We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Glorious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lenox, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Truly Glorious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We recently spent a couple of days at the Royal Hawaiian. The hotel is wonderful, service was perfect, the recently renovated rooms in the old building were done very well. Check in was a pleasure and really set the mood. The building is pretty remarkable and it is like a little oasis in the middle of Waikiki. Cannot say anything negative except we did not stay long enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Aloha Shelley990,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your endorsement of The Royal Hawaiian.

Our unique destination, unrivaled accommodations and exceptional ambassadors are the foundations of The Royal Hawaiian. We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand. I will be sure to share your kind comments with our ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Waikiki’s luxury destination of choice.


Much aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    557
    247
    100
    72
See reviews for
592
1,062
79
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel back in spring of this year, Feb 2012. Overall this hotel is well maintained. Located in busy Waikiki area, everything is well kept. But the hotel need to educate the valet employees. I was late for dinner reservation and valet was taking too long even though there was only 2 cars before mine. When I complained about the wait time since I was late for the dinner, this valet attendant started to show me the attitude. I won't say his name here, but the valet attendant is very poor mannered, lack of respect for the hotel guests, even threatening. I know it can be hard work on a very hectic day but isn't any job stressful? I never had a valet attendant actually trying to pick up a fight with a hotel guest because the guest was complaining.
When I complained to the manager, no big deal attitude, simple "sorry". I had never experienced this kind of problem at 4 star hotel. It ruined my day and my family's. Maybe it's mostly one time tourists at this hotel and the hotel doesn't care too much since most of them don't come back. I go to Hawaii every year but I will never stay here again. Anyone should complain to Starwood for any problem. Otherwise the management don't care too much.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Aloha Travelmania12,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details from your visit in February. We apologize for the experience that you encountered with our valet service, and please know that this is certainly not our standard. Since the first quarter of 2012, we have had several changes in the valet team and have implemented some additional training with the ambassadors. This management team takes feedback very seriously and we thank you for holding us to the highest standards of service.

Additionally, we thank you for the kind compliment that you felt the resort was “well maintained” for a vibrant downtown location such as Waikiki.

On behalf of the entire The Royal Hawaiian, we hope you will reconsider a return trip to Oahu and allow us the privilege of welcoming you back to The Royal Hawaiian.

Warmest aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A friend and I visited the Royal Hawaiian for a couple of nights, and we were not disappointed. We were greeted with leis and their special drink. The decor of the hotel (redone in 2008) was beautiful and modern, yet in keeping with the era of the properties (1920s). Lots of pink in a tasteful way (who would have thought?)

The room was a good size, and also well designed, if a bit dark for my taste. But its the bed that makes this an amazing experience. It is hands down the best hotel bed I've ever slept in, and maybe even the best bed period. The mattress was so comfortable, the sheets were so soft and the pillows...the pillows (4 of them to each bed) were so great (down) that I had to strip the pillowcase and see what they were so I could order some for home.

The pool is small, and I mean small, for a Hawaiian resort, and the beach was too crowded for my taste, but that's Honolulu.

The staff was truly tested on our second night as we had a tsunami warning and had to evacuate to the Sheraton next door. They were efficient and organized. While I would prefer not to spend four hours in a large lounge with 300 or so fellow travelers, it was handled with skill. And the lounge was quite nice. But I was much happier returning to that excellent bed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Aloha jenbirdistheword,


It has been a true pleasure reading your review. Thank you for the kind compliment “we had a tsunami warning…the Staff were tested… and were efficient and organized.” How wonderful it is to know that under the most stressful of circumstances, the ambassadors were poised and executed with the flawless services for which The Luxury Collection brand is known.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and for submitting a very thoughtful review. We truly appreciate your feedback and wonderful endorsement of our resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hawaiian for your next Hawaiian vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The most charming hotel ever been.
Service: perfect
Room: perfect
Food: perfect

The only small buttleneck is the width of the beach. It is very narrow, but hotel guests has private area.

You can share facilities with the neighbor spg hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Aloha Robert B,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at The Royal Hawaiian. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the “shared facilities” opportunities amongst our other sister properties. It is always a favorite amenity with our guest. I am equally thrilled to hear about “Perfect Service, Perfect Room and Perfect Food.”

We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to our “charming hotel.”

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

A friend of mine & I had never been to Hawaii & we decided to go so we booked a room at TRH last week. We had a fantastic time! The hotel is gorgeous. The staff was fantastic; from Elizabeth who checked us in and was very accommodating in splitting the bill b/w the 2 of us to the very pleasant valet crew & the phenomenal Housekeeping Dept that took care of our every need. Special mention to the adorable Evelyn who performed our turn down service every evening & gave us extra water and chocolates just b/c she knew we liked them. She was always so bubbly and anticipated our needs precisely. The room was gorgeous & we couldn't have asked for a better experience. We'll definitely recommend a stay here to all our friends and family! Mahalo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Aloha Jenna L,

It is a joy to read your recent review of The Royal Hawaiian. We are honored that you selected The Royal Hawaiian as your hotel of choice for your Hawaiian vacation. Our staff strives to provide unparalleled services and memorable experiences to all our guests and I am pleased to read you experienced this first hand.

Thank you for your kind words and we hope you will honor us with a second visit on your next Hawaiian vacation.

Much aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

This is our 2nd time here over the last 12 months and it is mostly as good as we remember for young families. I think other review criticisms of poor service and a small swimming pool (go to the shared Sheraton pool next door) were not our experience. However this year everything seems more expensive.......spg discount room rates, daily resort charge and the deck chair rental charge deterred us from using the beach. At least the price of their scratch mai tais have not changed!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Aloha Sleepytraveller73

Starwood Preferred Guest Program is the industry’s most honored hotel loyalty program.
We value your membership and thank you for your continued loyalty to The Royal Hawaiian and the Starwood family.

We are pleased to hear that this is a return trip for you and your ohana. We are delighted that you enjoyed the share pool experience at Helumoa Playground. Our guests love having the choice of a larger shared pool experience at Helumoa for socializing and for quiet moments, having the intimate adult pool available at The Royal Hawaiian site is a welcome respite.

Thank you for the taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us. Your comments have been shared with our senior leaders for review.

We look forward to welcoming you and The Royal Hawaiian Ohana back again soon.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We recently stayed at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel. It was the most delight experience at a hotel. The Royal Hawaiian truly lives up to it "Luxury Collection" distinction. The grounds are beautiful, the staff goes above and beyond and the hotel itself is a true gem on Waikiki. We stayed in the tower looking out onto Waikiki and the swimming pool. It was the perfect spot to relax and enjoy our week. The beach outside the hotel was busy, but the hotel has plenty of chairs and umbrellas on the beach for rent. If you don't want to rent a chair you can hang out on the chairs at the pool. The pool is small but has a great setup. The Mai Tai at the Mai Tai lounge is a must have. I have to call attention to an exceptional staff member. Rory who works at the front desk is a shining star among a stellar staff. Rory did more to make our stay a 5 star stay than I ever imagined possible. He truly saved up from a booking error (our fault) and never stopped caring until we departed the hotel. He truly is an example of a hospitality professional and an ambassador of the aloha spirit. I would definitly return to the Royal Hawaiian on my next vacation to Honolulu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Aloha Actor4omaha,

Thank you for the gracious compliment about The Royal Hawaiian “is a true gem on Waikiki.”

We take great pride in being a part of The Luxury Collection portfolio, which includes some of the world’s most distinguished and historically significant hotels. Our unique destination, unrivaled accommodations and exceptional ambassadors are the hallmarks of The Royal Hawaiian. Our ambassadors take great pride in offering personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand.

I will be sure that Rory is commended for providing such excellent care during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hawaiian for your next Hawaiian vacation.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hawaiian, a Waikiki Beach Hotel, has Abhasa Spa, renowned restaurants, and a pool with a waterslide and cabanas. We have gorgeous indoor and outdoor event space for weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.