We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place for a family get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful place for a family get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The most beautiful Hawaiian-style hotel out there. It is the closest you will get to an authentic experience. The architecture is in traditional Hawaiian style and their Hawaiian luau every Monday is SPECTACULAR. The best one I've ever been to bar none. It is so classy and the food and entertainment is just perfect. The service is pretty good at this hotel but it's the beautifully designed and decorated rooms, the amazing setting on the waikiki ocean front, surrounded by beautiful indigenous Hawaiian plants, the luxurious spa, and the great food options that make this place top-notch.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,115
    517
    237
    91
    65
See reviews for
557
987
76
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our daughter recommend that we spend our three nights in Oahu at the Royal Hawaiian. Once again she was right. An old classic that has kept it's charm in the middle of Waikiki. Once on the grounds it is quiet and peaceful. No sounds are heard in our room. We chose one of the less expensive rooms, and the view is not great. they offered to change us, but not much better until you spend more money. Resort fee is high, but includes excellent WiFi and free valet parking. Service is quietly excellent. Beachside breakfast was very good and greatly enjoyed! If you enjoy "classics" try this one if it is within your budget.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms look at a lot of roofs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I agree with another reviewer - you either love or hate Waikiki! Its a busy beach side holiday with large hotels side by side and a long stretch of luxury shopping and restaurants on your doorstep. The Royal Hawaiian stands out amongst the pack given its unique pink style and charm where everything else in Waikiki is a biege highrise. Its beautiful, on the best part of Waikiki beach and ocean view rooms are worth the extra cost. The rooms are a little tired but perfectly comfortable and adequate with large bathrooms and a mini fridge which allow for a few drinks on your balcony as the sun goes down. The main disappointment was the addition "resort fee" on top of the room rate and to use the beach chairs would cost more on top of that! Being a guest of the hotel I would have expected full use of those - even if you had to reserve - but not for $40 per day extra. Only the pool chairs were complimentary. I would probably stay again but would keep my eye out for a deal of some sort or would try to visit a more remote island of Hawaii instead

Room Tip: loved the ocean view room in the tower section of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The Pink Lady is ideally located on Waikiki. Staff was very friendly. You can see Diamond Head from your balcony! Located to shopping area and lots of restaurants! Stunning rooms, very clean and definitely luxurious!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

First of all, Waikiki is a unique place and people either love it or hate it. I happen to be someone who loves it, staying in Waikiki is like staying in the middle of a huge city with all the conveniences of a metropolis but a location that is right on the beach. If you want to stay in Waikiki but you still want to feel like you are at a beach resort then the Royal Hawaiian is a good choice. The hotel doesn't feel crowded like some of the other mega hotels on the beach even though you are in the heart of Waikiki beach. It does have drawbacks of having to pay for beach chairs which were free until about a year ago and having to pay the rip off "resort fee" that is just a mandatory fee which should be included in your room rate if these hotels were honest. Aside from that, it is a very good property, and when you're sitting at the beach bar with a delicious mai tai looking out over the ocean and diamond head it's hard to not enjoy the experience.

The pool is small like most pools in Waikiki, but it still feels exclusive and I never had a problem getting a chair in the late afternoon. The fitness center is small but functional with top notch equipment. We had a room in the tower with an ocean view and it was great. I like the tower because you are guaranteed a balcony and an ocean view but I can also see the appeal of staying in the more historic rooms in the old wing of the hotel, it's like a trip back in time to what was a luxurious hotel for movie stars and royalty in the "good old days". The public areas are all well maintained, the carpets in the long hallway are particularly impressive as well as the row of rocking chairs overlooking the never crowded gardens. All in all the Royal Hawaiian is a good choice for a solid resort stay in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Go for the tower rooms to ensure a balcony and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

You arrive through a beautiful courtyard shaded by giant Ironwood trees. A plaque at the base of the highest tree describes Mark Twain's impression of the island."No other land could so longingly and so beseechingly haunt me, sleeping and waking,, through half a lifetime.. other things leave me, but it abides.. other things change but it remains the same.
The Doorman greets you dressed in a pink suit with gold epaulettes "Aloha Oe"
Once reistered you will be escorted to the elevator lobby. Opposite is an exquisite wall painting of an ancient map of Oahu that will captivate you. aloha

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I spent the first half of our honeymoon at Royal Hawaiian and while pretty, PINK and clean, we did feel the area was too congested (and we traveled in Sept/off season mind you).. the area around the hotel we found too "built up" for our taste. Everything is new and luxurious which is great but if youre like us, and live in a busy city (NYC) and are looking to get away from the crowds and commercial world, this is not for you. Thankfully, we spent the second half of our honeymoon in Maui, which we were VERY happy with.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hawaiian, a Waikiki Beach Hotel, has Abhasa Spa, renowned restaurants, and a pool with a waterslide and cabanas. We have gorgeous indoor and outdoor event space for weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.