We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel experience, but understand the add-on costs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Save Saved
You added The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Seattle
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel experience, but understand the add-on costs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent one night here before moving to stay with a friend, and we enjoyed the hotel so much we didn't leave it often. We drove in and quickly decided to use valet parking, as there is no parking lot or garage connected directly to the hotel, but that cost is included in the $35/day resort charge. We had opted for a "historic" room rather than a tower room with an ocean view, and we were given with a very large 2-double bed room looking out on a lovely blooming pink tree. The historic builiding is very well maintained, great carved doors, colorful carpeting with furniture to mach. We ate dinner at the Mai Tai bar, and that food was not great; the steak salad seemed to have been pre-made multiple hours before and the sausage pizza was okay, but not outstanding. The breakfast and lunch we had at the Surf Lanai the next day were much better. We were surprised to learn about the cost of renting a hotel-run lounge chair - the ones on the sand in front of the restaurant are $40/day for hotel guests, and the ones out in front along the edge of the beach are $25/hour. With the taxes and resort charges it adds about $100 to your room cost per day. The restaurant bills always include calculated 18% or 20% tips, you stil pick how much to tip but that's the indicator of expectations. The common areas of the hotel are well maintained, but there wasn't anywhere terribly comfortable to sit for a while if you didn't want to spring for a lounge chair. Highly recommended as long as you are okay with the incremental costs.

Room Tip: We were in 319 which looks out towards the Sheraton - a bit noisy when the live music there was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Aloha Wanderlust48,

Mahalo for a very thoughtful review.

We are thrilled that you selected to stay in one of the historic rooms. We take great pride in being a part of The Luxury Collection portfolio, which includes some of the world’s most distinguished and historically significant hotels. Our unique destination, unrivaled accommodations and exceptional ambassadors are the hallmarks of The Royal Hawaiian. I will be sure to share your comments with our senior leaders.


We look forward to welcoming a global traveler back to The Royal Hawaiian, Waikiki’s luxury resort of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    476
    222
    81
    62
See reviews for
516
934
73
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here mid september as part of our 4 trip to Honolulu.We stayed here as a family of five in the Royal Grove room (5th floor) and had a partial view of diamond head and the ocean and the beautiful palm in the garden area below. I picked this hotel primarily due to its reviews and the fact it was one of the few hotels on the beach that was not high rise. It also has been somewhere i had always dreamed of staying and never though it would be within our price range as a larger family now.
From the moment the shuttle dropped us off we were all treated with the utmost care and their hospitality shown towards the kids (ages 2.5, 7 and 9 years) was amazing. We were given a lei accompanied by huge smiles before we checked in, upon where we were greeted with a beautiful drink and the kids were given postcard colouring packs depicting hawaiian images. They were overwhelmed and excited to be such a part of our check in process.
We went up to our room and were not there for long before we hit the streets of Waikiki. Upon our return a package of banana muffins had been delivered to our room. (delicious!)
The room itself had 2 double beds, so comfy at the end of our long days and the room was well maintained and very clean upon arrival. The maids respected our privacy sign upon the door and would just double check that we did'nt need anything if they saw us venture into the hallway.
We loved the very hawaiian feel of this hotel especially since it is set between high rise hotels. The gardens are just stunning and you are mere steps to the beach.
The concierge was very helpful regarding bus timetables and tours we enquired about and had much knowledge off the top of their heads regarding this!
The hotel is in a great location to everything you need, beach, shopping, wonderful places to eat!
Highly recommended and would stay here again in a heartbeat, in fact i have recommended it to many already (we have been back a week) and look forward to returning upon our next trip to Waikiki.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Aloha Jo76

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. It is with complete joy to read your kind compliments about our ambassadors and the exceptional services you and your ‘ohana (family) experienced first hand. In the heart of Waikiki, it is the ambassadors, iconic architecture and the lush landscaping that makes The Royal Hawaiian a luxury destination and tranquil escape for our guests.

We believe The Royal Hawaiian epitomizes the elegance and grace unique in the Hawaiian value of ho’okipa. This is the welcoming of guests and strangers alike with complete generosity of Aloha spirit and hospitality. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our ambassadors are so proud to be a part of The Royal Hawaiian.

We will be sure to share your compliments with our ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming your ‘ohana back to our beautiful island home.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romford essex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This beautiful hotel was book by my husband as a surprise to end our 4 weeks in the islands celebrating my 60th birthday....We was guided to the check in desk where a cool drink and cool towel was waiting for us, the check in was perfect, we had a lovely Royal Garden Jr Suite with separate lounge on the 5th floor on the corner with a sea view, l could not have asked for more, but more was to come, champagne was sent to the room with cakes and the next day a birthday cake arrived....We had a fantastic time, the hotel and all the staff made our stay incredible, breakfast and lunch was perfect every day and the service was 5*... l would recommend this hotel 100%.....

Room Tip: Corner suites were sunny and very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Aloha badger54

We are honored that you chose to celebrate this milestone in your life at The Royal Hawaiian. It is a joy to read your recent review of The Royal Hawaiian. Our ambassadors strive to provide exceptional service to all our guests and we are pleased to read you experienced this first hand.

Thank you for your kind compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our corner of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guttenberg, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The rooms were outstanding, the staff fabulous, and the view to die for! The only problem I had was paying for the beach c.hairs in addition to my room! The charge for the beach chairs was $20 per chair from 8AM to 4PM. The chairs by the pool however were on are on first come first serve basis except for the cabanas which were $140 per day, this was pool side.

Room Tip: Beachfront is a must, the view over the water is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Aloha Deborah S,

We are pleased to hear that our resort and ambassadors exceeded your exceptions. Our unique destination and historical charm is what makes The Royal Hawaiian Resort the luxury destination of choice in Waikiki. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and will be shared with our management team.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kailua, hawaii
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were upgraded(?) to a partial ocean view unfortunately it was an accessible room and not particularly user friendly for us. The Hotel has undergone an expensive renovation but has lost much of its original charm and character.....all the colors and furniture are slightly off it could be tropical anywhere. The maintenance and upkeep of the rooms and public areas are not the best. It seems dark and dreary in the lobby rather than a pleasant cool oasis from the sun.The furniture, carpets and finishes in our room were somewhat shabby and not really clean. What saves this hotel is the quality, friendliness and outstanding service of it's staff at all levels. True Hawaiian Hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Aloha Fullmoonrising,

Thank you for your review and your gracious compliments about the”true Hawaiian hospitality” you experienced first hand. Our ambassadors take great pride in providing exceptional services and sharing the Aloha spirit.

The Royal Hawaiian is a unique expression of our location. We are a part of a collection of some of the world’s most distinguished and historically significant hotels –cherished icons. As part of the National Register of Historic Hotels, we have great respect for the authenticity of our original designs. The Royal Hawaiian was reimagined to gracefully blend past and present. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit to our resort. We value all feedback and have shared your comments with our senior management team.

We hope you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful island home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We spent three nights at the Royal Hawaiian whilst on our honeymoon in May, we were greeted with a lovely flower and bead lei which were put round our necks on arrival. We had a refreshing pink drink and cold flannels given to us whist we checked in. Our room was beautiful with complimentary champagne plus fresh fruit and pastries every day - lovely touch. We had an ocean view - worth the extra money to see Waikiki beach from your room. The hotel beach bar was very good, we had lots of lovely cocktails served by fun waiters, we had to have a blue Hawaiian - when in Rome... You need to book the sun chairs and shades on the beach in advance but lovely to sit in the pink section of the beach and watch the world go by. Breakfast was very good, we didn't eat at the hotel other than breakfast as we wanted to sample some of Honolulu's culinary delights. I would recommend the Royal Hawaiian - its one of only a few of hotels that are situated right on the beach and it really is location, location, location. The hotel decor and interior style and furnishings are beautiful - contemporary flower displays, light fittings and soft furnishings, stunning! We'll be back again one day...

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Aloha Jacqueline S,

Congratulations on your nuptials. We are honored to have played a small role in a very important time of your life together as a new couple.

Starwood's Luxury Collection is a unique collection of hotels and resorts with historic and cultural significance, and at The Royal Hawaiian, it is with great pleasure to maintain the elegant charm of our heritage. We are delighted to hear that you are captivated by our beautiful resort as much as we are.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our corner of paradise.

Warmest aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The first and 2nd nights we were there... we had an infestation of termite like bugs.They did not acknowledge the problem when brought to their attention... but they disappeared the 3rd day. The hotel restoration is pretty nice.... but the resort fees are $35/day on top of your stay. They include internet access which is not the best and car parking fees... They also include some resort activities which we were not interested in. To rent a chair on the beach is $40/day! The bathrooms in the rooms are really small (if you have an average room; like we did). Still the place was clean and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Aloha Paul M,

Mahalo for your kind compliments of our Ambassadors. Our ambassadors take pride in providing exceptional services and care of the surroundings.

We apologize for the insect incident. As an island destination, controlling Mother Nature can be quite a challenge at times. We are deeply saddened to hear that we did not meet your expectations at every level.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our paradise home.

Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hawaiian, a Waikiki Beach Hotel, has Abhasa Spa, renowned restaurants, and a pool with a waterslide and cabanas. We have gorgeous indoor and outdoor event space for weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;