We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work or leisure, the Spirit of Aloha is alive at the Royal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Save Saved
You added The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #19 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Work or leisure, the Spirit of Aloha is alive at the Royal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed at the Royal Hawaiian many times when in Honolulu for work. It is always an amazing experience.

It's hard to believe you are on Waikiki beach when you arrive at the Royal Hawaiian. Driving through the gates is like driving back in time. The staff know how to treat guests and go above and beyond to ensure a wonderful stay - from the welcome drink while checking in, to the fresh banana bread delivered your first night, to the nightly stories set on your pillow during turn down the touches make for a great experience.

I'm a frequent traveler for work and stay at luxury properties and resorts. I always read trip advisor reviews and am amazed that people find resort prices shocking. The food at the Royal is amazing and the drinks are poured strong. But please, do not expect to get a deal on food and beverage. If you are looking for a cheap meal and the best budget accommodations, please look elsewhere rather than staying here and complaining.

If you decide to stay, you will be amazed. The staff is friendly, warm and helpful. The amenities are amazing, the historic rooms are small, but very comfortable, and the food is top notch. A trip to the Pink Palace of the Pacific is truly memorable and is something that even the most discerning of travelers must make.

Room Tip: Ask for a historic ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Aloha Kelsey A,

Mahalo for taking the time to share the details from your recent stay and most importantly for your loyalty to The Royal Hawaiian. We are thrilled that you love this historic gem as much as we do.

For a global traveler such as yourself, it is an honor to have you reveal that your experiences are “always amazing and the staff go above and beyond to ensure a wonderful stay.” Our staff truly takes pride in providing service that is beyond expectation. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of The Royal Hawaiian. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,816 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,008
    459
    213
    77
    59
See reviews for
494
910
69
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cali, Colombia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Royal Hawaiian is one first hotels stablished in Oahu, so the decoration and the whole place gives you a historic feeling. If you are looking for something modern this is not for you. I loved staying in this pink castle, it felt very hawaiian compared to other hotels in the area, and you can have a little bit of private beach with sun chairs which is kind of difficult to find in Waikiki (it can be extremely crowded).

What I loved the most here was the food, specially the traditional Banana Bread and the breakfast! Also, that the hotel is situated in a perfect spot (near to stores and restaurants, perfect for me).

I went for my honeymoon, son they gave us a champagne and chocolate strawberries (yummy) and they were beautifully decorated as grooms.

I'm giving it 4 stars because I love having a great pool in the hotels I stay in, but the pool here is really small. :( Anyways, I had a great experience here and the service was incredible!

Have a good trip! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Aloha Nessat89,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review.

Our unique destination, unrivaled accommodations and exceptional hotel ambassadors are the foundations of The Royal Hawaiian. We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand. I will be sure to share your kind comments with the team.

The Royal Hawaiian offers a choice of two pools. The smaller adult pool and the larger family oriented pool at Helumoa Playground featuring a 15-foot high by 70-foot long waterslide. We express regret that our hotel ambassadors were remiss in sharing this information with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hawaiian as our ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days last week. On arrival, we had to wait for ever at the registration desk since they have 4 stations but only two had a clerk. We stayed in the main part of the hotel, not the newer Royal tower. Disappointed on the size of our room, two persons couldn,t stand at the same time in the bathroom because it was so small, only one sink.The view was pretty right in front of the beach but NO real balcony to enjoy the view. The carpet was humid when we entered the room, looks like they had steam cleaned it for some reasons. This was not a room of a 5 stars hotel in our opinion. I could hear the guest next door taking his bath!The chaise lounges at the beach, for the two of us costed 40 dllrs/ day and if you wanted to be closer to the ocean you had to pay 50 dllrs! they charge you also 25 dllrs/ day extra for Internet and other things. The staff was very nice though, but we will not go back to this hotel. Corinne D.

Room Tip: I would try the Royal Tower at the Hawaian Hotel, seems more modern or go next door to the Sheraton...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

"They got so much right but the things they got wrong left a mark on our stay"

A review prior to this one beautifully sums up much of our disappointment with our return to the Royal Hawaiian. This hotel should earn 5 stars easy. There is no more lovely or well-situated hotel in Waikiki and I still feel like a Hawaiian princess the moment I walk on the property.

Sadly the service left me feeling dreadfully common. No apologies that a cockroach skittered up my leg while I was resting on my bed. Three hours after alerting the front desk, the rat in the bushes by the coffee service was still there. And really must ever profit center be exploited? Cant the cost sit on the beach at a beachfront hotel be covered by the additional $40/day resort fee?

That said our Housekeeper was lovely, greeted us by name and changed the shower curtain when we mentioned the mildew odor in the room. Also the poolside waiter was especially kind to us and the only one who apologized for our run in with the vermin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
It is with true regret to learn of the experience you encountered during your recent visit to The Royal Hawaiian. Exceptional service and refined accommodations are the hallmarks of our brand and this iconic property. We strive to deliver outstanding service to each guest staying at our hotel, and apologize you did not feel our hotel met your standards.

Please allow us the opportunity of discussing your comments further. We will be reaching out to your directly to ensure a satisfactory resolution to your concerns.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have stayed at nearly all the other luxury hotels on Waikiki over the years - and at the end of 6 weeks of travel we decided to treat ourselves to the Royal Hawaiian. It was disappointing in many ways.
The rate had no relationship to value - ugly mismatched furniture - terribly uncomfortable bed - poor quality linens, with comforter for freezing weather, thermostat located tucked in a corner near a large piece of furniture and nearly over top of the unit, resulting in either roasting or freezing. A very tiny bathroom - but with nice towels.
Inconsistent and uncaring service - received newspapers the first morning - none the other days. There were newspapers left on the floor outside a guest room for TWO DAYS!!
Service fees all over the place a charge for using the hotel private part of the beach???- breakfast package with no flexability. Many servers pleasant but when something was forgotten - it was without apology, like the second course arriving after the first course.

Room Tip: Don't count on getting what you asked for
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stopped in for midday lunch. Simply beautiful. Restaurant by the beach provided a welcome respite from the crowds. Lovely service. Late breakfast including an fresh smoothie amuse bouche to start. Not to be missed, given the beauty, grandeur and peacefulness.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aloha upintheairmom,

Mahalo, for taking the time to submit your review and for choosing The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort for your Hawaiian vacation. We truly appreciate your feedback and endorsement of our resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hawaiian Resort as our ohana.
With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have just completed a stay at The Royal Hawaiian Waikiki. We are 2 couples in our 50s. I have a long and warm association with TRH through my grandfather and parents who stayed there over many years. I used to stay there with my parents who still love TRH. However, there were some major disappointments this time. The check in procedure was very slow. While the staff were friendly and polite, there were not enough of them. We did not expect to arrive at a hotel that costs at least $400 a night and wait in a lengthy line. We were ahead of check-in time so were given access to a room to change. This was most helpful, however, every time we returned to reception to check on access to our room we had to stand in that line again. It was over all a very poor introduction to our four night stay. We were in the old building and the rooms, although small, were well appointed and much improved by the refurbishing. The rooms were clean and well equipped, with plenty of plush towels. The external area was a major disappointment. Over all the 40 odd years that I have been to or associated with the royal hawaiian it is the worst I have seen. A number of the umbrellas in the breakfast outdoor area were in disrepair and the fence along the dining area wall was in need of some care. The beach chair area on the beach used to be complimentary. However, it has now been contracted out to a beach facility company. NOT GOOD. They charge US$40 for two chairs and the umbrella for the day. That is over the top for a hotel with the room rate paid by most guests. Consequently the area was 75% unused. This changed the whole atmosphere and not in a positive way. You have really got this horribly wrong. The impression was were left with was that the hotel was under staffed and the management was not hands on with crossing their t's and dotting their i's. Breakfast-What can I say. The beautiful buffet that used to be the highlight of a stay at TRH has long gone. There is a small a la carte menu for those of us who's breakfast was included in the room rate. However, heaven forbid if you stray a little away from the menu. My husband wanted to have bacon with his omelette instead of potato, he was charged $7 for 4 pieces of bacon. Our friends were in a room with a locked door to the next room. The sound proofing was terrible and they felt like there were sharing in the next door domestic. I notice others have complained on trip advisor about this. You need sound proof doors. Despite my emotional attachment to the hotel I left feeling disappointed. They got so much right but the things they got wrong left a mark on our stay.

Room Tip: This is an expensive hotel in a prime location with a wonderful history. Do not raise your expectati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hawaiian, a Waikiki Beach Hotel, has Abhasa Spa, renowned restaurants, and a pool with a waterslide and cabanas. We have gorgeous indoor and outdoor event space for weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;