We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury on the beach - you must stay at least once” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Luxury on the beach - you must stay at least once”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Always wanted to stay at 'The Pink Palace'. The grounds are as beautiful as everyone says and the location on Waikiki beach is perfect. Prices within the hotel incl. chair hire on the beach, food + general amenities are pricey - even for a well travelled holiday goer.
It was a really enjoyable experience however if you are going to stay here, I would advise staying in a Beach View room.
We stayed in the Garden Room and would have enjoyed the hotel and experience much more with a beach view.
Rooms are very feminine and grandeur in style, with great beds. There was a lovely gesture of Banana Bread in room and lei's on arrival.
Service overall good but wished front desk was a little more accommodating as we had requested a change of room for Beach view (which we never do) but felt we kept having to chase it up with concierge.
All in all a great experience and an experience you have to try once, but next time will consider Ala Moana.
Also, we didn't use the pool at all as it was constantly full and lots of kids, preferred to stay on the beach front (beige chairs not pink). Also must note: it can get noisy!

Room Tip: Would suggest a Beach Tower Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Aloha Jmapelle_Sofi,

Mahalo for your kind compliments of The Royal Hawaiian. For a global traveler such as yourself, it is an honor to have you recognize that “a great experience and an experience you have to try once,” as we truly take pride in providing experiences that are beyond expectation. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our ambassadors are so proud to be a part of The Royal Hawaiian. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    498
    231
    88
    64
See reviews for
535
963
75
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Lovely. Nice, clean, comfortable rooms. Lots of pink, but not a draw back. It looks lovely. People are very nice and want to make your stay a great experience. The staff is very attentive to your needs. The view from our room was magnaficent. Food and drinks very good. Excellent service. Nice pool, but small. About 18 umbrellas around it. Not enough in the intense sun or for a hotel this size. We paid a resort fee, which I don't mind paying, but if you want a lounge chair on the beach it is an additional $40.00 a day or $20.00 for an hour. Take the free tour of the hotel. Lots of history about the hotel and the island.

Room Tip: All rooms are probaly lovely. Ocean view is magnaficent, but more expensive than garden. Air condi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Aloha Pat L,

Mahalo for taking the time to submit your review and for choosing The Royal Hawaiian for your Hawaiian vacation. We truly appreciate your feedback and endorsement of our resort. I will be sure to share your kind comments with the Royal ambassadors. We take great pride in providing exceptional care of our guests and are happy to hear that you experienced it first hand. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hawaiian as our ohana.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I visited my son who lives in Honolulu last week. I have been to Honolulu on two other occasions and this time I wanted a quiet hotel. The Royal Hawaiian was the perfect choice. It is a beautiful hotel hidden away from the busy street. The grounds are lovely with trees, flowers and a small park in the middle of the buildings. It was so easy to forget the madness of the area. There are many quiet areas to sit and relax and read. I loved the rocking chairs on the porch.Yet I was close enough to walk the beautiful paths to the shopping area.I stayed in the ocean tower. The room was basic but had all of the amenities I needed. The view from the balcony was lovely. On the first day I rented 2 chairs and an umbrella on the beach for $42.00. I enjoyed the beach but did not like the crowd. The beach in front of the hotel is one of the best on Waikiki but crowded. All of other days I lounged at the small pool. It was just what I was looking for. The chairs are free but the setting is peaceful and lovely. The pool is small but perfect for a quick dip. I was within feet of the ocean yet away from the crowds. The pool attendant was attentive with ice water and afternoon pineapple. Drinks were very good especially the mai tais and citrus lemonade. The lunches at the beach restaurant could be eaten at the pool and were very good.
The hotel is centrally located and very close to the many excellent restaurants.
My son took me to secluded beautiful beaches on the east and north shore. They are the real Hawaii and if you can I strongly recommend a visit.

Aloha

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Aloha doeeyesNc,

Mahalo for the gracious review. Our staff truly takes pride in providing service that is beyond expectation. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons ambassadors are so proud to be a part of the "Quiet Gem of Waikiki Beach." We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hawaiian, the luxury destination of Waikiki. Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed here for our anniversary and was very pleased. I fell in love with the hotel itself, and the staff made us feel very special during our stay. The hotel was built in the 20's so it offers historic charm with modern amenities. The location was perfect: a little set away from the strip and at the very end of Waikiki beach; perfect for watching sunsets. We stayed in a royal grove room which could be noisy (there is an upscale retail mall outside your window), but generally the noise died down after 10pm or a little later on the weekends. It was not a problem for us. Waikiki is bustling and noisy in general. There is a resort fee, but it was plainly stated before booking and upon check in, so it was not a surprise. It covers valet service and wifi. We loved the drinks at Mai Tai Bar, but the food was a little pricey for what you got. However, it comes with a Waikiki beach view! So, it's not a real complaint! We ate at Azure which was good, but not amazing. The only thing I think I would have enjoyed more would have been more historic info about the hotel and Waikiki dotted around the grounds. At turndown service, small cards were placed bedside that told a short story about the hotel. There were also some photos on the walls of the hotel at an earlier period. We chose the hotel for it's historic charm, so we would have welcomed more information or even a small display of things from its past. Also, the restaurant would have been more memorable if the hotel's historic charm came through somehow. The music and lighting wasn't distinguishable from many other upscale tropical city hotels. The vibe was cool, but a little distancing. Overall though, really loved this hotel and thank them for making us feel so special. I won't include any other details, but if you are going for your anniversary or honeymoon, be sure to tell them!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Aloha doeeyesNc,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your most recent stay. We pride ourselves in providing exceptional experiences for our guests. We appreciate your kind comments about the attentive staff and how they made “you feel very special during your stay.” We were equally thrilled to hear that you were enchanted by the “historic charm” and “modern amenities” of the resort.

Your feedback will be shared with our senior management team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our island home. Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband had booked an oceanfront junior suite. When we arrived we were greeted with beautiful orchid leis and a delicious tropical punch. Roland at guest services upgraded us through our Starwood Preferred to the Nani Pumehana Garden Suite on the second floor in the historical section. Roland was very accommodating by letting us view several suites as they all vary slightly to get the criteria we were looking for. The oceanfront junior suite was 540 square feet and the garden suite was considerably larger. The suite was beautiful with it's tasteful tropical decor and was well appointed. The only down side is it looks into the spa cabana, but who can complain with having such a nice upgrade. All the hotel staff were friendly and first rate from housekeeping, valet, Bob our beach attendant, concierge, restaurant staff and Michele in Guest Services. As owners of resort restaurants we are very critical of customer service and were pleasantly surprised as our expectations were exceeded at The Royal Hawaiian. There is nothing like the charm and history of the great Pink Palace with it's beautiful architectural detail and craftsmanship of days gone by. A must is the Aha'aina Luau, a bit pricey but the show was well worth it. The location of the Royal Hawaiian is bar none the best in all of Waikiki. Beach location is breathtaking with the view of Diamond Head and to the side of the hotel are world class shopping malls with everything imaginable all within walking distance. We truly enjoyed our experience and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Become a Starwood Preferred guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Aloha Yvonne H,

It was a pleasure reading your review and the kind words written about our ambassadors and the love you have for the Resort’s historical charm. It is with great pride to know that as “owners of resort restaurants” you are very “critical of customer service and were pleasantly surprised” as your “expectations were exceeded at The Royal Hawaiian.”

We believe The Royal Hawaiian epitomizes the elegance and grace unique in the Hawaiian value of ho’okipa. This is the welcoming of guests and strangers alike with complete generosity of Aloha spirit and hospitality. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our ambassadors are so proud to be a part of The Royal Hawaiian.
We will be sure to share your compliments with our ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have just returned from 6 nights at this lovely "old lady" and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Our last visit was in May last year and little has changed except for one thing which we found to be most disappointing.

The lounge chairs and umbrellas that are on the beach now have a daily charge which is most disappointing. Fair enough, if it were only $20 a day but when it is $40++ then that is red hot, especially as we usually only spend a morning on the beach.

Other than that, the hotel is still as good as ever with excellent staff and good food. The breakfast each morning in the Surf Lanai was great, cocktails and bar food at the Mai Tai were delicious as usual and our dinner in Azure was memorable.

Our room was comfortable and quiet and the bed and pillows were the best we have ever had. There was only one downside and that was that we experienced the Tsunami scare the night before we left for home which was quite stressful.

Other than that, our stay of 6 nights was fantastic and a great way to unwind after a very full on 5 weeks of travelling in both Eastern Canada and the U.S.

In our opinion, there is only one place to stay in Waikiki and that is the beautiful Royal Hawaiian with its magnificent gardens right on the beach. We hope to return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but we do prefer the rooms in the original building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Aloha Aussiegal15,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to The Royal Hawaiian and for taking the time to review our resort. Our exquisite atmosphere and uncompromising service make us a truly unique destination in Waikiki and we appreciate your review. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back as a guest to the resort soon. Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lubbock, TX
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on points for our honeymoon last Christmas. It is expensive if you're not using points, but I would do it again just because out of all the resorts along the beach, it still feels intimate and real, which is incredibly relaxing. Even though it's right on the beach which is great, a portion of it is tucked away and it feels like you're in a forest. I love this aspect of the hotel because the Waikiki area is really crowded and bustling with tourists, so this was our refuge.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Aloha marvingardens22,

It was a pleasure to welcome you back for a second visit. We sincerely appreciate your recognition and were pleased to hear the resort provided a tranquil escape for your refuge. Mahalo for your continued loyalty to The Royal Hawaiian. We look forward to celebrating many more future anniversaries with you here at The Royal Hawaiian, Waikiki’s luxury destination of choice.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hawaiian, a Waikiki Beach Hotel, has Abhasa Spa, renowned restaurants, and a pool with a waterslide and cabanas. We have gorgeous indoor and outdoor event space for weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.