We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Small Piece of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Kahala Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Genesee Depot, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Small Piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Kahala is an exquisite resort property right on the beach and away from the more hectic area of Waikiki. The beach offers seclusion in that it is bordered by two peninsulas and has no neighboring hotels or resorts. The rooms offer over 550 sq. ft. of space and include a very large his and hers bathroom. The very comfortable bed was made up with luxurious bedding. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning at the Plumeria which offered optional outdoor seating. We also had outstanding dining experiences at the on property Veranda and Arancino. We enjoyed the cocktail offerings in the restaurants, and the drinks and food served on the beach from the Sea Side Grill were also outstanding. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We took advantage of the very knowledgable concierge staff for off property restaurant suggestions and reservations.

Room Tip: Our lanai room with a full balcony had a great view of a waterfall and part of the lagoon. An ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    313
    116
    52
    47
See reviews for
547
820
40
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Kahala Resort for 4 days for a short visit to Honolulu. We wanted to avoid the business of Waikiki and the Kahala fit the bill. In addition, the amenities and staff made the stay very pleasant. Great beach, restaurants, and even a shuttle to shopping and downtown. The packages were attractive as well, and we too the breakfast inclusive package. Great European style buffet. Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Least expensive but very quiet rooms overlook the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was incredibly impressed with the Kahala. On my vacation, I spent a week on the Big Island and spent 4 days in Oahu visiting my cousin who lives in Waikiki. Coming from New York City, I didn't want to stay in a big bustling city and the Kahala was perfect. It was a beautifully done hotel that was right on the beach with every amenity you could ask for. Every member of the staff was incredibly friendly and went out of their way to make my stay perfect. The cab ride into Waikiki was a bit of a hassle, but the hotel operated a shuttle that went back and forth. The beach was perfect and very restful and I had a terrific time here. I would highly recommend this hotel to any and all.

Room Tip: Oceanfront views were spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had the privilege of staying at the Kahala for 5 days and service is second to none. Every staff person went out of their way to see if there was anything they could do for us. The rooms were spacious and the turn down service each night was a nice treat. The valets were quick to retrieve your car and made sure to ask if you needed directions.
The food at Hoku was one of the best dinners we have ever had and I will share a separate review for that. Plumeria and the Seaside Grill also had excellent food and service. The service at the Seaside Grill is a bit more laid back.
We did the dolphin adventure and that was outstanding - so much fun and such talented staff and of course the dolphins are so smart! There are stingrays, turtles and tons of fish in a couple of pools along the walkways.
There are a couple of things to think about regarding the facilities - the pool is a bit small and although it wasn't that crowded in the pool - scoring chairs around the pool depends on the time of day if you need more than 2 (there were 4 of us and we all like our own chair). We bought "water shoes" for the beach because the coral reef is close to the shore and the sand is a bit muddy. We rented two rooms and required them to be connecting - there was a daily fee for this - I certainly don't understand why - it just doesn't fit with the rest of the experience and is the small amount of revenue worth upsetting a guest over?
I didn't consider the previous 3 observations to be significant - just something to be aware of.

Room Tip: See my last 3 observations regarding water shoes, the size of the pool and connecting room fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We just returned from our 2015 March break vacation with a less than stellar hotel stay (5 star Phoenician in Scottsdale). It made me think of our trip last March to Honolulu and our stay at the Kahala that I never reviewed! Better late than never! Just 15 minutes from crazy Waikiki is this beautiful resort. It has its own private beach and 5 star amenities. It has the island's only swim with dolphins encounter which was a highlight for our 2 daughters. We rented a car on site at Hertz (convenient but indifferent staff and not full time service) and drove around the Island, to Pearl Harbour and into Waikiki a few times. Great place to visit but would not want to stay at the very crowded hotels and beach! Breakfast buffet at Plumeria was amazing. Huge offering and such a beautiful setting especially sitting outside. Unfortunately, given the Kahala's location, you have to eat on site unless you drive into Waikiki or elsewhere. There is a regular shuttle but the drive home takes quite a long time due to stops. Our favourite on-site restaurant was Arancino where we had dinner twice - pricey but delicious Italian fare. Plumeria was fair for dinner and the Vernanda was nice for drinks but not great for food (slow and inexperienced staff). The restaurants could do a better job with their children's offerings all around, especially as it is such a family friendly hotel. The hotel was not super busy for March break (everyone was in Florida?!) so lots of chairs by the pool and on the beach. They didn't nickel and dime you for extras like a lot of resorts do. No resort fee, for example. Included in rate was Plumeria's amazing buffet breakfast for 2 (or 1 adult and 2 kids), Wi-Fi, newspapers, pool and beach towels and loungers etc. Concierge made us reservations at the Hilton Luau which was a real highlight (you don't go for the food though!). Loved this hotel and will stay again if we return to Oahu!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just spent 3 nights at The Kahala and it was wonderful. The property is beautiful. Not too large but spacious with beautiful grounds. We had connecting rooms that were very large with amazing bathrooms. Plumeria restaurant has a delicious buffet breakfast. Overall wonderful experience!!

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been coming to the Kahala for the past 42 years. Although it changes with remodels it always is the same with kind and courteous service. There are a few suggestions that I would recommend to improve my NEXT stay. 1) Improve the food selection for dinner at the Plumeria 2) Make sure who ever the hostess is that she speaks and understands both English and her or his other language equally.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kahala Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.