We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lots of character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Rooms were comfortable. big enough, and we had no noise from other rooms. Noise from the beach or other hotel bars is a minor problem and stops at I think 10:30 or 11 pm. However occasionally a bar at a hotel next door plays music during the day that is, literally, unbelievably loud. This is a problem for a few hotels on this strip.

Pool is small; no balls, no inflatable toys etc etc so not so much fun for the kids. But with Waikiki ten metres away I wouldn't be spending too much time swimming in a small pool.

Food seemed good at breakfast but we didn't eat much in the hotel.

Staff were very helpful and always friendly.

Gym is limited with one weights machine that is horribly complicated, some aerobic equipment and free weights are in good condition.

Japanese toilets are always a welcome touch (and I'm not even Japanese)

I would just suggest you spend a bit of time working out exactly where your room will be as there are several towers or wings. We were in the 10-12? story tower facing the beach so had a (tiny) balcony and a panoramic ocean view, the smaller towers may only face out onto the pool. Would probably be worth paying extra for the view.

Room Tip: I would just suggest you spend a bit of time working out exactly where your room will be as there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Aloha FredHayek,

We are so pleased that you had a wonderful visit at The Royal Hawaiian. Our impeccable service and unrivaled accommodations are the foundations of The Royal Hawaiian.

We hope that your experience will be one of your favorite travel stories to share again and again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hawaiian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    509
    234
    89
    65
See reviews for
546
973
76
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have stayed at the Royal Hawaiian serveral times. Each time I have tried to stay in a different part of the hotel to get a different experience. This last time I stayed in the tower finally. Awesome view but that was it. The room was ok, a typical Westin Hotel, nothing that great. The service of course is great, the location of the hotel you cannot beat. Best of all the Mai Tai's and relaxation of this hotel with its grand history. But for my money stay in the old part of the hotel looking at the Royal Grove or Ocean if you can afford it ortherwise just stay at the Sheraton next door if you stay in the tower whats the difference?

Room Tip: Just my opinion I have stayed at the Royal Hawaiian several times and the character of the old part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Aloha Jeepsgone,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience at The Royal Hawaiian and for your loyalty to The Royal Hawaiian. We are dissappointed to hear that your room was anything less than exceptional. However, we are appreciative of your recognition regarding the exceptional servicese you received from our hotel ambassadors and that you enjoyed the tranquil escape The Coconut Grove offers to many travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hawaiian again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We just had 3 nights here as part of a Hawaiian islands holiday.
Chose this as we are spg members and location on Waikiki beach.
Everything about the hotel was great except the room, we were in 264.
Noise from the room next door was at times intrusive but did not keep us awake.
Room was big but the beds were standard size, not great when travelling with 2 kids who don't like sharing.
Bathroom absolutely tiny, good standard of fixtures and very clean but really small. While appreciate that it's an old hotel it wouldn't be difficult to improve on these things.
Room needed more lighting too, these energy saving lights are not as bright so at least one more needed.
Possible we'd stay there again but would look elsewhere first.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Aloha CNC-expert,

Starwood Preferred Guest Program is the industry’s most honored hotel loyalty program.
We value your membership and thank you for your continued loyalty to the Starwood family.

As part of the historical register we are obligated to preserve the original architecture of the building and can not alter the size of the bathrooms.

Thank you for the taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us. Your comments have been shared with our senior leaders for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have always wanted to stay at the Pink Palace/Royal Hawaiian. I was not disappointed with my choice of this lovely hotel. There were 5 in our party: my husband, myself, our 22 and 19 year old daughters and our 14 year old son. Initially, I booked 3 rooms, however, my son wanted to be next to us. I knew trying to put all 3 rooms together might be challenging during Christmas break. When the Concierge became aware of my dilemma, they graciously found a 2 bedroom/sitting room suite with 2 bathrooms that was perfect! It enabled the girls to have their own room/bathroom while our 14 year old was perfectly content to stay in the large adjoining sitting room with its own TV. The staff went above and beyond whenever I had any requests or questions. The location of this hotel, the facilities and the staff made our trip truly memorable. My only critic of the room were the small bathrooms. The rooms were large and spacious as were the closets, however, the bathrooms were quite tiny. I often did my makeup in the room since there was little space to put my toiletries in the bathroom.

Room Tip: I would definitely consult the concierge if you have any special requests. When I booked at this ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Aloha SondraTexas,

Thank you so much for staying at The Royal Hawaiian during your recent visit to Waikiki. We are thrilled to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay, and we thank you for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor. Your gracious comments will be shared with our concierge ambassadors and leaders.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you and your ohana back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel might lack the mod cons but it is still the best location in Waikiki and the gardens and lobby ooze tranquility in contrast to the bustle of Waikiki.Rooms have been updated and the only negatives being small bathrooms and small windows in the historic wing make the rooms darker in the daytime.Fast internet and great service with the banana cake delivered on first night a nice surprise.
Hotel now charging for its chairs on the beach a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Aloha ald59,

We are thrilled that you selected The Royal Hawaiian to spend your Hawaiian holiday.

Located in the heart of downtown Waikiki. Numerous guests have described The Royal Hawaiian as an architectural gem, blending classic elegance with the finest features of modern luxury and we couldn't be more proud to be the stewards of such a historic icon.
We thank you for your gracious review and for selecting our Resort as the luxury destination of choice. We look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely island home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed a few nights in one of the tower rooms with an ocean view (the newer part not the historic part of the building). In a way we regret not giving the historic part of the building a go, but on the otherhand the view from the ocean view in the tower was amazing. The room was very large with a king sized bed and everything you could ask for. My partner was fascinated with their toilet haha..But the view was spectacular looking right out over waikiki beach. Each day the room was cleaned spotlessly and they left flowers in the shape of lovehearts on the bed. The hotel was very well maintained.

This hotel is very luxurious and it is all the small attention to detail that sets this place apart. You do feel a bit like royalty walking around the hotel - it is stunning! From the moment we arrived it felt like a palace, the garden area is gorgeous, the lobby/entrance area is even beautiful. It is just so peaceful and relaxing in a gorgeous setting. Upon arrival they treat you wonderfully, with cold towels to freshen up while they check you in, flowers, all your bags taken care of.

One of the best aspects of this hotel is that everything is included, you don't have to pay extra for beach towels or the chairs on the beach (we stayed at the Moana which is also gorgeous, but the beach chairs are not included). all these little things being included made for an easier, hassle free stay. This hotel also has a little area roped off just for the hotel guests to sit on the beach chairs so you don't have to fight for a spot on the beach.

Our only complaint (and this is more from my partner than myself!) was that it was probably just a bit too quiet for us in a way. Not many people ever used the pool and there wasn't really a bar where people sat and had drinks - i.e when we stayed at the moana we loved sitting at the beach bar having a drink at night, very relaxing and right on the beach. Having said that though, there is no reason you can't go to the other hotels bars and the pool at the royal hawaiian is stunning (the pool at the moana isn't as beautiful in my opinion) but they are both great hotels and the only 2 that we would ever consider staying at in future as we loved them both. It just depends what you are looking for in a hotel, if peace and quiet and luxury is your thing then you will love the royal hawaiian!

Overall I can highly recommend the Royal hawaiian, it is beautiful and very relaxing and it is in a fantastic location right on the waikiki beach with amazing beach views and great service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Aloha StephNay

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at The Royal Hawaiian. We were pleased to hear “You do feel a bit like royalty walking around the hotel - it is stunning! This hotel is very luxurious and it is all the small attention to detail that sets this place apart.” as our hotel ambassadors truly takes pride in providing services that is beyond expectation. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of The Royal Hawaiian. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our Honeymoon and my first trip to Hawaii but my wife's 2nd. My wife's previous trip landed her at a four seasons property on one of the islands and she said this Luxury Collection property met all the same expectations if not went above!

The service is top-notch and the location couldn't be better, nestled in between two larger hotels but I believe has the best view out of any property.

The hotel is attached to the Royal Hawaiian shopping center which is incredible it beets any mall we have here in the Midwest.

All around I would love to come back to this property!

Room Tip: Ask for the "Old" historic wing! amazing hand carved wooden doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Aloha HockeyTown05
Congratulations on your recent nuptials. We are honored that you chose to celebrate this milestone in your life at The Royal Hawaiian. We are please that you found the service to be “top-notch and the location couldn't be better.” Our hotel ambassadors strive to provide exceptional service to all our guests and we are pleased to read you experienced this first hand. Thank you for your kind compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our corner of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hawaiian, a Waikiki Beach Hotel, has Abhasa Spa, renowned restaurants, and a pool with a waterslide and cabanas. We have gorgeous indoor and outdoor event space for weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.