We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, nice room, great service, good beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, nice room, great service, good beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It is not often you get to stay at a hotel that has everything going for it but I must say the Royal Hawaiian is that hotel. We stayed with our two children in the main hotel. We had two garden view rooms that were very large. Only gripe in our room was the bathroom - it was smaller than the walk in closet.

It is a 5 star experience at this property, service has been excellent. The hotel itself is on one of the nice stretches of Waikiki beach. We made the mistake of staying at the Halekulani on our last visit and not having a real beach is a major negative.

I would highly recommend renting a car (valet parking is covered by the resort fee) so that you can get out and explore quieter parts of Oahu. I would also recommend using the facilities at the Sheraton. Royal Hawaiian guests have free run at the Sheraton and we have enjoyed the breakfast buffet, kids pool with water slide and Rum bar while visiting.

All-in-all a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear damquat,
We're absolutely delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We truly appreciate your kind comment regarding our 5 star service and we're thrilled that you and your family also took full advantage of the Helumoa Playground at Sheraton Waikiki. We certainly love Waikiki, but we also think it's well worth it to explore the other parts of this beautiful island, we're thrilled that you took the time to do this as well. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hawaiian,
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,145
    533
    240
    95
    68
See reviews for
570
1,004
77
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in June the service was excellent. We have been coming to Hawaii for many years and we make a point of staying at the Royal Hawaiian . It is a true luxury experience in terms of hotel service!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear rwood527,
First and foremost, thank you for your continued loyalty to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We truly appreciate your very kind comments regarding your recent stay with us and we look forward to extending our signature hospitality to you again soon.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just stayed here for 4 days with my 4 and 7 year old. From my research I knew what to expect and was not surprised. The location is great right on Waikiki. And the fact that the Sheraton is right next door and you get use of their pool is the best feature if you are with kids. The RH pool is not that big and the beach is where you should spend your time instead. I knew not to expect an upgrade and our 2 double bed room was tight with the 4 of us. Since most of our time in the room was sleeping in retrospect the Sheraton Waikiki would have been a better option. Staff was very nice and we had to dinners at the Mai Tai bar which provided a nice atmosphere and a good option with exhausted kids. If going to one of the restaurants around the hotel I suggest a reservation or putting your name down early. There are a lot of tourists so the lines get long.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear ghia74,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us; with two children, we know your time is precious and we truly appreciate that you took a moment to share your experience with us. We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed our location as well as our aquatic playground, Helumoa Pool at Sheraton Waikiki. We hope you had the opportunity to enjoy Waikiki's best burger while dining at our Mai Tai Bar. During the summer months the restaurants can be busy and we appreciate you sharing your tip with others regarding reservations, as this always eases the timing for our guests. We thank you again for your time in writing a review and we hope to welcome you back to The Royal Hawaiian.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Lots of pros and a few cons but the biggest reason to stay aside from the cool pinked out historicalness is the unparalleled location. RH sits on the best patch of Waikiki Beach with nice easy access for swimming, SUP, gentle surf, water sports and of course everything else Waikiki offers (Dining, Touring and Shopping etc.). We did not receive the welcome many other Guests have reported (no pink drink, no towel etc. on arrival) and the Reception Staff seemed put out but we discovered later there was a large Psych Convention in town that possibly put them off their game. Rumor was 14-20K for this Event alone. Our room wasn't ready because of the prior Guest not removing their belongings so we were offered an "upgrade" which was technically a higher priced room but set up with two Double beds. It was a good try on their part to get us settled into a Room ASAP and I'm guessing most people would jump at the Penthouse opportunity but we had booked a large two story King Spa Suite so two small beds on a higher floor wasn't appealing. Off to the Mai Tai Bar we went while our room was readied...

So after one week-here's the highs and lows...
The Hotel although iconic doesn't feel like a true "Luxury" property-it's smaller and cozier not super posh (not that it's a bad thing). What is impressive are some of the original public spaces, grand entry and view. It IS pretty, well maintained, the grounds and plant material are lovely and the Staff was great but nothing above and beyond or equal to what we have experienced at other properties on the Island. Not bad mind you but just not true 5 star. We were celebrating with a week long stay (Birthdays) and received a Happy Birthday when registering and that was about it.
Neither one of us was expecting any fanfare but other comparably priced Suites we have stayed in provided a small amenity, fruit display, orchids scattered on a washcloth, seashells, little sweet bite of chocolate, split of wine, magazines, casual invite to meet the GM over a Cocktail, flowers or some little token bits just as the ordinary course of business without being notified of any special occasion. Oh well as I said not expected but those are the little things that say a lot even if you're a jaded traveler.

Pros-Historical Architecture and all the Character that goes with, Best location, Comfortable, Convenient, relatively quiet minus the Construction near our Suite, Lei welcome, nice toiletries, Beach Boys/Beach Services for Chairs/Umbrellas and activities, *****Fine Dining at Azure (and Staff), Mai Tai Bar (and Staff), Mr. and Mrs. So and So Helloooooo (everywhere you go) greeting policy, Boutiques, Beach and Hotel don't feel crowded even when quite busy, no TV at the Bar or Restaurant-extra major bonus points for that!!! We especially loooved Azure from start to finish and ALL their Service Staff-Bartenders, Waiters, Rest. Manager were so pleasant and professional. Breakfast service was efficient and flawless too-again Kudos to the Resty Staff.

Cons-Check in minus Lei greeting was frenetic, we were not given the most minimal orientation to the Resort and facilities despite Staff verbally acknowledging this was our first visit-pointing out or mentioning the Spa, Resort happenings, Luau, or daily activities would be appropriate or at the very least something placed in the Room informing Guests of what's going on, "Spa" Suite was spacious but dark and no bathtub :-( also very loud HVAC and the patio was too smelly and noisy to use because of Construction site Generators parked just to the West of us outside..bummer..
Spaghetti tangle of cords everywhere such as off the back of Flat Screen and running electrical throughout Room, Paper tickets....awkward and antiquated paper tickets to redeem for Breakfasts and 1 free Mai Tai. Nothing remotely upscale about having to present two little pieces of paper for Breakfast when it would be infinitely easier to either establish a per day per person credit for whatever would be appropriate for a certain Room Category or just provide a basic Continental downstairs and let it go at that. Mai Tai Bar-tenders were cheerful and happy but when they saw anyone bust out their free drink coupon they looked like the "before" face on an antidepressant commercial.
Housekeeping..was very very very thorough but very late in the day sometimes finishing 30-60 minutes before turndown even though we left our Room each day in the early AM. No fault of the Staff of course just think the obvious cure is more Housekeeping Staff to get it done.

In summary-yes I would absolutely stay here again because the property is still beautiful, our total experience was very very enjoyable and the fine dining experience (Azure) is now one of our two HI fancy favorites.
Aside from the minimal negatives- what's good is VERY good. I can't compare it to luxury properties in other cities because it's more about the natural beauty of the location here and it's the Beach so you automatically don't need to be as chichi.. Solid 4 stars but I think it could easily be the best Waikiki Resort with a little creativity, some unexpected niceties, dialing in some of the aesthetics and since most of the Staff we encountered already had the energy and skills to get there I'm hoping they entertain getting a paperless Breakfast plus a few other little things sorted out. The Staff and location are its strengths and that is enough but why not whomp when you can.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Challenger007,
Thank you so very, very much for your thorough review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We apologize that your arrival experience was anything less than exceptional, and we appreciate your honest feedback, which allows us to coach our ambassadors to ensure consistent and excellent service is delivered to our guests. Thank you for your suggestion regarding the Mai Tai welcome drink and complimentary breakfast; these are just the types of comments that allow us to elevate our service to exceed our guests' expectations. We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed our location as well as Azure Restaurant. Thank you for your kind comment regarding our friendly ambassadors; we truly appreciate this. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hawaiian.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

If you like being on Waikiki, this hotel has the best location and has easy access to high end brands. The hefty price tag I believe is for the location. The rooms are basic, lobby is nothing to write home about and the pool is a tea cup!

You have to pay resort fees and yet don't get free umbrellas or deck chairs on the beach! They do give you 1 hr free international call, but seriously, how often would you use that if you are on vacation? It's impossible to get a deck chair around the tea cup size pool.

The rooms are basic, bed too soft, and small for the price tag.

But great location as it has easy access to malls and the beach.

When we were there, the beach bar smelt like rotten garbage around the bar.

There's no baggage holding service.

On the overall, just an average experience with no pleasantries for the price tag.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear KK,
It's with great regret that we learn of your less than exceptional experience at The Royal Hawaiian. We apologize for the unpleasant experience you had at our Mai Tai Bar, as this is most certainly unacceptable. We understand the frustration with the pool and beach chaises and appreciate your feedback regarding your concerns in this area. We hope that you were able to utilize the larger pool at our sister property Sheraton Waikiki, as our guest have access to Helumoa Playground. In regards to baggage holding, our bellman will gladly hold luggage while pre and post check-out; and we truly apologize is this was not communicated to you during your stay. Please know that we appreciate and value your feedback. We hope you will consider providing us with another opportunity to extend our hospitality to you.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

After arriving with baby in tow, my husband and I checked in at The Royal Hawaiian and was greeted by the nicest lady Melani, who was so sweet, warm, helpful and accommodating to our needs. Our Garden room was fantastic making our stay even more comfortable than expected. The hotel is an oasis from the hustle & bustle of Waikiki. The restaurants, Maitai Bar, were all great...beachside was beautiful. View was impeccable. I do like the fact that the hotel charges for the beach chair with umbrellas so there's no abuse of the system (which exists poolside). If people are complaining about $40 a day (2 chairs), it's ridiculous. Just divide it per hour and get over it...it gives you convenience and exclusivity. Anyway, loved it, miss it, and will be back again. Thanks for a wonderful stay at your hotel...Kudos for being top notch!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Nina B,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We're most delighted to learn that your stay exceeded your expectations! Thank you for your kind note regarding Melani; we'll most certainly share your praises for her with the team. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great Location, Excellent Friendly Staff....exceed my expectations......we lodged in the Garden Suite Room....the room was not a modern room....but had a closed room with a bath room and a living room with an extra bathroom ...with were able to add 2 Rollaways for my kids....The hotel restaurant is delicious and the whole stay was lovely.....everybody wanted to serve us!!! The pool is a bit small....but the premises of the hotel are so tropical.....The Sheraton sister hotel is right next to the Royal so you can use their pool which makes up for the Royal Hawaiian pool.....Every touch at this hotel is excellent......Bravo to all the staff....

Room Tip: I always like ocean view room but this room was lovely with a garden view.... but if you like the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Nancy L,
We're absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Thank you for your very kind words regarding our friendly ambassadors; this means a lot to us and we truly appreciate it. We're thrilled that you and your family took advantage of the Helumoa aquatic playground at Sheraton Waikiki - the children just love it there don't they! We hope to welcome you back to the "Pink Palace of the Pacific" in the near future.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hawaiian, a Waikiki Beach Hotel, has Abhasa Spa, renowned restaurants, and a pool with a waterslide and cabanas. We have gorgeous indoor and outdoor event space for weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.