We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Save Saved
You added The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #22 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Watertown, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tropical City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This review is way over due! Been there with my husband four years ago, we first were in Maui for 5 nights and landed in the wonderful Honolulu for 5 nights as well. This hotel is amazing, it is luxurious in every way. The pool bar has the best appetizers and marga pizza ever! This is a great spot its so peaceful and then leaving the hotel is a city life with a whole bunch of places to walk to. I loved the ABC stores, they had almost anything that you might need for very cheap prices. You get both of both worlds a peaceful yet party kind of atmosphere!

Room Tip: High Ocean View Rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Edona A,
Thank you so very much for your delightful review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are elated to learn that you had an exceptional experience here with us and we appreciate your honest and enthusiastic comments. We hope to welcome you back to The Royal Hawaiian soon.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,023
    467
    219
    80
    60
See reviews for
506
921
72
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

From the moment you enter the foyer, the expansive lobby and the view through to Waikiki Beach you know this is going to be a good stay. The rooms are tastefully decorated, with all your needs met. Fresh Banana Bread complete wit the recipe was brought to our room within half an hour of check-in. The hotel is quiet despite the fact it is in one of the busiest areas of Waikiki. The formal dining restaurant is excellent, good wines, great food and excellent service.

Room Tip: We have had a 'garden room' both times. Very tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear 210Lori48,
We are absolutely thrilled to learn that had an exceptional experience with us here at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the fresh banana bread and we hope that you will find time to try the recipe yourself! We may be a little bias, but we also agree that our dining options at Azure, Surf Lanai and the Mai Tai Bar are excellent. We truly appreciate your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon to the "Pink Palace of the Pacific."
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I’d always wanted to stay here, so this time we saved up and treated ourselves to a stay at this amazing hotel! The architecture, the history, the attention to detail, everything was perfect! The staff was professional and friendly, the food was great. And it’s right on the beach! I can’t even begin to relate all the little things that made this hotel so perfect – so just go… see for yourself. Even if its just stopping by the Mai Tai Bar for a mai tai at sunset! The Surf Lanai Bar has a Pink Haupia Cake that's one of the best things I’ve ever eaten! Yes, I’m being very enthusiastic, but it really was amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear TravelDreamsAgency,
We are elated to learn that you had an exceptional experience with us here at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Thank you for sharing you appreciation for our hotel's design and decor, as our team takes great pride and care in preserving this historical building, and we are truly delighted when our guests share this with us. Call us bias, but we must agree with you that our Mai Tai Bar and Surf Lanai offer wonderfully delicious options and unmatched views. We hope to welcome you again soon to the "Pink Palace of the Pacific."
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

It felt I was stepping back in time to 1927 when I walked through the halls and grounds of the historic building. Got a AAA rate and fantastic view on 2 large adjoining rooms on the 5th floor Royal Grove section. Rooms were charming, each slightly different. Great views. Quiet. Yes, the bathrooms are on the small side, but that's the charm of staying in piece of history.
Beach location can't be beat. Diamond Head is right there.... like a post card.
I love the ability to rent our beach chairs. People seem to be unhappy with this on the reviews, but I personally hate having to fight for a chair at hotels. Going on line and booking our chairs in advance was worth every penny. No matter what time we came down, or what we did in between... those chairs were ours for the day!
Staff was great and hotel was walking steps to everything. I can't think of a bad thing to say. I don't really care for the noise of Waikiki that much, but when you step onto the RH property, you do feel like it is an oasis of peace and privacy from all the hustle and bustle. We have stayed elsewhere, but now would never consider staying anywhere but the RH when we are in Waikiki.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear RonaBu,
We are absolutely delighted to learn that you had an exceptional experience here with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We take much care and pride in upholding the unmatched design and rich history of the hotel and we truly appreciate your admiration for this world-famous building and our preservation efforts. We are happy to learn that you found our beach chair service convenient and we couldn't agree more that the views of Waikiki Diamond Head are like being in a postcard. We look forward to extending our warm hospitality to you again soon.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

At first we did not plan on taking our two kids (4 and 1 years old) with us to Hawaii but ending up having to. We were nervous at first but concierge Kelli found us a crib and microwave as well as a trustworthy babysitter for us for a night.

The rest of the staff was always helpful and responsive.

The beach is perfect and would suggest renting the chairs and umbrella to claim your spot. We did go next door to the shears ton for free where they have multiples the pools and waterslides as the RH only had a small pool meant more for reading a book or suntanning.

The restaurants are pricey but that's to be expected I guess.

We would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear marq33,
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Thank you for sharing your lovely words regarding Kelli; traveling with children is most certainly challenging and we're thankful that you took time to note our resorts family friendly atmosphere. We truly appreciate the time you took to submit this review and we look forward to extending our warm hospitality to you and your family again.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Can't deny the history, and you can take some great photo's just in the hallways.
Check in is nice, I like the desk.
We usually get u/g'd to a suite but I prefer the tower rooms (also love the automated Japanese toilet seats) cuz I like a balcony with a view.
Pool is small but not overrun like the Sheraton's next door.
But it is beyond appalling that they have instituted a $40/day charge for 2 beach chairs and an umbrella at a resort of this calibre and cost.
The BS they fed us was customer's were tired of not getting the chairs. Well this wasn't an issue now as most people give them a big middle finger to this charge. This is a cash grab pure and simple. This will probably be our last stay at the property (we've been 3 other times as well) because of this new policy. It's not the $ its the principle. Sad this was always one of our fave places to stay.

Room Tip: I prefer the tower rooms, just because of the balcony and they view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Margesmister,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are delighted to learn that you enjoy the hotel's unmatched design and rich history. As one might assume, we're certainly disappointed to learn your displeasure with our current beach chair reservation and booking program; as you mentioned, the decision was one based on feedback from our guests and beach service ambassadors regarding the challenges faced with chairs being reserved very early in the morning, leaving many guests without the opportunity to utilize the beach chairs. Please know, however that your feedback is valuable and will most certainly be incorporated in the instance that our Beach Service offerings are changed or updated. We truly regret to learn that you are questioning your decision to stay with us on your next trip to Waikiki. We hope that you will reconsider and allow us to extend our aloha to you again.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberts creek
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Over many years of traveling to Hawaii we have often wished we could stay here-and well now that we have finally done it here is the report: this hotel has everything you could want and more!
The service is impeccable, the food is really good etc etc but there are two things about this hotel that stand out and maybe both go together but one is the character-this is not one of your modern smoothies, but a real classic hotel with history. The other is the bar and in case you don't know, this is where -they claim anyways-that Mai-Tai's were invented. The bar at sunset with a Royal Mai Tai in your hand is one of the several things you have to do before you die! Of course you have to wear your Panama hat purchased from the hotel shop but try to stick with the lower priced version unless you really have the $$ to blow on the $20,000 version!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Gmilne8868,
We are absolutely delighted that you fulfilled your longtime desire to stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Moreover, we are so pleased to learn that your stay with us was exceptional. We truly appreciate your recommendation for our Mai Tai Bar and we are thrilled that you loved the Royal Mai Tai - in our bias opinion, it is the absolute best. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to our next opportunity to extend our hospitality to you.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hawaiian, a Waikiki Beach Hotel, has Abhasa Spa, renowned restaurants, and a pool with a waterslide and cabanas. We have gorgeous indoor and outdoor event space for weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.