We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance and warm Aloha retained over 50 years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Kahala Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Elegance and warm Aloha retained over 50 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Kahala Hotel and Resort retains the elegance and traditional warm Aloha spirit that it had over 50 years ago. This hotel was initially owned by Hilton, then by the Mandarin group, and now is under new management but they have retained most of the original staff and the elegance and warm Aloha spirit has not been lost. I grew up visiting the hotel while in high school and returned in 1983 to run in the Honolulu Marathon. This recent visit was for my 50th high school reunion. I can't praise the hotel staff enough. The warm welcome and genuine care and Aloha were remarkable. Lynn at the front desk placed us in a wonderful room overlooking the porpoises and the hotel beach. The hotel has been maintained well over the past 50+ years and is not showing its age at all. The bell and valet service was excellent and warm. The housekeepers were all very gracious.

Room Tip: The low units adjacent to the porpoise lagoon were ideal for us. We watched the porpoises and had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,231
    318
    119
    52
    48
See reviews for
560
834
41
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Wonderful resort hidden in a residential area beyond Diamond Head and away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki; a place for peace and quiet. Magnificent lobby. Spacious guest rooms are well appointed and the bathrooms have his and her areas at opposite ends of the room from each other, a very nice feature. Bed was very comfortable, and the balcony wall is covered in drape adding to the feel of spaciousness and luxury. Your kids can even swim with the dolphins and there are tropical fish, turtles and sting rays all for viewing in the decorative pools outside the hotel door. There are several dining options. You really could spend your entire time here and not leave the property.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent 3 nights at the Kohala and we did our research before we left home. Tripadvisor, Jetsetter and even Andrew Harper ranked this property very high, so we went on the advice of all that research and with high expectations. We were also travelling with another couple and they too saw the high ratings of this hotel. Sadly, none of us will be returning to the Kohala as we were disappointed.
When we booked, we reserved a partial ocean view room. When we entered the room it was clearly a mountain view room, and we asked to change rooms. Granted, if you stood on the balcony on a stool and leaned way over and looked far right you might have seen a sliver of ocean in the distance. This room however did not match the picture printout we had with us of a partial ocean view from the hotel website. They changed our room to an ocean front room. The room was very nice, roomy and bright. But, there was a huge parking garage in front of this ocean view.
We were ok until the second morning of our stay. We had booked the bed and breakfast package which included daily breakfast at Plumeria restaurant and this was confirmed at check-in. They even handed me a printout about this breakfast package and it all looked nice. When we arrived for breakfast on the second morning, we were told by a man with a snotty attitude that we needed a reservation for breakfast and he would not seat us. He repeated this several times and told us to try our luck getting a seat at the bar to eat. We ate here yesterday--no problems. Now, if a reservation was necessary why wasn't I told I needed a reservation? It wasn't stated on that printout I was given at check-in. Or why didn't they offer to make a reservation for me since the breakfast package was included in my reservation? The Kohala is in a residential neighborhood, so there are no other nearby restaurants or even a Starbucks to go to if your hotel refuses to seat you. But, we were able to grab 4 seats at the bar after a brief wait and ordered breakfast. Danny and Freddy took good care of us there, and they were so helpful and kind--thank you to you both. The valet and bell staff were also superb here.
We have stayed at other properties in Honolulu and this is not a bad hotel (especially if this is your first visit to Oahu), but it is not close to being the best either. It was built in the 1950s, has a small pool area and is far away from everything. And for us ....
It just felt like there was always something a little bit wrong here all the time!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, North Carolina
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Ok, let's get it out of the way: yes the hotel is 10 minutes away from Waikiki and upscale shopping and famous restaurants, but it doesn't matter, you are never going to leave the property. It is expensive, but worth every penny. Get the best room your budget will allow, you won't regret it.

The service is spot on, attentive,and prompt, without being intrusive. At check-in, I discovered that I had not reserved a room with a lanai. I asked if I could pay to upgrade, none were available. They offered me an upgrade to a suite at a reasonable up charge. We took it, it was worth every penny.

Regardless, the rooms are great, large bathrooms, double sinks, separate bath and shower, large closets, great beds and pillows. Turn down service and 2 bottles of water per day and free internet. We had the breakfast buffet included with our room, I would Reccomend doing that, but if you don't, have the breakfast buffet at least 1 day. It is one of the few hotel breakfast buffets that is worth it from a quality and variety offering. Everything from American style to European style, to Japanese style cuisine. Fresh fruits and baked goods, etc etc.

All of the restaurants on premises are excellent from casual light fare to fine dining with a dress code at Hoku. We never left the premises for 5 days, except to visit Pearl Harbor and the Arizona memorial.

If you reported something needed fixing they didn't just note it, they fixed or replaced it immediately. We had a cappuccino machine in our suite( surprisingly). We love coffee so we used it quite a bit. The 3rd day it broke. I told the front desk, they reacted like it was really important. I didn't expect anything to happen. We came back from the beach, it was replaced and ready to go!

Speaking of the beach and pool areas, they are quiet, relaxing and well kept. Plenty of space and chairs, and food and drink service. And believe it or not, for Oahu and a luxury resort, the prices were fair. Much more so than Maui.

I don't know what more I can say other than we will come back, and you should not hesitate to stay here.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Overall the Kahala is very nice, but it's bones are old... and showing.
Lobby and restaurants are great. Bars close a little early though.
Service is on par with any major American resort... very good, but not exceptional.

Rooms are large but old. Everything about them feels very 1960's. Televisions are big screen, but wall mounted and have to be folded out of the way in order to enter the bathroom. Cabling for power, internet and TV are all in visible, but tidy, cable channels. Bathrooms have his and her sinks, but a tiling job that reminds you of Grandma's vacation home. Gym/Spa and locker rooms are almost an afterthought addition. Overall architecture of the whole hotel looks 1960's.

It is a luxury hotel, it does have modern amenities, but if feels really old. It's time for a makeover.

ALSO... LOVE THE SEA SALT DARK CHOCOLATES!!!!

Room Tip: 6th floor has very nice suites. 1st floor is not very nice and no balconies. Dolphin wing is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

spa: GREAT service! very secluded and private.
Arancino's: neat
Hoku's: servers and staff very charming, food was terrific
Dolphins: a fun, once in a lifetime experience
luxurious way to spend the weekend

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Within minutes drive to all the restaurants and shopping of Waikiki . This hotel is located at a peaceful, beautiful spot away from the crowds and noise. The hotel itself is beautiful. The staff were all friendly and helpful. It is worth the price to stay here! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kahala Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.