We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel, world class bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Save Saved
You added The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #19 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classic hotel, world class bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My family has returned to this hotel many times over the years, and the charm that impressed us at first has just improved. Let's be clear first about the price. It's expensive, so make yourself aware in advance of the cost of the resort amenities such as beach and pool cabanas and budget accordingly. But we would much rather have a great stay here than have a slightly longer but humdrum stay elsewhere. That said, the two charms of this hotel are: the generous and elegant public spaces that bring out the best of the beachfront location; and the amazing staff. Many of the staff are second and third generation employees of the RHH, and their pride in the history of the hotel shows through in their friendliness to guests. From the registration clerks to the crew at the beach, all are professional and charming. Their commitment to the hotel has lasted through several changes in ownership, and they provide the continuity that keeps us returning. The hotel restaurants are remarkably good and compete favourably with well known stand-alone restaurants. But the jewel for us is the famous Mai Tai Bar. Most of the staff have worked there for years, and it shows in the easy efficiency and good humour they bring to each shift. Try at least once during your trip to sit at the bar itself and get to know Kui, the head bartender. You'll be joining a circle of his loyal friends that extends around the world, made up of people for whom a trip to Hawaii wouldn't feel right without a stay at this hotel and an evening at this bar by the beach, surrounded by the lights of Waikiki and the sound of the surf.

Room Tip: I haven't ever had a bad room, though I prefer the old building to the newer tower, just for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha JMayor,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review and for your loyalty to The Royal Hawaiian. It is with complete joy to read your kind compliments about our hotel ambassadors and the exceptional services you and your ‘ohana experienced first hand. In the heart of Waikiki, it is the hotel ambassadors, the iconic architecture and the lush landscaping that makes The Royal Hawaiian a hallmark destination.

We believe The Royal Hawaiian epitomizes the elegance and grace unique in the Hawaiian value of ho’okipa. This is the welcoming of guests and strangers alike with complete generosity of Aloha spirit and hospitality. We will be sure to share your kind compliments with Kui. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our ambassadors are so proud to be a part of The Royal Hawaiian.
We will be sure to share your compliments with our ambassadors and leaders. We look forward to welcoming you and your ‘ohana back to our beautiful island home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,008
    458
    213
    77
    59
See reviews for
493
910
69
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Royal Hawaiian for two days prior to a cruise. We were greeted with beautiful leis and were given a cool drink while waiting to check in at the desk. You were seated at a desk and checked in instead of standing at a counter. We were offered an upgrade but declined since we were only stay a couple nights. Everyone was very gracious. We were in the original hotel and absolutely loved it. Our room (garden view) looked out over the front of the hotel. It was a lovely view. Our bathroom did not have any washcloths but we asked for a few from housekeeping - no biggie. Every staff member we encountered was so helpful and always had a smile on their face. There were so many comfortable places to sit and enjoy the outdoors, lots of comfy sofas, chairs, rockers.....
We had booked a Hanauma Bay snorkeling tour with the concierge desk prior to arriving and checked with the concierge when we arrived. We were given a lovely notecard with all the details we would need for our excursion.

The Royal Hawaiian was right in the middle of everything !! Right on the beach, shopping and dining mere steps away !! Everything we needed was within walking distance. We did not use the pool but several people seemed to enjoy lounging around it and, of course, lots of people were at the beach. The Royal Hawaiian had the most relaxing ambiance. It was a little oasis in the midst of all the rush of Waikiki ~ We highly recommend this jewel ~

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha OKCC&H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Royal Hawaiian. We sincerely appreciate your recognition. It was a pleasure to read, “Every staff member we encountered was so helpful and always had a smile on their face.” Our hotel ambassadors are what make The Royal Hawaiian truly extraordinary. Each hotel ambassador is skilled at curating authentic experiences for each guest. We hope these Royal memories will be your favorite travel stories to share again and again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hawaiian again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I seldom give 5 stars, because I'm of the belief that there's always room for improvement.

The Royal Hawaiian is an exceptional luxury establishment. When we approached the hotel, we were greeted with Aloha, smiles and lei! Upon entering the lobby, there is no check-in counter. The process is done seated at a desk with cool tropical fruit juice to drink. Check-in is as long as necessary for a complete understanding of what the Resort has to offer for our enjoyment.

Our accommodations were spacious with 12' ceilings! It was very clean and smelled fresh. The room has much old world charm with every upgraded modern convenience installed. The efficient climate control was extremely quiet allowing for peaceful nights of sleep in a comfortable, fine linened, King Size bed.

When the Housekeeping and Groundskeeping Staff always greeted us with smiles and a big Aloha, you somehow can't help but feel special! Everyone, from the Porters and Parking Valets to the Management Team, is very well trained in hospitality as well as their duties.

I'd recommend The Royal Hawaiian to anyone who appreciates service and luxury at its finest!

Room Tip: All room have been recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha bikerwoo

Our unique destination, unrivaled accommodations and exceptional hotel ambassadors are the foundations of The Royal Hawaiian. We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand. I will be sure to share your kind comments with our hotel ambassadors.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Waikiki for your next Hawaiian holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

stayed at the maluhia suite with the wife and 2 kids. it's a suite with 2 bedrooms (a king and 2 double beds) and a side sitting room. it was great to walk out to a ocean view every morning. the kids ate free at breakfast (option of french toast, eggs and bacon, pancakes, etc., plus freshly squeezed juices or milk). the free continental breakfast for adults (for spg platinum members) was also nice. i wouldn't stay anywhere else in waikiki.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha Li C,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at The Royal Hawaiian. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the comforts of your guest room and the service you were provided. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

I'm struggling with the Royal Hawaiian. I booked my stay close to a year ago and was really looking forward to the visit. In addition to being very specific about my expectations I got "the run around" as I got close to check in. Ultimately we were treated great, but I'm somewhat embarrassed by the lengths I had to go to to have my expectations met.

Multiple phone calls and multiple emails shouldn't be the norm - regretfully that was my experience.

I've stayed at several Luxury Collection properties around the world The Royal Hawaiian could benefit from talking to their colleagues in New York City and Mexico. Customers shouldn't have to go to the trouble I did just have our expectations met. I was livid by the time I arrived. Management ultimately made things right but as mentioned before, the process wasn't pretty.

We've stayed at several SPG properties on Waikiki - it's a bummer that The Royal Hawaiian doesn't live up to its reputation.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Aloha Peter M,

From the moment a guest enters The Royal Hawaiian, you are assured that every aspect of your stay is flawlessly addressed. We are delighted to hear that you experienced this first hand at The Royal Hawaiian.

We do apologize that your expectation for a suite upgrade was not initially confirmed. At the time of booking, suite availability was extremely limited. It was not until closer into your reservation that we were able to confirm an upgrade.

It must have been frustrating to wait so long for a confirmation, so I was pleased to hear that our resort was able to confirm a suite upgrade closer to your arrival.

We thank you for your loyalty to The Luxury Collection Brand and for holding us to the highest standards. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to The Royal Hawaiian ohana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed in the newer part of the hotel, and the room was very nice with a balcony that overlooked the pool and the beach. Very interesting, cool old hotel. Go downstairs from the lobby to see photos of some of the famous guests. Super expensive. Great location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha tdup,

Thank you so much for staying at The Royal Hawaiian during your recent visit to Waikiki. We are thrilled to hear your enjoyed your stay, and we thank you for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hawaiian for your next Hawaiian holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Want to see what Waikiki Beach is all about. Then this property is a MUST. You must also like the color pink - otherwise you could be in trouble. This was my 2nd visit to the RH. This trip I stayed in the Historic Building. The bathroom was rather small and didn't include a tub. Room service was yummy. Wasn't impressed at all with the Spa. However the Lomi Lomi message was worth the visit. They weren't able to give us an extended check out for our room, however they provided us access to a generic suite with a place to shower, use the restroom, watch TV or simply rest while waiting to go to the airport. A very nice gesture since our flight wasn't until 5pm and checkout was at noon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha R J,

Thank you for your compliments of The Royal Hawaiian and for your loyalty to The Luxury Collection brand. We hope to welcome you back for a third visit to Waikiki’s luxury destination again very soon.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hawaiian, a Waikiki Beach Hotel, has Abhasa Spa, renowned restaurants, and a pool with a waterslide and cabanas. We have gorgeous indoor and outdoor event space for weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.