We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added The Kahala Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$355 (USD)
Ranked #5 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the Bell boys to our departure and check out we felt that we were treated like royalty. All staff are courteous and helpful with the simplest of enquiries. Choice of two great restaurants as well as a pool side grill. And then there's the dolphins-wow!
We had a mountain view room on the first floor. It was huge and well resourced. Our balcony was almost as big and also had glimpses of the ocean.
This is a great place to stay as it away from the 'touristy' areas of Waikiki. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to the Kahala Mall where you will find a great range of shops.
One fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and huge. It all depends whether you want pay extra for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    969
    268
    97
    51
    42
See reviews for
455
659
38
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Fantastic resort - 50+ years it has been around, but the rooms and hotel are updated and ridiculously comfortable. It hasn't tried to hide its history...it is comfortable with its age, but the facility has kept itself relevant. You are 15 minutes away from the insanity of Waikiki, it feels like you are on the slow side of Maui. Uncrowded beach, very family friendly , excellent food at breakfast buffet (Plumeria - the view alone is worth it) and the three other on site restaurants. Having the 6 dolphins on site just add to the experience. In 6 days, we had two sub par wait staff, but that was easily the exception rather than the rule. We had excellent service the rest of the time, and they were kind enough to extend one of our rooms until late afternoon to accommodate a late flight out. Stayed in a Scenic ocean view suite - which had a nice corner shot of the ocean (viewable from balcony), and great views of the adjacent golf course and hillside. Beds excellent, shower/bathroom were well equipped. Will return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Refer to their PDF of 2014 published rates. But would avoid the Ocean View / Ocean View Lanai - par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent service, professional staff who anticipated all our needs. 13 of 24 of our family members stayed at the Kahala on this trip. All 24 enjoyed breakfast at the Plumeria. The resort staff met all our needs and beyond. We have made more than 30 visits to your resort and each stay always exceed our expectations..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Aloha Joseph M,

Mahalo for your loyalty and selecting The Kahala as your destination of choice for you Hawaii vacation. The staff has set the standard for luxury here in Honolulu and I am delighted that you experienced this first hand. We look forward to welcoming the ohana back to the resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington, new zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A most enjoyable hotel and resort. Relaxing, yet there are enough activities to tire even youngsters! Try snorkelling in front of the hotel - beautiful fish to be seen. A truly worthwhile holiday experience.

Room Tip: All rooms have nice views, are clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Aloha Jesa47,

Mahalo for the kind comments. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming the ohana back to the resort for another fun Hawaii vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at eight different hotels in Hawaii, from the overrated Helekulani to the always excellent Four Seasons. However, on Oahu, the Kahala is the best.

The property could use a face lift, but the structure has been well maintained with some upgrading over the years from its days as a Mandarin and is on one of the better parcels of land in the Waikiki area. It is about 10 minutes in taxi from the more centrally located Moana Sufrider, and is located in the Diamond Head/ Kaphahula area. The beach is private and away from the congestion of Waikiki central, the hotel maintains a dolphin pool, and is adjacent to one of the best golf courses on the island where President Clinton once played.

Our suits was spacious with self cleaning toilet seats overlooking the beach and golf course. At a rate less than the Halekulani where most views are of another hotel room, I thought that the Kahala was a good value.

Perhaps the best part of the experience was the service. The staff goes out of their way to accommodate you. They are pleasant, friendly, and knowledgeable -- three traits I seldom find in the many five star hotels I stay at throughout the year.

The food is good and better than most hotels in the area. However, Oahu has some exceptional restaurants on the island, so if you want fine dining, you might try some of the other spots like Alan Wong and La Mer.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha Antionio10,

Mahalo for the kind comments and for sharing your Kahala experience with the Trip Advisor community. Without a doubt the team was excited when we read, "Perhaps the best part of the experience was the service. The staff goes out of their way to accommodate you. They are pleasant, friendly, and knowledgeable -- three traits I seldom find in the many five star hotels."

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is very tidy,clean and the staff were wonderful to us.Always polite and helpful.The private beach is safe for the whole family and not crowded, even at this time of the year.Restaurants very good with great service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha Eugene W,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review and for the kinds words. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon.

Very best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I visited The Kahala in June 2014. From the minute we arrived to when we left we felt welcome and well looked after. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. We requested a wheelchair accessible room with wheel in shower and the room was just as requested. The hotel is totally wheel chair accessible and we had no problems getting round anywhere. Cameron on the Concierge desk was extremely helpful finding us a wheelchair accessible trip to Pearl Harbour. We ate in most of the restaurants and the food was always wonderful. We would certainly visit again if we had the chance .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha Stephen T,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.

We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you experience this first hand. I will be sure to share your kind comments with Cameron. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island home and our resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kahala Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.