We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look elsewhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Save Saved
You added The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Look elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This is an old hotel that had a musty smell. Rooms are small and need to be updated. Staff is generally unfriendly and discourteous for a 5 star hotel. Long wait to check in and no real room accommodations. Had daily credit as part of our package, but failed to apply it after numerous trips down stairs to registration. Only real redeeming quality if the hotel is that it is right in the beach. There are other hotels on that side of the street that are also on the beach. I suggest you look into one of those other options

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    476
    222
    81
    62
See reviews for
516
934
73
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Mesa, CA.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel in Honolulu and had a room in the original part of the hotel. Nothing real fancy, view of the entrance to the hotel but very quiet despite the traffic coming and going. Room is not large, typical of older hotels but very well maintained. For a location next to the busiest street in Honolulu with constant ambulance, truck and fire department traffic the room was almost silent.

The lobby has a wonderful view of the beach and there is beach access from the hotel with a quite good resturant. There is immediate access to the beach and pool priviliges at the Sheraton Wakiki next door if you want to skip the sand and salt water.

We ate ate at their resturant, continental breakfast is included in the "resort fee" it was good, substantial and the setting is right on the beach. Lunch at the Azure resturant was well done and we certainly were not rushed or pushed. Dinner was good but not memorable. The outdoor Mai Tai Bar is nice if you like that sort of thing but gets a bit crowded.

Shops are high end so unless you are among the well heeled pick up your take back gifts at the shopping center attached to the street side of the hotel.

There is a new high rise wing attached at which we did not stay but it must have a view to die for from the ocean side rooms. As a hint for the frugal, next door in the Sheraton on the ground floor there is a Lawson's Station convenience store straight from Japan with excellent bento, oden, etc. at most reasonable prices.

A superior hotel, in a vastly superior location, but you must pay for what you get.

Room Tip: This is a grand hotel in the grand style. While ocean view rooms command a substantial premium the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Service was very good-- very friendly and accommodating. Ended up staying two extra nights during a very busy weekend. The bed and pillows were heavenly. Very clean. Food allergy friendly. Cannot speak any more highly of how friendly and kind the staff was!

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Amazing views, Ocean side is the best side.

Great location, fabulous services... First class all the way.

Waking up to sun, surf, and breakfast in bed.... What a great vacation!

And the staff is super about helping with arrangements for most anything.

Room Tip: Must stay in ocean facing rooms... it is the only way to go. The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanan, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our first time on Oahu, and traveling for our honeymoon, our travel agent wound up getting our reservation at the Royal Hawaiian. The staff was courteous and friendly, and the folks working the Concierge desk did a great job with setting us up for a couple of day trips as well as a luau. The accommodations were wonderful as we were in a room in the new section of the hotel with a wrap-around balcony allowing views of both the beach and the garden. My thanks to the staff for making our honeymoon so memorable!

Room Tip: Our corner room had a wonderful view as I mentioned, views will either include the beach or the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location, great property. Exceptional beach services, very friendly, great instructors. Great breakfast at the Surf Lani. Exceptional cocktails at the Mai Tai Bar! Susan and Brydan are both outstanding and make the best mai tai in all of Waikiki!

Room Tip: While the Tower rooms have amazing views, they have a very different feel than the historic rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed 4 nights using points and cash. As others have already said, it's a gorgeous hotel. Although it's located in one of the busiest section of Waikiki, you wouldn't know it from the way the hotel is configured. It is set back from the main drag. Although the room we had a standard bedroom, the high ceilings made the room appear bigger.

We enjoyed their fabulous cocktails and mai-tai at the mai-tai bar. On one of the evenings we watched a show for free from the bar.

Everyone was friendly at the hotel. We mistakenly got on line at the Sheraton next door, and it was a zoo. The check-in line was a mess. Once we realized we were in the wrong building, we walked over to the RH and noticed the dramatic difference in atmosphere and attitude.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hawaiian, a Waikiki Beach Hotel, has Abhasa Spa, renowned restaurants, and a pool with a waterslide and cabanas. We have gorgeous indoor and outdoor event space for weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.