We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This works for me!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1088 Bishop Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96813 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Executive Centre Hotel) (Downtown Honolulu)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Eagle River, Alaska
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“This works for me!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

When in Honolulu on business, finding a hotel away from Waikiki isn't always easy. I haven't found a hotel near Wahiawa, so I made an effort to find something as far from Waikiki on the edge of town and came upon this one. Aston's prices are high, but not as high as Doubletree or other similar properties. So I booked it. What I love about this hotel is the lay-out of the rooms...the 3 times I've stayed I've had a kitchen and separate bedroom with a livingroom. Spacious and modern. Very comfortable.

I suppose its typical for a humid region, but the rooms smell musty when you first arrive; I turned on the AC and it freshened up the room.

Beds are comfortable and the views spectacular.

Its best to arrange your parking spot before you arrive so you don't have to run in and out again to repark your car. Parking is convenient to the hotel and although there is a cost, its not outrageous compared to other properties.

I'll be staying here from now on.

Room Tip: Arrange your parking spot prior to your arrival to save yourself some time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear BeckyH from Alaska,

As a well traveled contributor to tripadvisor.com, we appreciate your great review of our hotel and feel honored that the Aston Executive Centre "works for you"!

We are in total agreement that the hotel is centrally located, comparably priced and provides easy access to all areas on the island of Oahu. We are very happy you enjoyed the spacious fully furnished rooms, comfortable bedding and spectacular views....that has brought you back three times. The rooms are larger than most standard hotel rooms and the layout allows you to relax in an unconfined space.

You bring up an important informational item that we email to all our incoming guests (that some of our guests tell us was not provided to them by the person/agency who booked them). If you have a rental car and need parking, please contact the Front Desk (at 808-539-3000) on your way to the hotel. The Front Desk Clerk will provide you with a "Reserved" parking stall to park in when you arrive. The Front Desk Clerk will also go directly to your car to assist you with your luggage after you check in therefore you do not have to lug your luggage to the Front Desk. Please let us make your stay more care free and enjoyable.

We are glad that you enjoyed all three of your stays with us and hope to see you again very soon. Stay warm.

Sincerely

Clem

If anyone has any questions or concerns about our hotel, please feel free to contact me directly at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    60
    29
    16
    8
See reviews for
20
38
15
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A great location for business, near bus routes (one of the best public transportation systems in the USA). Nearby shopping! I really loved the jacuzzi bath! Not far far from Waikiki & Ala Moana Mall. Quiet!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Rickra from Alaska,

We appreciate the great review of our hotel!

We are glad you enjoyed relaxing in your room's spa tub, after a long day of productive work. As you stated, the hotel is conveniently located close to shopping, the Ala Moana Mall and Waikiki. We agree that the hotel is centrally located, quiet and is excellent for doing business in Honolulu.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely

Clem

If anyone has any questions or concerns about our hotel, please feel free to contact me directly at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The awesome thing about this hotel is the location. It is centrally located and close to a lot of great restaurants in Chinatown. We had a fantastic view of the harbor and the city. I appreciate the cleanliness of this hotel with its spacious rooms. The only thing I was disappointed in was having to pay for parking daily in their own hotel garage. All in all though, we enjoyed our stay and will be back next time we are in Honolulu.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Spencer S,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!

We are glad that you enjoyed your clean and spacious room with "fantistic views of the harbor and the city". And are happy that you enjoyed the great variety of Downtown restaurants with their diversity of culinary offerings.

The Downtown/Chinatown food scene is growing. One block from the hotel, there is a cuban restaurant, a french restaurant, a pizza pub, a sushi bar and a cheesecake bakery...all on the same block. And after dinner, you can simply cross the street to the historic Hawaii Theatre and enjoy a hula competition, a jazz concert, the Ms. Chinatown pagent, a broadway play or an opera.

We are extremely pleased that you had a memorable stay at the Aston Executive Centre and we hope to see you again very soon.

Thank you for taking the time to post on Tripadvisor.com.

Sincerely

Clem

If anyone has any questions or concerns about our hotel, please feel free to contact me directly at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

First off, the cab drivers don't know where this place is so tell them "the corner of Bishop and Hotel street." It is away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki but there are plenty of city buses (#8-$2.50 cash) to take you there. Surrounded by plenty of locals restaurants. You need to pick up breakfast items for your room as there is no longer a continental breakfast, so ask for a toaster. They are building a Walmart next door, so that will be convenient. The rooms do smell moldy when you first walk in. Beds are very comfortable, shower is nice, full dining room table with computer desk and free wifi. Great coffee place in the lobby.cReally, really quiet. Go downstairs on the escalator to find the lobby. There is a pool, but it feels like being in an apartment complex. This is really a business hotel, great for catching a cruise ship or overnight stay for the airport, or if you need to be downtown for business. Not so much a "bring the kids and hang out at the beach" place for vacation.

Room Tip: Get a harbor facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Sailmedic ,

As a well traveled contributor to tripadvisor.com, we appreciate the great review of our hotel!

We agree that the hotel is centrally located, quiet and does not have the impersonal feel of a hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the fully furnished room, comfortable bedding and free WI-FI. The area around the Aston Executive Centre is growing. As you mentioned, a new Walmart will be opening soon next door and a Wallgreens is being added, just across the street from CVS. There is a wonderful selection of island coffees served at Beach Bum Cafe, brewed from coffee beans grown in different parts of each of the Hawaiian islands and the hotel is "surrounded by plenty of locals restaurants"..

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely

Clem

If anyone has any questions or concerns about our hotel, please feel free to contact me directly at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel smells like mold and wet. I have an allergy for the mold, I couldn't stop coughing. I asked the air purifier, but the humidifier was delivered.
The room was suites but very dirty and dark.
The bath room was awful.
I will never go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Aloha G G,

I am sorry that you did not have a positive experience at our hotel. We do our best to ensure that our guests are satisfied and that we meet their expectations.

The hotel management team physically checked your room today and did not find the conditions you described in your posting.

We do care very much about our guests and their comfort. We wished that you contacted the hotel staff or management about your dissatisfaction during your one night stay. We would done all that we can to assist in improving your experience, even if that meant finding you alternate accommodations. We want your time in Hawaii to be all that you expected it to be.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Aston Executive Centre.

Best regards,

Clem

If anyone has any questions or concerns about our hotel, please feel free to contact me directly at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I just spent a few nights at the Executive center in downtown Honolulu as a short stop over on our way to Kauai. My husband squeezed a work meeting in our vacation so we opted for this location vs. Waikiki and I'm so glad we did! The hotel is centrally located in Honolulu city and was a short 15 minute cab ride from the airport and about the same to Waikiki. The rooms were clean, nicely furnished and had great views. We were able to walk each morning to China Town and buy all kinds of exotic fruits and other Hawaiian products (our unit had a kitchen with a full-size refrigerator). We also loved the coffee shop at the top of the lobby entrance with coffee varieties from all the Hawaiian islands. The staff was very friendly and had great suggestions for all kinds of sights and activities within walking distance and we really enjoyed the interesting historic/colonial architecture of the city buildings. Overall, for the price we paid and the convenient access to so many of Honolulu's sights I would give this hotel 5 stars for the value. We were able to do so many things in the 2.5 days we spent in Honolulu, including surfing at Waikiki beach! We were relieved to have some distance from the main touristy areas but happy to be a short cab ride away. We will be back.

Room Tip: I was told by the staff that there are various floor plans and some are small like a typical hotel r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear SeaJacque,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely

Clem

If anyone has any questions or concerns about our hotel, please feel free to contact me directly at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

While there is absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel, for the price I was expecting a little more. There are a few odd features which I think are largely associated with the fact that the building the hotel is in is a mixture of condominiums that people live in and hotel rooms. So each floor is a mix of both and the rooms are configured a little oddly for a hotel room as a result. When you open the door to your room there is a very small galley like kitchen with a cooker, fridge and microwave which is handy, but there's no kettle and no toaster, so you end up boiling water in a saucepan and toasting toast in a fry pan. Coming from a country where tea is drunk as often as coffee, this seemed a little odd, but nothing you couldn't get around. There is then this long room connecting the kitchen area with the bedroom, with a desk in one corner. So other than the desk it's a rather large empty space which you end up not utilsing at all. The bedroom however has floor to ceiling windows and mine had the most amazing views out over the harbour. There's very little noise travel from other rooms, which is a high priority for me, so big ticks there. I didn't use the pool on site, but there is a restaurant/bar on the same floor as the lobby. The other odd thing about the hotel is that you go down a set of escalators to get to the lobby, only to get into the lift and go up to your room. Again, not a big deal, but just a little odd. Staff are friendly and efficient and happy to help. The hotel is close to chinatown so there's lots of small restaurants, take aways, small bars etc close by. All in all, as an option for someone on business and needing to be in the downtown area, this is a good hotel.

Room Tip: Higher is better - you get the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear chasingfish,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!

The Aston Executive Centre is a condo-hotel therefore it is a nice mix of residents and hotel guests that gives the building a homey feeling versus a cold impersonal feel of a hotel. You will find, people living in the building are friendly and helpful.

And if you require a toaster, tea pot, blender, DVD player, etc., please contact the Housekeeping Department as they have these items available for our guests use, at no charge.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely

Clem

If anyone has any questions or concerns about our hotel, please feel free to contact me directly at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel

Address: 1088 Bishop Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96813 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Executive Centre Hotel)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Downtown Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-suite hotel located in the heart of downtown Honolulu's financial district, near government offices, business and dining. With complimentary continental breakfast, free daily newspaper and business center, this property is fully equipped with all the amenities for the business traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Honolulu
Executive Centre Hotel Hawaii
Resortquest Honolulu
Aston At The Executive Centre Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.