and the breaky overlooking the beach is well worth it.
The old wing of the hotel is perfect with high ceiling rooms and comfy hard beds. The bathrooms are small but suffice.
The beauty of this hotel is the way it has retained it's 1920's original retro Hawaiian vibe without being kitsch. It's got a chilled feel, the pool is not large either but elegant and close to the rolling waves of the beach anyway. This is my second stay and it won't be my last! Mahalo and see you next year!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is a treat for those with a sense of history. The service cannot be faulted and the hotel has the character of a bygone more glamorous era. It sits on the best bit of Waikiki beach and has an efficient yet peaceful bar and restaurant on the edge of the beach.
We highly recommend the (free) history tour of the hotel to get a sense of where you are. Even our video-games-addicted-teenage children were impressed.
Staying here you feel a bit like a museum exhibit as the more modern Waikiki hotels do take up every bit of available land around the Royal Hawaiian.
Our meals in both restaurants were excellent.
When you tell a taxi driver to take you to the Royal Hawaiian, you get a nod of approval and respect.

Room Tip: There is a 1960's wing if you need to see the ocean, the older rooms have views of the garden an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well, I will start by saying that we did not stay here during our time in Waikiki, but at a different facility at the lower end of the spectrum, and at a distance from the beach. However, each day, while my wife was at a medcial conference, I would stroll down to the Royal Hawaiian and walk the grounds, hang out in the lobby, watch people, and drink coffee - constantly fascinated by the grand architecture, Christmas decor, and attention to detail that extended to every corner. It was almost as if you were visiting another country.
We plan to return to Oahu, and next time we will be guests at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Do you want a legendary vacation paradise experience, or just a generic one? All of the "usual suspects" in the hotel industry blend into an indistinct mass these days, pumped up by the language of hype.

The Royal Hawaiian has been "the" place to stay on Waikiki since 1927. And unlike most other historic properties that tend to show their age, this one has tapped into the Fountain of Youth. Warren and Wetmore may have been white boys based in New York City, but they knew something about feng shui, This building fits the surrounding environment like few others in the world.

It is such a unique Twilight Zone experience to leave the frenetic energy of Kalakaua Blvd, filled with the same high end stores that any prosperous city has, and step into the unique, timeless grace of the Royal Hawaiian courtyard.

It truly was a lucky day when the Osano brothers bought this property from Sheraton in 1974. They understood what they had and proved worthy stewards, with their family continuing the tradition after they died.

The atmosphere of this hotel is totally Zen, with the hypnotic sound of the waves inducing immediate tranquility.The staff is world class, proud to be a part of this legend. The food is expensive, but well worth it. Every meal we have had here has been memorable, executed to perfection, exceeding all expectations.

I have been to Hawaii a number of times, visiting all the islands. Every trip has been most enjoyable. I love the history, traditions and true cultural diversity that exists here. But our RH stay has proven to be the best visit of all.

If you want a vacation that you always will remember, dig deeper, pay a bit more and stay at the RH. My father proudly served at the Naval Air Station here between 1942 and 1944. In those difficult times, the beach in front of this hotel was the place where he and members of his squadron would gather to spend their rare leisure time. 72 years later, the power of this place has not diminished in the least.

Room Tip: One with a view of the ocean is the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Previously we have stayed in the Topwer which overlooks Waikiki and is stunning but modern and this time we took the opportunity to try the older part of the hotel complete with its heavy hand carved doors.
The room layout was more traditional (smaller bathroom for example) but maintenance hadnt been kept up to date- fan and centre light didnt work, there was only one bedside light and the interior trimmings looked quite dated. The service offering is still head and shoulders better than other hotels and the staff are all genuinely interested in making their guests happy which is worth a lot. Overall still very good but time for management to reinvest in the infrastructure

Room Tip: Our experience says the Tower is still worth the premium but it might eb worth checking if they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Came hear 30 years ago for our honeymoon and have just returned to celebrate our 30 th wedding anniversary! Had forgotten how perfectly beautiful this place is. The staff were great and the hotel stunning. We stayed in the original building because we love the ambience and the history of the hotel and were not disappointed. Had hired arental car on arrival which we promptly returned the next day because we didn't want to leave the Royal Hawaiin. Total relaxation in paradise. The pool is a bit small but you are free to use the pools next door at the Sheraton, one is an amazing infinity pool with stunning views, and masses of sun lounges and stunning views, so you really are spoilt.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hawaiian, a Waikiki Beach Hotel, has Abhasa Spa, renowned restaurants, and a pool with a waterslide and cabanas. We have gorgeous indoor and outdoor event space for weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.