We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recent visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
“recent visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Beautiful property, an oasis away from busy Waikiki, although its in the center of it all. Have been coming to Oahu for years, never staying here but always coming back To see Susan at the Mai Tai bar. The bar staff are all excellent but Susan and Brydan are stand outs. The bar and restaurant are both great. Rooms are much nicer in the original building, the tower rooms could be any hotel. Great customer service, once you get past the check in process, which is extremely slow.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    485
    226
    84
    62
See reviews for
525
949
74
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in December and we had an excellent review. We came back to Oahu in September 2014 and stayed in its affiliate hotel next door but my husband and I still came to visit The Royal Hawaiian Hotel. And why not? This is a special place and everyone who comes to visit Hawaii, should at least explore this hotel.

The staff were as courteous as ever. My husband and I met with the same staff who worked for the hotel and they recognized us :) which was a really good feeling. We still feel welcomed.

The staff who cleaned our room (Sheraton Waikiki) told us that she worked for Royal Hawaiian but that sometimes she gets called to help this "sister hotel" when they have staffing needs. And when my husband asked here which hotel was her favorite, she said, without hesitation: "The Royal Hawaiian". Of course. This is truly a special place.

In fact, from where we stayed, every single time my husband and I look out of our window / balcony, the first structure we saw outside was the The Pink Palace :)

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have been to Hawaii about twelve or so different times, mainly to Oahu but also to Maui, Kauai and the Big Island. We almost always had our children with us and did not feel that we could afford the Royal Hawaiian until now. We were splurging a little to celebrate our 45th Wedding anniversary with a four night getaway. The hotel came as part of our Hawaiian Airlines flight package so we were able to fulfill another bucket list item by staying there. We had a two double beds in an Historic room. The room was updated and nice but not over the top in luxury that one might expect. We did not receive our complimentary muffins until we asked for them. We had to ask for an ice bucket as none was to be found in our room and we did not get a daily paper as some of the rooms in our hall (we did not ask for one but it would have been a nice courtesy to have). We could not find the complimentary coffee until our last day when we spotted it tucked behind some plants in an obscure hallway near the Surf Lanai Restaurant. The coffee was excellent and our two cups saved us from spending another $12 in the restaurant. It should be noted that the hotel charges a resort fee of $35 per room per day for these extras. We did not rent a car so the free parking included in the resort fee would have seemed more worthwhile. We did enjoy our two "complimentary" Mai Tai's from the bar - I took them to the room to drink one night when we were too tired to go out. The towels from the bathroom were very plush and a little on the heavy side but that was a good feature. The grounds were very lush and we enjoyed the beach access. We swam in the pool but we thought it a little on the small side. People had the habit of going down early to save the pool side loungers with a towel and book so it was hard to find an empty one on a whim but we felt very lucky on the day that we decided to swim to get two lounges side by side after we saw a couple leave early. The girl serving drinks at the pool was excellent and very attentive and personable. So were the bellmen for that matter - they were most helpful! We had one excellent breakfast and one mainly mediocre one on the day we left. In summary we were very glad to have gone once and fulfilled our bucket list.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Beautiful Classic (totally refurbished) Hotel in the heart of Waikiki. Wonderful hotel, restaurant, bar, shops and grounds. Centrally located and easy walking distance to beach, main shopping and restaurant district. Great service - except for slow check-in/out.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Royal is like a museum. You can feel the past and maybe by todays standards it's not really the luxury you would expect but the location, the service ( absolute great dorman crew ) is one of a kind. It's crazy busy, like everything on Waikiki but infront of the hotel is a great surf spot when there is a south swell.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

gorgeous hotel, gorgeous room, amazing views, fantastic service, wonderful for families!
we were there is september, my husband and i with our 4-year-old son. we had a tower king with an amazing view of diamond head. the food is superb- breakfast was above e and beyond most resorts- not your typical resort food. the smoothies are wonderful as is the selection of fresh fruit and juices and home-made banana bread. breakfast is served outside and after travelling all the way from new york, eating good food in beautiful setting every morning helped to ease the jet-lag. we had the best time at the water slide in the salt-water pool, and so did our son!
our room in the tower was very quiet and beautiful with spectacular views of the beach and diamond head. everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful. the only thing is your have to pay for the beach chairs- $20 for an hour or $40 for a full day, per person, per chair- expensive!

Room Tip: we loved our tower room, higher floors have better views. the room was very quiet, never any noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear RosieCreamer,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us as it allows for us to enhance and elevate our guest experience. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay at the Royal Hawaiian. It's always a joy for us to welcome families with children to the resort and we're so delighted that your little one enjoyed their stay as well. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to the Pink Palace of the Pacific in your next visit. Mahalo and warmest aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The property is on of Starwood's Luxury Collection. Located right on a sandy beach with all of the amenities.
Location 5*
Service 5*
Overall 3.5*: Concierge sent a wonderful email once we booked offering suggestions, information of airport transportation and beach activities including the ability to book lounge chair. And they also asked if their was anything else they could help us with. I emailed back that we had indeed booking the beach front chairs and the transportation and would they handle a few requests (foam pillows, etc). When we got to the hotel we found that the front desk, the concierge and housekeeping don't talk to each other because every request was not followed up on.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Jim R,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Royal. We are delighted to hear that you found our location in proximity to the beach. We do apologize that you found some dissatisfaction in the execution of our team personalizing your stay here at the Royal Hawaiian. It is very unusual for our team to overlook our guests’ requests and we are quite embarrassed by our shortfall. Your comments are very valuable to us so we will share them with our managers. Mahalo for your feedback and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to the Pink Palace of the Pacific. Warmest aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hawaiian, a Waikiki Beach Hotel, has Abhasa Spa, renowned restaurants, and a pool with a waterslide and cabanas. We have gorgeous indoor and outdoor event space for weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.