We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The location is wonderful
The pool is a joke - it's more of a 20 people hot tub
The wifi is even worse. No signals in the room. Spend amost an hour to figure out the signals with the hotel staff ( he is very nice a helpful but it's the Internet company problems)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aloha Jeremy,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I apologize that we fell short of delivering the level of service that you deserve and expect from a Luxury Collection Resort. Bringing these details to our attention allows us to improve and I have shared your feedback with our leaders.

We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to The Royal Hawaiian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    557
    247
    100
    72
See reviews for
592
1,062
79
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I returned to RH this year for my second time to the Hotel.

Perfect location overlooking in the center of Waikiki. The Hotel is located convenient on the beach but is away from the busy Kalakaua Blvd, next behind Sheraton. The hotel was first opened in early 20th century and is still keeping its charm today. The pink structure is unique in the area.

Check in was kind of slow, probably it is a Hawaiian style. There is always someone waiting at the concierge for the next available staff to help. Luggage handling was prompt and efficient, and polite.

All rooms on the tower building are facing the beach, it is just that on what floor you are there. The view is absolutely breathtaking, right in the center of Waikiki. I like the complimentary banana cake on the arrival of guests. I stayed in a suite so the room is very spacious, with 2 TV, and big bathroom. The living room is bright while the bedroom has few lights. I had room service on one morning and having breakfast overlooking the beach is excellent. There is one thing I don’t like very much is that the wall on the balcony is a pink solid concrete structure rather than a see-through railing. So when you sit on the lounger, you don’t see the beach but the sky. The show on the hotel lawn did not lose its attraction although I have seen it before.

Breakfast at beach side is a great enjoyment. Good quality food and good service, but a bit pricey. Some of the staff are very nice. Mai Tai bar offered great relaxation during afternoon and sunset, easy music and good food.

The beach is very packed most of the time. There are actually 3 lanes of loungers. So if you are sitting on the third lane, you are actually seeing the back of the people sitting in front of you, like in the cinema. All that comes with a price and is not free. Even the cabana by the pool costs $175 a day. The lounge chair itself is free though. The pool is small. I hardly find anyone swimming in the pool, but some people are enjoying the jacuzzi.

Definitely one of the best choice on Waikiki.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aloha CLau888,

Mahalo, for taking the time to submit your review and for choosing The Royal Hawaiian Resort for your Hawaiian vacation. We truly appreciate your feedback and endorsement of our resort.
Our exquisite atmosphere and exquisite service make us a truly unique destination and we appreciate your acknowledgement. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Aside from the deckchair issue, this is a lovely hotel. Bar is great, lots of activities, nice breakfast on sundays. Am a return visitor and would come back here every time. we had a lovely suite in the historic section with magnificent views.the suites are huge and well equipped with coffee machines and lots of space, plus two TVs so works well with families

Room Tip: stay in the historic section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aloha Luv2travelOzzie,

Memorable experiences are what we hold close to us through our lives. We thank you for your loyalty to The Royal Hawaiian and for selecting our resort to play a small role in your travel experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our ohana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

"The Pink Lady" epitomizes gracious historic elegance and island hospitality at it's finest. You are surrounded by history and can feel "sweet memories" of the past walking down the corridors. The property has a pleasant "stillness" that makes one feel very peaceful and "on vacation" away from the hustle and bustle of life. Celebrities have stayed at this glamourous hotel and it was famous for tea dances in the "golden era". Perched right in the middle of Waikiki Beach, you are walking distance to fine boutiques and Kapiolani Park - a great place where locals jog, play soccer, enjoy picnics and concerts. Their adjacent sister property - The Moana Surfrider is the quintessential place to enjoy High Tea. I am a local that grew up enjoying family parties and other festive celebrations at The Royal Hawaiian. As a business traveler (now live on a neighbor island) I like to stay at The Royal Hawaiian for combination business/pleasure. The rooms have been recently renovated and are modest in size. Housekeeping does a great job. Nothing can beat the ocean front rooms for the sound of rolling surf to lull you to sleep. The Azure Restaurant on property has now become a favorite place to enjoy fine dining. The farm to table menu (tasting menu is the bomb) is an experience of pure bliss featuring fresh local ingredients from many of the Hawaiian islands. It's nice not to have to go off site in the evening to enjoy this dining experience next to the ocean. If you want to get out of Waikiki to enjoy more "local" dining and shopping, Kapahulu Avenue is five minutes away. Beaches that are less crowded and more local oriented are 10 minutes away by car. The staff is friendly, helpful and extremely courteous. This is a wonderful place for a romantic or girl's weekend and yet the hotel is also geared to the business traveler and families.

Room Tip: If you enjoy a well-lit room, make sure you request this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aloha Lee Y,

Mahalo for the gracious review and for your loyalty to The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort. Our hotel ambassadors truly take pride in providing service that is beyond expectation. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our ambassadors are so proud to be a part of The Royal Hawaiian Resort. We will be sure to share your kind compliments with the Azure Restaurant team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, RI, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is far & away one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in! My Dad is a travel agent, and I am fortunate to have been around the world. This place blew me away! The staff is wonderful & so accommodating. Even down to the details, they "lei" you as you arrive and give you hibiscus tea. The pool was awesome, great views of Diamond Head, our room was beautiful & our bathroom was gorgeous. You can see why the Beatles have stayed here!

Room Tip: We didn't have a nice view from our room, that was the only negative about this hotel. If that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aloha Jessica H,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at The Royal Hawaiian. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the comforts of your guest room and the services you were provided. We appreciate your loyalty and I hope your family will return to our address again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just returned from a 5 nights stay at TRH. Lovely hotel with incredible service at every turn. Rooms are rather small and bathroom ridiculously small, especially with two children and two adults all sharing. We had an inside courtyard room and it was DARK and gloomy. Location is great if you want to be in the thick of things of Waikiki - all of the major boutiques and chain restaurants. Beach is ridiculously crowded; you are separated from your neighbor by about two feet. And while the surf is fun, it's also so crowded, it's a bit nerve-wracking. You can rent an umbrella/two chairs from hotel for $50/day (rip off).

If you want to stay in Waikiki, this is the hotel, but be warned: it's CROWDED!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aloha Loebi,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the The Royal Hawaiian. We strive to provide uncompromising service to all our guests and we are pleased to hear you experienced this first hand. We look forward to having you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Royal Hawaiian was luxurious....stunning...the lobby and entire downstairs is open-air and just spectacular. We stayed for our honeymoon. The staff are friendly and want to make you happy- we were greeted with pink lemonade and banana bread at check-in. We had a gadenview room. The decor of the entire place was a very classic-yet-modern look. The pool and jacuzzi overlooking the water was breath-taking. The hotel is in a good location for walking to other attractions. It was definately a 5 star experience that we will never forget.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aloha Kelly M,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials. We are honored that you chose to celebrate this milestone in your life at The Royal Hawaiian. It is a joy to read your recent review of The Royal Hawaiian. Our unique destination, unrivaled accommodations and exceptional hotel ambassadors are the foundations of The Royal Hawaiian. We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand. Your kind comments with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back for many anniversaries to come.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hawaiian, a Waikiki Beach Hotel, has Abhasa Spa, renowned restaurants, and a pool with a waterslide and cabanas. We have gorgeous indoor and outdoor event space for weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.