We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent overall!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Midland, Michigan, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent overall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Royal Hawaiian has earned themselves a loyal customer, if I ever have the chance to come back to Oahu. At the "Pink Palace" they truly treat you as if you were living in a palace. I stayed in an oceanfront room with family, and the view was gorgeous. Housekeeping knew us by name, and made sure we were always comfortable. A specific lady-who I forget the name of, but has worked there for about 37 or 38 years she said, was wonderful to us.

On top of that they have a great store downstairs, comfortable beds, great views, and wonderful staff. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone who is going for the beach, shopping, or as a retreat.

The only complaint I have is the shower. With how the shower head aimed, it made it easy for water to escape in the back, and flow onto the floor. You have to position it just right, because the first night here I soaked the floor. But I do believe the shower is a small price to pay for everything else!

Great job!

Room Tip: Ask them for whatever you want, they will more than likely be able to get it for you! They are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Aloha xKissingFire,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide uncompromising service to all our guests and we are pleased to hear you experienced this first hand.

Your comments regarding the positioning of the showerhead will be shared for follow-up. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit to The Royal Hawaiian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    480
    225
    84
    62
See reviews for
523
943
74
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I spent 7 days here recently and enjoyed every part of the resort. It's location on Waikiki Beach really is the best. I loved the Mai Tai Bar and watched many sunsets from here. I also really enjoyed breakfast at Surf Lanai each morning and watching everyone walk along Waikiki Beach.

Room Tip: spend the first day familiarising yourself with all the services at the resort and on the beach - ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Aloha Denisemc99,

Mahalo for your kind compliments on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Our unique destination and unrivaled accommodations are the foundations of The Royal Hawaiian. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel truly gives you a "classic Hawaii" experience. It is one of a few properties sitting ocean-front on Waikiki beach. The interior design is breath-taking, and the lush, green, tropical landscaping is impeccable.

Overall, this hotel is very costly (upwards of $400 a night, easily), although it's worth it to consider staying even one night of your vacation there.

The Royal Hawaiian feels like a larger, resort-style hotel, meaning there may be some elements of service that fall through the cracks. For example, we checked in late, and it seemed our room hadn't been fully serviced (coffee cups weren't clean, someone elses' welcome muffins still on table... yuck). Which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.

Other than that, it is one of the most beautiful, ambient hotels at which I've stayed.

A must for the total Hawaii experience, even to visit, or stay a night, it's definitely worth the indulgence!

Room Tip: Dont forget --- If you are a Westin (Starwood) Preferred Guest, you get additional welcome gifts and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Aloha MD,

We are so pleased that you had a wonderful visit at The Royal Hawaiian. Our impeccable service and unrivaled accommodations are the foundations of The Royal Hawaiian. We are disappointed that the experience was anything less than exceptional. Your comments have been shared with our management team for follow-up. We hope to welcome you back soon for a return visit to The Royal Hawaiian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

As indicated in other reviews, the location/hotel is an amazingly beautiful/historic location, however you expect something good for the amount that your paying per night.

We loved our time there and it's proximity to the beach, shops, etc - we spent a majority of our time just wandering around and checking things out before retiring to the hotel - either our garden view room or the Mai Tai Bar (on the beach edge).

One thing to be mindful of, we did get offered an upgrade/upsell from our garden view room (to a beach view) room for a $140 a night which was highly tempting, what they didn't say was that it would over-right/void any other package/deal we had initially booked under (i.e. we were getting our 3rd night free) fortunately my girlfriend sussed this out and we declined the offer, avoiding an extra $1,000!!! But we don't think this was maliciously intended - we just declined and got on to enjoying our 3 days in paradise. :)

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Aloha Andrew F,

Thank you for your thoughtful review and your gracious compliments about The Royal Hawaiian being “an amazingly beautiful/historic location.” We truly appreciate your feedback and endorsement of our resort. Your comments have been shared with our senior leadership team for continue development on the suite program.

We look forward to welcoming back to The Royal Hawaiian for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort
The elegance of the RH and the attentiveness of the staff are incomparable. With its prime location and dedication to the comfort and convenience of its guests, it will probably always provide fond memories that will endure. My issue is with the misrepresentation of "categories" of suites. I booked an Ocean Front Suite in October of this year. This was confirmed in my Expedia.com booking. Upon arrival we were informed at check-in that we had reserved the "category" of Ocean View. When I pointed to the original wording provided, we were given a convoluted explanation that the Hotel had only a limited number of rooms in that category and that all the rooms matching our booking request were occupied. We were offered an upgrade of a Junior Ocean Suite at an additional cost per night. The "free" upgrade mentioned by previous guests apparently for first time guests does NOT exist! While we did have ocean views, for money we paid per night for 2 nights(we did receive a 3rd night free through Expedia!)it really was not good value; I appreciate we were also paying for the history and grandeur, but visitors do have so much choice for a quality stay in this popular holiday destination. As a result of my complaint to the Manager, the daily resort fee was waived and I continued to have free WiFi access. Michelle also mentioned that she will be communicating with Expedia in order to clarify any confusion over the wording of booking requests. We were also grateful for the excellent room service breakfast provided for our 6:00 am departure. With our stay the breakfasts were included and they were magnificent! Other guest comments regarding the rooms in the original hotel are accurate-the rooms are comfortable but the bathrooms are small-I think many modern travelers have become very accustomed to standard 1 bdrm apartment lodgings(as we have!) that are not part of the standard RH stay, if money is not an issue... The RH site has some great photos!

Room Tip: If you want guaranteed full ocean front, you must book a junior ocean suite or above in the original...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Aloha Bruce S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your endorsement.

Our unique destination, unrivaled accommodations and exceptional hotel ambassadors are the foundations of The Royal Hawaiian. We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand.

We value all feedback and have shared your comments with our senior management team.

We look forward to your return trip to Oahu and the privilege of welcoming you back to The Royal Hawaiian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My Australian family and I absolutely loved our Pink Palace experience. My husband and I had stayed there before but our sons were amazed at its locale, proximity to the shops, restaurants, bars, beach etc. my only gripe was that the breakfast in the main restaurant on the beach was so expensive. The bar was just wonderful, soaking up the sunset with Mai Tai in hand, doesn't get any better than that on Waikiki Beach.

Room Tip: The new part of the hotel in the tower overlooking Waikiki is my pick of rooms for the proximity to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Aloha JanetQueensland,

Thank you for staying at The Royal Hawaiian during your recent visit to Waikiki. We are thrilled to hear you and the family enjoyed your stay, and we thank you for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hawaiian for your next Hawaiian holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

As a former resident of Honolulu, I finally had the chance to finally stay at the legendary Royal Hawaiian, despite the excessively high room rate. We stayed in the original hotel, in a garden view room. As a historic hotel, I didn't mind the relatively small rooms since they have high ceilings, but I was disappointed to find our room was not well maintained. The air conditioning fan coil unit sounded like a distant helicopter and was rattling throughout the night, and the furnishings were slightly battered. The bathroom was absolutely tiny, and the door didn't even swing open all of the way. Very cramped bathroom and no tub.

Now that this property is managed by one of the larger hotel chains, it seems to have lost the charming service it once had, as reception staff constantly try to upsell you into a larger, more expensive room. I was particularly irritated to have to pay a mandatory US$35/day
"daily resort charge" which includes Internet access, parking privileges, phone calls, and other incidental "benefits" -- none of which we would have incurred in the first place -- but nonetheless had to pay for anyway.

We dined at both Azure (all-day dining) and the beachfront bar, and found the food in their F&B outlets to be fairly decent; however, we were horrified to find gravel / sand in our "Poke" (local marinated sashimi dish). The outdoor bar is a great place to watch the sunset, but often obscured by the sometimes seedy scene on the beach fronting the hotel. The open-air breezy public areas of the hotel and surrounding gardens are absolutely delightful, and a great place to chill out and read a book.

Overall, I think this hotel remains one of the best in Waikiki, but it seems to be more consistently relying on it's reputation, rather than properly maintaining the facilities and upgrading it's service levels.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view room -- if you can afford it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your most recent stay. We pride ourselves in providing a flawless experience for our guests that surpasses expectations. We are disappointed that your stay was anything less than exceptional. Bringing these details to our attention allows us to improve and I have shared your feedback with our leaders.

We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our signature hospitality, for which The Royal Hawaiian is known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hawaiian, a Waikiki Beach Hotel, has Abhasa Spa, renowned restaurants, and a pool with a waterslide and cabanas. We have gorgeous indoor and outdoor event space for weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.