We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Great as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have just returned from 6 nights at this lovely "old lady" and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Our last visit was in May last year and little has changed except for one thing which we found to be most disappointing.

The lounge chairs and umbrellas that are on the beach now have a daily charge which is most disappointing. Fair enough, if it were only $20 a day but when it is $40++ then that is red hot, especially as we usually only spend a morning on the beach.

Other than that, the hotel is still as good as ever with excellent staff and good food. The breakfast each morning in the Surf Lanai was great, cocktails and bar food at the Mai Tai were delicious as usual and our dinner in Azure was memorable.

Our room was comfortable and quiet and the bed and pillows were the best we have ever had. There was only one downside and that was that we experienced the Tsunami scare the night before we left for home which was quite stressful.

Other than that, our stay of 6 nights was fantastic and a great way to unwind after a very full on 5 weeks of travelling in both Eastern Canada and the U.S.

In our opinion, there is only one place to stay in Waikiki and that is the beautiful Royal Hawaiian with its magnificent gardens right on the beach. We hope to return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but we do prefer the rooms in the original building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Aloha Aussiegal15,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to The Royal Hawaiian and for taking the time to review our resort. Our exquisite atmosphere and uncompromising service make us a truly unique destination in Waikiki and we appreciate your review. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back as a guest to the resort soon. Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    557
    247
    100
    72
See reviews for
592
1,062
79
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lubbock, TX
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on points for our honeymoon last Christmas. It is expensive if you're not using points, but I would do it again just because out of all the resorts along the beach, it still feels intimate and real, which is incredibly relaxing. Even though it's right on the beach which is great, a portion of it is tucked away and it feels like you're in a forest. I love this aspect of the hotel because the Waikiki area is really crowded and bustling with tourists, so this was our refuge.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Aloha marvingardens22,

It was a pleasure to welcome you back for a second visit. We sincerely appreciate your recognition and were pleased to hear the resort provided a tranquil escape for your refuge. Mahalo for your continued loyalty to The Royal Hawaiian. We look forward to celebrating many more future anniversaries with you here at The Royal Hawaiian, Waikiki’s luxury destination of choice.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.C.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The specific reason we traveled to Honolulu this October was to stay at the Royal Hawaiian. It was all we hoped for and more.
We enjoy staying in historic hotels and booked a room in the historic section. Most of the rooms in this section have lovely garden views. This was a deliberate architectural plan. When TRH was built in 1927 people traveled for weeks by ship. They had seen enough ocean and wanted to see a landscape view. Our view included Diamond Head and the coconut grove. Absolutely breathtaking.
Our charming beautiful and spacious room included an enormous closet/dressing area and a comfortable sitting area. The well appointed bathroom was small by modern expectations but remember you are in a historic building. House keeping was top notch. It was a joy to return to our sweet smelling immaculate room.
But the best part of TRH was the staff. Check in was a breeze, complete with a warm washcloth and a cool glass of hibiscus tea. Rob at the pool was very helpful in suggesting dining options besides the hotel, which he first suggested. He made sure we were comfortable and happy.
All hotels along Waikiki charge for chairs and umbrellas on the beach. This is probably the most expensive beach real estate in Hawaii. So get over it. We always found a chaise lounge at the pool.
Thanks to Cori the director of guest experiences we were treated to a special tour of the hotel by Thelma. It is obvious the staff feels very honored to be stewards of such a historic site. The recent restoration of the hotel is phenomenal. From the moment you step through the iron gates you feel like you have stepped back in time to a more genteel and civil way of life. You must see it to believe. Words and pictures do not do the hotel justice.
We hated to leave and will definitely return. We feel you get value for your money at TRH and we are very discerning travelers with high expectations. We were made to feel like a honored guest of TRH not just another hotel guest. We will make a special trip back to Honolulu just to stay at TRH again. No trip to Honolulu is complete without a stay at the Royal Hawaiian. They set the standard for all of Honolulu.

Room Tip: The historic section is very charming. Smaller bathrooms but very modern, The rooms are very spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Aloha Ilovemywife,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. It is with complete joy to read your kind compliments about our ambassadors and the exceptional services you experienced first hand. It is true, our ambassadors are "very honored to be the stewards of this historic site."

In the heart of Waikiki, it is the ambassadors, iconic architecture and the lush landscaping that makes The Royal Hawaiian a luxury destination and tranquil escape for our guests. We are delighted that you experienced this first hand.

We will be sure to share your compliments with our ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Was here on my honeymoon , great hotel with a great location , centre of all activities , close to great shopping , restaurant ,bang on the beach , it's a pink palace . Stayed. 4 nights here , will come back again for sure .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Aloha Anurag327,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials. We are thrilled that you selected The Royal Hawaiian to share in a special time in your life.

Mahalo for taking the time to post a review and for sharing your experience. Our distinctive location and exceptional service make The Royal Hawaiian the luxury resort in Waikiki and we appreciate your acknowledgement. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Royal Hawaiian for many more anniversaries to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandenberg village, ca
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Location in Waikiki is tops as are the staff. The Beach Boys (some are girls) provide excellent service, led by long time Supervisor Chuck. Everything is done to make your visit something to remember. GM Kelly has done an excellent job during her years at the Royal. Monica and Cori take excellent care in getting the room type desired. We just made our 30th visit since 1988 and continue to recommend the Royal Hawaiian to all of our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Aloha Bill and Kathy,

Many mahalos for your gracious compliments and your continued loyalty to The Royal Hawaiian. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back upon each visit. You are truly a part of our Royal ohana. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the resort as our ohana (family).

Warmest wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Royal Hawaiian in October with my wife. We left the kids on Maui with their grandmother and had a great couple of days on Oahu. I prefer the out lying islands of Hawaii and even the north shore of Oahu over the city however my wife wanted to hit some shopping areas, take a cool surf lesson and have a variety of restaurants to choose from.
The Royal Hawaiian is a great hotel. They have changed the entrance and done a very impressive remodel. Upon check - in we were upgraded to a fabulous suite that had incredibly high ceilings, two huge rooms and a wonderful bathroom. The room was first class all the way.
The check-in process was easy, fast and very comfortable.
The concierge booked us a couple dinner reservations and each recommended restaurant was perfect.
Location, Location Location. If you are going to be in a big city in Hawaii then the Royal Hawaiian is a perfect location with amazing views of diamond head and within walking distance to all Honolulu has to offer. The beach area felt private with good service and comfortable chairs.
The surf lessons we had booked right through the Hotel were fantastic. A great instructor that took his time with us and made sure we caught some good waves. I can honestly say it was the best surf experience of my life.
The food at the hotel was good, not great. The breakfast staff was a little strange but overall didn't impact the picture perfect setting or our island mood.
I love Starwoods Luxury Collection hotels! You can always count on a certain level of service and the Royal Hawaiian hit the mark on that again. We loved the Pink Lady.

Room Tip: Ocean front with views of Diamond head are great. If you get offered a suite on the garden side take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Aloha vandelay09,

Mahalo for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review and for your continued loyalty to The Luxury Collection family.

In Waikiki, the vibrant energy is apparent from the moment you step off the plane. We are so pleased that you found The Royal Hawaiian to be a luxurious escape in the heart of the city. We will be sure our world-class Concierge Ambassadors receive the recognition for taking such exceptional care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Waikiki’s luxury resort of choice for your next Hawaiian vacation.

Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I just returned from an extraordinary second honeymoon at the Royal Hawaiian from Oct 17 to the 25th. For personal and professional travel--including when I served as a Presidential Appointee--I've stayed in some of the finest hotels in the world in nearly 40 countries, and none matched the experience of the Royal Hawaiian. Everything was perfect, but there were two factors that made it stand out: the service and the atmosphere of complete serenity. In terms of service, no request was too large or small, and everyone from the concierge to the maids made us feel like we were truly welcome guests. The serentiy came from beautiful surroundings, meticulous gardens--and being part of, yet set apart, from the bustle of Waikiki. Everything was at our doorstep, yet as soon as we entered the Royal Hawaiian grounds, it was like being a world apart. In terms of facilities, it had everything we needed--shops, fabulous food, the best luau on Oahu, and even Hawaiian crafts. The Coconut Lanai was our favorite spot at the end of the day. And although other guests have commented on the pool, I did not find it small--as there was the "megapool" shared with the Sheraton; the beauty of that is that all the children and teens went to the megapool, leaving the oval pool a perfect place to sun oneself in peace. I was also perfectly happy with what the Royal Hawaiian Hotel offered in way of restaurant, bar, shops; the larger hotels, with all the comotion that comes with them, had none of the Royal Hawaiian's elegance, sophistication, serenity--and tranquility. Finally, when the management found out it was our second honeymoon, we received a number of wonderful perks. I can say with all sincerity that we are already planning our return visit to the Pink Palace for our next anniversary in 2013.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite overlooking the garden, it was blissfully quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Aloha MMPB1963

We are delighted that you had chosen The Royal Hawaiian to celebrate an important milestone.

Located in the heart of downtown Waikiki, The Royal Hawaiian is an architectural gem blending classic elegance with the finest features of modern luxury treasured by many of our guests. We appreciate your acknowledgement.

Our distinctive location and exceptional service truly make The Royal Hawaiian the luxury resort in Waikiki and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next Hawaiian holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hawaiian, a Waikiki Beach Hotel, has Abhasa Spa, renowned restaurants, and a pool with a waterslide and cabanas. We have gorgeous indoor and outdoor event space for weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.