We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel on a beautiful sandy beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added The Kahala Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$335 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel on a beautiful sandy beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A great hotel to stay in if you want a lovely sandy beach away from the maddening crowds of Waikiki. Especially good for children, dolphin pool attraction (not just performing for guests but also great work being carried out by marine biologists). Large rooms, great king size beds, lovely linen & large bathrooms with separate dressing tables. A classic hotel, with a wonderful entrance foyer. Staff are all wonderful, friendly & always willing to assist. A car or taxi needed but shuttle provided to Ala Moana shopping centre. Taxi to Waikiki approx $25-00 & Ala Moana Shopping centre $30-00.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    284
    103
    52
    42
See reviews for
495
703
38
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived at the hotel and were blown away by how beautiful the grounds and interior are. Great location away from Waikiki and Honolulu, but close enough that you can get to all the restaurants and fun events.

The room was some comfy and homey. It was a decent size and the views from the scenic rooms are amazing. Another great surprise was the dolphin/ fish salt water "tank." It was fun watching the dolphins, turtles, sting rays, etc...

The beach is small, but get's the job done. The staff is also so friendly and warm. Really a great overall experience.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My sons wedding was here. Yes, the wedding was almost perfect. Worth every penny. Beautiful and relatively easy. Expensive, but worth it.
Accommodations are very expensive for what you get. Rooms and amenities are clean, but not updated. At least not in my room.
I paid for weeklong accommodations for five rooms. I actually asked for an upgrade. First, I was told no. Then I was given an 'upgrade' to a second floor room, good view but nothing special. I did get a late check out for my room. Free of charge.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khr H, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Aloha Suzreiman1,

Congratulations on your son’s recent nuptials! We were honored to read that The Kahala was selected to commemorate your son’s wedding and it was a beautiful wedding day.

We are disappointed to hear that your stay was not up to your standards. We take feedback seriously and will follow-up for development.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Kahala for a future Hawaii vacation.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We've been to Hawaii many times, but this is our first stay at the Kahala. It won't be our last. Beautiful hotel with first class service. Our room is large, with a comfortable king size bed. Bathroom is more than roomy, with separate dressing tables and closets for 2 people. Linens are wonderful.
Our room overlooked the golf course and ocean, with a large balcony.
Beach is one of the best we've been to. Lots of comfy chaises and umbrellas if you want one. Water is sandy bottom unlike many coral and rock bottoms around.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Loved all the fresh flowers and vintage look of the hotel.
Americans are definately in the minority here. I did hear a few guests complain about the difference in customs, especially when lining up for service at the breakfast buffet. Not a problem for us, but if you don't travel much and aren't used to differences in cultures it may be a problem for some.
We enjoyed everything and definately will return.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khr H, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Aloha annsmom,

We are always thrilled to read feedback from our global travelers. We realized that you have a choice on any travel destination in the world and you selected The Kahala for your travels. We thank you for your support and for taking the time to share your exceptional experiences with the Trip Advisor community

We were equally thrilled to hear that you received outstanding services and at every level. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our hotel staff are so proud to be a part of The Kahala ohana. I will be sure to share your compliments with our staff and leadership. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kahala for you next Hawaii vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fantastic hotel and resort with unbelievably attentive and friendly, first class staff. A totally idilic location with 5 star services. We were truly spoilt rotten from the moment we arrive to the moment we left. Loads to do on the resort and the scenery is absolutely breathtaking. Thank you Kahala for making our honeymoon truely magical!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khr H, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Aloha Matthew H,

Congratulation son your recent nuptials. We are honored that you select the resort for your honeymoon celebration. Thank you for taking the time to share your exceptional experiences at The Kahala. We look forward to celebrating many anniversaries ahead with you and your new bride!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here. It was truly wonderful. The lobby is beautiful, as well as the lower lobby which was just newly carpeted while we were there. They did an excellent job. There was a wedding every day, and it's a beautiful place for a wedding! Everyone was very friendly - from check-in to checkout and everyone in between. The breakfast buffet at Plumeria Restaurant was very good, lots of options. We had the ocean front lanai room. The views were spectacular. The bathroom was very spacious. Yes, the room is a little outdated, but still beautiful. Housekeeping and turn down service were very good. The shopping shuttle was great. We were able to get to Waikiki in 15 minutes. The pool is great, as well as the beach. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khr H, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Aloha Ror87,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your recent stay at The Kahala. Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled to hear that you had an outstanding stay at the resort and you took advantage of the complimentary shuttle service provided to Kahala resort guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future for your next Hawaii holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Kahala is even better than advertised - it's own private beach is beautiful and the pool area is lovely too. The staff are so helpful and do everything to make your stay amazing. There was some building work that we could hear from our room and they immediately upgraded us to an ocean view suite for free, which was fab!

The food is expensive so we didn't eat there but the breakfasts are excellent, we found that we didn't need lunch after them. The shuttle is brilliant too and provides free drop offs and collects to three different locations - all of which have a supermarket so you can buy your own food if you like.

You can rent cars on site too if you want to take a trip - would recommend the North Shore which is about an hour away. Definitely go Scuba Diving too!

I was a bit concerned about the welfare of the in house dolphins but they are well looked after and very happy. (It's not like the dreaded Sea World!)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are louder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khr H, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Aloha h0llyjsc,

Congratulation on your recent nuptials. Thank for selecting The Kahala Hotel & Resort to celebrate. We are pleased to read that you had an outstanding stay at the resort and enjoyed all the amenities the resort has to offer.

We were very pleased to hear that you took advantage of the resort’s complimentaty shuttle service and enjoyed the many sites of Waikiki.

We hope that your experiences at The Kahala will continue to be your favorite travel story to share again and again. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next Hawaii holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kahala Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.