We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort - old world charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Save Saved
You added The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #19 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort - old world charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights with our 2 kids (ages 6 and 8) in two adjoining rooms. Very nice greeting when you arrive (with fresh flower leis for the girls and kukui nut necklaces for the guys, cold towels and fresh juice) but check-in was slow. We were able to check in early which was appreciated. Love the location as you are slightly set back from the craziness of Kalakaua Avenue (hotel grounds set in behind the Royal Hawaiian shopping centre).

We had a room in the older section (no lanai but windows open). Rooms are thoroughly modern with mini-fridges, high ceilings and beautiful amenities. Note there is a mandatory "resort fee" which includes wi-fi, self-parking and discounted kids meals (we did not eat at the hotel). Because we had two adjoining rooms we had to pay a $25 connection fee each night as well as the resort fee for both rooms which I found annoying as one room was for the children (no self-parking necessary!).

One of the highlights of our stay was taking the tour of the hotel with Thelma, Director of Cultural Services. We learned so much about the history of the "pink palace", the area and the islands. Thelma was a wonderful guide.

The fitness centre, located in the lower lobby, had the usual equipment (treadmill, elliptical, bike, weights) all in working order. The pool itself is small but you have access to the Sheraton next door which has a kids pool with waterslide and two hot tubs (which kids can also use). The hot tub at the Royal Hawaiian is only for adults.

I found the beach attendants to be extremely friendly and helpful - shout out to "T"! We did an outrigger canoe ride (which we purchased from them and charged to the room). It was slightly pricier than other companies further down the beach but they supplied the extra paddlers (as were only 4) and included pictures in the price ($25 pp).

We had drinks one afternoon at the famous Mai Tai Bar which was very enjoyable. Did not eat other meals at the hotel as the hotel is within walking distance of many (more reasonably-priced) options.

Overall a wonderful stay in a historic charming hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Aloha dms666,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details from your stay at The Royal Hawaiian.

We agree that our Cultural Director, Thelma Kam is a gem to the resort. She is one of our foremost cultural voices with many inspiring stories to share for a lifetime. The resort’s cultural tour is well attended and loved by many of our guests. We will be sure to share your kind compliments with her.

We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable stay with us and took advantage of the unique location The Royal Hawaiian offers. Our unique location is one of the many reasons The Royal Hawaiian is the luxury destination of choice in Waikiki. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you and the ohana back to The Royal Hawaiian for your next Hawaiian Holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,006
    452
    211
    76
    59
See reviews for
490
903
67
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Since our son was born we prefer to have a separate sleeping area for him. This is the reason we decided spend the equivalent of a small car to stay at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel. I'm not kidding, we stayed for almost two weeks in a garden view suite and it cost the price of a small-ish second-hand car. Ouch.

We arrived around 9pm at night and received a lovely welcome. Unfortunately when we got to our suite we were bitterly disappointed, it looked NOTHING like the video in the website, VERY dated and weirdly set out, it had two double beds in the bedroom (how romantic) which were the oldest, most well-used (read: uncomfortable) beds I've ever been in. As it was so late and we had to get our 1yr old to sleep we made the best of it but contacted reception to see what could be done. We were told that there were no other rooms. After a number of phone calls the next morning we finally went down to reception - by that time I was starting to get upset that we had prepaid for our room and were not having any luck getting the room we paid for. (Perhaps a good reason not to pre-pay hotels!!) Finally we got someone to help us and were moved to a suite exactly as described/shown on the website. Yay success!

Other than that we enjoyed our stay - the staff were great, friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic. Unfortunately we had two days without the pool as it had to be drained and repaired but the beach is right there so no drama.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Aloha Sally_Sutherland,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. While we regret to hear of your disappointment in the original suite assignment, we are pleased to know that everything worked out and you enjoyed the comforts of suite and the services you were provided.

We look forward to welcoming back to The Royal Hawaiian for your next Hawaiian Holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights and had the best time. I went during November when it was considered low season. The rooms were pristine, the staff was SO accommodating and it's right next to high end boutiques. You will love this place! It's just the right amount of fun and relaxation all wrapped up in a super luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Aloha JR R,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at The Royal Hawaiian. Our staff strives to provide uncompromising service to all our guests and I am pleased to read you experienced this first hand.

Thank you for your kind words and I hope you will choose to visit the Royal Hawaiian again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Royal Hawaiian has earned themselves a loyal customer, if I ever have the chance to come back to Oahu. At the "Pink Palace" they truly treat you as if you were living in a palace. I stayed in an oceanfront room with family, and the view was gorgeous. Housekeeping knew us by name, and made sure we were always comfortable. A specific lady-who I forget the name of, but has worked there for about 37 or 38 years she said, was wonderful to us.

On top of that they have a great store downstairs, comfortable beds, great views, and wonderful staff. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone who is going for the beach, shopping, or as a retreat.

The only complaint I have is the shower. With how the shower head aimed, it made it easy for water to escape in the back, and flow onto the floor. You have to position it just right, because the first night here I soaked the floor. But I do believe the shower is a small price to pay for everything else!

Great job!

Room Tip: Ask them for whatever you want, they will more than likely be able to get it for you! They are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Aloha xKissingFire,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide uncompromising service to all our guests and we are pleased to hear you experienced this first hand.

Your comments regarding the positioning of the showerhead will be shared for follow-up. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit to The Royal Hawaiian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I spent 7 days here recently and enjoyed every part of the resort. It's location on Waikiki Beach really is the best. I loved the Mai Tai Bar and watched many sunsets from here. I also really enjoyed breakfast at Surf Lanai each morning and watching everyone walk along Waikiki Beach.

Room Tip: spend the first day familiarising yourself with all the services at the resort and on the beach - ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Aloha Denisemc99,

Mahalo for your kind compliments on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Our unique destination and unrivaled accommodations are the foundations of The Royal Hawaiian. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel truly gives you a "classic Hawaii" experience. It is one of a few properties sitting ocean-front on Waikiki beach. The interior design is breath-taking, and the lush, green, tropical landscaping is impeccable.

Overall, this hotel is very costly (upwards of $400 a night, easily), although it's worth it to consider staying even one night of your vacation there.

The Royal Hawaiian feels like a larger, resort-style hotel, meaning there may be some elements of service that fall through the cracks. For example, we checked in late, and it seemed our room hadn't been fully serviced (coffee cups weren't clean, someone elses' welcome muffins still on table... yuck). Which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.

Other than that, it is one of the most beautiful, ambient hotels at which I've stayed.

A must for the total Hawaii experience, even to visit, or stay a night, it's definitely worth the indulgence!

Room Tip: Dont forget --- If you are a Westin (Starwood) Preferred Guest, you get additional welcome gifts and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Aloha MD,

We are so pleased that you had a wonderful visit at The Royal Hawaiian. Our impeccable service and unrivaled accommodations are the foundations of The Royal Hawaiian. We are disappointed that the experience was anything less than exceptional. Your comments have been shared with our management team for follow-up. We hope to welcome you back soon for a return visit to The Royal Hawaiian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

As indicated in other reviews, the location/hotel is an amazingly beautiful/historic location, however you expect something good for the amount that your paying per night.

We loved our time there and it's proximity to the beach, shops, etc - we spent a majority of our time just wandering around and checking things out before retiring to the hotel - either our garden view room or the Mai Tai Bar (on the beach edge).

One thing to be mindful of, we did get offered an upgrade/upsell from our garden view room (to a beach view) room for a $140 a night which was highly tempting, what they didn't say was that it would over-right/void any other package/deal we had initially booked under (i.e. we were getting our 3rd night free) fortunately my girlfriend sussed this out and we declined the offer, avoiding an extra $1,000!!! But we don't think this was maliciously intended - we just declined and got on to enjoying our 3 days in paradise. :)

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Aloha Andrew F,

Thank you for your thoughtful review and your gracious compliments about The Royal Hawaiian being “an amazingly beautiful/historic location.” We truly appreciate your feedback and endorsement of our resort. Your comments have been shared with our senior leadership team for continue development on the suite program.

We look forward to welcoming back to The Royal Hawaiian for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hawaiian, a Waikiki Beach Hotel, has Abhasa Spa, renowned restaurants, and a pool with a waterslide and cabanas. We have gorgeous indoor and outdoor event space for weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.