We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Save Saved
You added The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #18 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful and luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

From the moment you enter the foyer, the expansive lobby and the view through to Waikiki Beach you know this is going to be a good stay. The rooms are tastefully decorated, with all your needs met. Fresh Banana Bread complete wit the recipe was brought to our room within half an hour of check-in. The hotel is quiet despite the fact it is in one of the busiest areas of Waikiki. The formal dining restaurant is excellent, good wines, great food and excellent service.

Room Tip: We have had a 'garden room' both times. Very tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear 210Lori48,
We are absolutely thrilled to learn that had an exceptional experience with us here at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the fresh banana bread and we hope that you will find time to try the recipe yourself! We may be a little bias, but we also agree that our dining options at Azure, Surf Lanai and the Mai Tai Bar are excellent. We truly appreciate your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon to the "Pink Palace of the Pacific."
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    937
    420
    203
    71
    56
See reviews for
458
844
64
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I’d always wanted to stay here, so this time we saved up and treated ourselves to a stay at this amazing hotel! The architecture, the history, the attention to detail, everything was perfect! The staff was professional and friendly, the food was great. And it’s right on the beach! I can’t even begin to relate all the little things that made this hotel so perfect – so just go… see for yourself. Even if its just stopping by the Mai Tai Bar for a mai tai at sunset! The Surf Lanai Bar has a Pink Haupia Cake that's one of the best things I’ve ever eaten! Yes, I’m being very enthusiastic, but it really was amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear TravelDreamsAgency,
We are elated to learn that you had an exceptional experience with us here at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Thank you for sharing you appreciation for our hotel's design and decor, as our team takes great pride and care in preserving this historical building, and we are truly delighted when our guests share this with us. Call us bias, but we must agree with you that our Mai Tai Bar and Surf Lanai offer wonderfully delicious options and unmatched views. We hope to welcome you again soon to the "Pink Palace of the Pacific."
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

It felt I was stepping back in time to 1927 when I walked through the halls and grounds of the historic building. Got a AAA rate and fantastic view on 2 large adjoining rooms on the 5th floor Royal Grove section. Rooms were charming, each slightly different. Great views. Quiet. Yes, the bathrooms are on the small side, but that's the charm of staying in piece of history.
Beach location can't be beat. Diamond Head is right there.... like a post card.
I love the ability to rent our beach chairs. People seem to be unhappy with this on the reviews, but I personally hate having to fight for a chair at hotels. Going on line and booking our chairs in advance was worth every penny. No matter what time we came down, or what we did in between... those chairs were ours for the day!
Staff was great and hotel was walking steps to everything. I can't think of a bad thing to say. I don't really care for the noise of Waikiki that much, but when you step onto the RH property, you do feel like it is an oasis of peace and privacy from all the hustle and bustle. We have stayed elsewhere, but now would never consider staying anywhere but the RH when we are in Waikiki.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear RonaBu,
We are absolutely delighted to learn that you had an exceptional experience here with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We take much care and pride in upholding the unmatched design and rich history of the hotel and we truly appreciate your admiration for this world-famous building and our preservation efforts. We are happy to learn that you found our beach chair service convenient and we couldn't agree more that the views of Waikiki Diamond Head are like being in a postcard. We look forward to extending our warm hospitality to you again soon.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

At first we did not plan on taking our two kids (4 and 1 years old) with us to Hawaii but ending up having to. We were nervous at first but concierge Kelli found us a crib and microwave as well as a trustworthy babysitter for us for a night.

The rest of the staff was always helpful and responsive.

The beach is perfect and would suggest renting the chairs and umbrella to claim your spot. We did go next door to the shears ton for free where they have multiples the pools and waterslides as the RH only had a small pool meant more for reading a book or suntanning.

The restaurants are pricey but that's to be expected I guess.

We would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear marq33,
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Thank you for sharing your lovely words regarding Kelli; traveling with children is most certainly challenging and we're thankful that you took time to note our resorts family friendly atmosphere. We truly appreciate the time you took to submit this review and we look forward to extending our warm hospitality to you and your family again.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Can't deny the history, and you can take some great photo's just in the hallways.
Check in is nice, I like the desk.
We usually get u/g'd to a suite but I prefer the tower rooms (also love the automated Japanese toilet seats) cuz I like a balcony with a view.
Pool is small but not overrun like the Sheraton's next door.
But it is beyond appalling that they have instituted a $40/day charge for 2 beach chairs and an umbrella at a resort of this calibre and cost.
The BS they fed us was customer's were tired of not getting the chairs. Well this wasn't an issue now as most people give them a big middle finger to this charge. This is a cash grab pure and simple. This will probably be our last stay at the property (we've been 3 other times as well) because of this new policy. It's not the $ its the principle. Sad this was always one of our fave places to stay.

Room Tip: I prefer the tower rooms, just because of the balcony and they view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Margesmister,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are delighted to learn that you enjoy the hotel's unmatched design and rich history. As one might assume, we're certainly disappointed to learn your displeasure with our current beach chair reservation and booking program; as you mentioned, the decision was one based on feedback from our guests and beach service ambassadors regarding the challenges faced with chairs being reserved very early in the morning, leaving many guests without the opportunity to utilize the beach chairs. Please know, however that your feedback is valuable and will most certainly be incorporated in the instance that our Beach Service offerings are changed or updated. We truly regret to learn that you are questioning your decision to stay with us on your next trip to Waikiki. We hope that you will reconsider and allow us to extend our aloha to you again.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberts creek
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Over many years of traveling to Hawaii we have often wished we could stay here-and well now that we have finally done it here is the report: this hotel has everything you could want and more!
The service is impeccable, the food is really good etc etc but there are two things about this hotel that stand out and maybe both go together but one is the character-this is not one of your modern smoothies, but a real classic hotel with history. The other is the bar and in case you don't know, this is where -they claim anyways-that Mai-Tai's were invented. The bar at sunset with a Royal Mai Tai in your hand is one of the several things you have to do before you die! Of course you have to wear your Panama hat purchased from the hotel shop but try to stick with the lower priced version unless you really have the $$ to blow on the $20,000 version!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Gmilne8868,
We are absolutely delighted that you fulfilled your longtime desire to stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Moreover, we are so pleased to learn that your stay with us was exceptional. We truly appreciate your recommendation for our Mai Tai Bar and we are thrilled that you loved the Royal Mai Tai - in our bias opinion, it is the absolute best. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to our next opportunity to extend our hospitality to you.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the second time I’ve stayed at the Royal Hawaiian, but first review I’m writing. My wife and I stayed 8 nights, plenty long enough for an accurate review of the hotel. Starting from the beginning, the front desk staff checked us in quickly and we were off to our room without any problems or guesswork. They appeared to be more confident, knowledgeable and much faster with guests today than during our first stay in late 2011.

The room:
We had a room on the 16th floor (1605) in the beach tower. The beach tower is comprised of 17 floors (the 17th floor is mostly suites and a penthouse) however all rooms have a fantastic view of the ocean, beach and Waikiki. The room we had was 350 square feet and had a healthy sized balcony with chairs and table. The room had a king bed, flat screen TV, small fridge that didn’t work too well and a bathroom with tub/shower. The bed and pillows were super comfortable and I felt like I got some great sleep most of the time. The rooms were all updated a few years ago, but seem to be a little rough around the edges. For example, the Air Conditioning is unusually loud and you can hear/feel the loud whistling draft coming from underneath the front door. When you leave your room, make sure to pull the door shut, as we found out that if you don’t, it will not close all the way and could be a bad situation. The furniture was clean, but had some food/drink stains. The adjustable showerhead was loose and kept sliding down the pole it was attached to. It was a minor annoyance, but I had to ask maintenance to fix it a few times…nothing really helped. I would give the room quality an 8/10, but hey you’ll be spending most of the time outside of your room, so this shouldn’t reflect too poorly.

The beach:
The beach is amazing and has everything for everyone. The hotel has a small round swimming pool, big hot tub and plenty of chairs (free) surrounding the pool to lounge in. The beach bar is very nice and the service is quick, but the drinks can be expensive ($12 USD for a mai tai). If someone is trying to be conscientious with their drink money, you may want to stop at the ABC store to grab drinks instead. There’s a place next to the pool where you can rent SUP, surfboards, etc. The beach is safe and the water is fantastic. You can walk 200-300 feet into the water and it’s only 3-4 feet deep. Very cool if you don’t swim or hate deep water. Oh, we also saw a sea turtle swimming around but kept our distance. It was really cool seeing that turtle swimming around. One immediate drawback is that the beach umbrella and chairs used to be free for RY guests, but now they charge $40 USD for the day or $20 USD for half-day after 2pm. You can also rent beach equipment from other vendors, but the prices are all pretty high ($25-$35 USD for the day).

The property:
Wow, TRY is the second oldest hotel in Waikiki and has such an amazing iconic feel. You can sit in the rocking chairs in the hall way and just people watch, feel the warm tropical breeze and totally relax. We spent lots of time just walking around the resort, looking at the history and art, amazed by the huge trees in the courtyard and most of all just relaxing. The property has a few high-end shops close to the front desk, but the real benefit is that the hotel is right next door to the Royal Hawaiian Shopping center where you can buy anything from a shortbread cookie to a Rolex President 18K gold watch. They also have a great food selection over there. Here’s an idea: For breakfast, head over to Island Vintage Coffee and get acai bowl (fruit, honey, banana, granola), island plate (rice, eggs, sausage, fruit) and island latte (hint of coconut). I promise this will not disappoint and it’s super close to the hotel. The restaurant Azure within TRH is nice okay breakfast, but too expensive for lunch/dinner and not really enough choice, so I would pass. We ate at Dukes and Hula Grill (next door) and house without a key (next door on the other side). Also, I’d skip the Italian restaurant Il Lupino Trattoria & Wine Bar…tourist trap and mediocre food.

Rental car and other stuff: If you rent a car from the airport, the daily resort fee ($35 USD) includes valet parking which is nice. If you don’t want to get a car from the airport, there’s one office at the Outrigger Reef, a 10 minute beach walk from TRH. Make sure to drive around the island, it’s about 4-5 hours and a really fun experience to get out of the touristy Waikiki area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Audifanatic,
We are absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We truly appreciate your very thorough and well-written review; we can see you took quite a bit of time on this and we are very impressed with your attention to detail regarding your experience. We do apologize that you experienced some challenges with the shower in your room and appreciate your noting that our maintenance ambassadors assisted with repair. Again, we truly appreciate the time you took to write this review and we hope to welcome you back to The Royal for another exceptional experience in paradise.
Warm aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Hotel
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hawaiian, a Waikiki Beach Hotel, has Abhasa Spa, renowned restaurants, and a pool with a waterslide and cabanas. We have gorgeous indoor and outdoor event space for weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.