We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Kahala Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$335 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Santa Monica, California
1 review
“The best ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Excellent service, professional staff who anticipated all our needs. 13 of 24 of our family members stayed at the Kahala on this trip. All 24 enjoyed breakfast at the Plumeria. The resort staff met all our needs and beyond. We have made more than 30 visits to your resort and each stay always exceed our expectations..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Aloha Joseph M,

Mahalo for your loyalty and selecting The Kahala as your destination of choice for you Hawaii vacation. The staff has set the standard for luxury here in Honolulu and I am delighted that you experienced this first hand. We look forward to welcoming the ohana back to the resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    295
    110
    53
    43
See reviews for
515
759
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wellington, new zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

A most enjoyable hotel and resort. Relaxing, yet there are enough activities to tire even youngsters! Try snorkelling in front of the hotel - beautiful fish to be seen. A truly worthwhile holiday experience.

Room Tip: All rooms have nice views, are clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Aloha Jesa47,

Mahalo for the kind comments. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming the ohana back to the resort for another fun Hawaii vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have stayed at eight different hotels in Hawaii, from the overrated Helekulani to the always excellent Four Seasons. However, on Oahu, the Kahala is the best.

The property could use a face lift, but the structure has been well maintained with some upgrading over the years from its days as a Mandarin and is on one of the better parcels of land in the Waikiki area. It is about 10 minutes in taxi from the more centrally located Moana Sufrider, and is located in the Diamond Head/ Kaphahula area. The beach is private and away from the congestion of Waikiki central, the hotel maintains a dolphin pool, and is adjacent to one of the best golf courses on the island where President Clinton once played.

Our suits was spacious with self cleaning toilet seats overlooking the beach and golf course. At a rate less than the Halekulani where most views are of another hotel room, I thought that the Kahala was a good value.

Perhaps the best part of the experience was the service. The staff goes out of their way to accommodate you. They are pleasant, friendly, and knowledgeable -- three traits I seldom find in the many five star hotels I stay at throughout the year.

The food is good and better than most hotels in the area. However, Oahu has some exceptional restaurants on the island, so if you want fine dining, you might try some of the other spots like Alan Wong and La Mer.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Aloha Antionio10,

Mahalo for the kind comments and for sharing your Kahala experience with the Trip Advisor community. Without a doubt the team was excited when we read, "Perhaps the best part of the experience was the service. The staff goes out of their way to accommodate you. They are pleasant, friendly, and knowledgeable -- three traits I seldom find in the many five star hotels."

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The place is very tidy,clean and the staff were wonderful to us.Always polite and helpful.The private beach is safe for the whole family and not crowded, even at this time of the year.Restaurants very good with great service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Aloha Eugene W,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review and for the kinds words. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon.

Very best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I visited The Kahala in June 2014. From the minute we arrived to when we left we felt welcome and well looked after. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. We requested a wheelchair accessible room with wheel in shower and the room was just as requested. The hotel is totally wheel chair accessible and we had no problems getting round anywhere. Cameron on the Concierge desk was extremely helpful finding us a wheelchair accessible trip to Pearl Harbour. We ate in most of the restaurants and the food was always wonderful. We would certainly visit again if we had the chance .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Aloha Stephen T,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.

We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you experience this first hand. I will be sure to share your kind comments with Cameron. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island home and our resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I just got back from a wonderful 5 night stay at the Kahala Hotel & Resort. The purpose of my trip was to relax, let go of stress, get in the healing Hawaiian ocean and see friends that live nearby. The resort exceeded all my expectations in every way! So much so that I'm returning in December with my Husband! I had many, many choices as to where to go. I had always wanted to stay at this resort and finally, I made it happen. Elegant, comfortable, excellent restaurants and attentive staff. The room I stayed in was on the 7th floor facing the mountains. Beds, pillows, size of the room, the lanai - all fantastic! I slept well each night! The breakfast buffet was included in my room price. You could not want for anything more. The buffet had everything anyone could desire.............I especially enjoyed eating dinner at Hoku - their specialty Poki appetizer is not to be missed! I also loved their new Italian restaurant - AranCino. The presentation of the food was so much more than I expected. I loved the square rosemary focaccia bread and their heirloom tomato salad. Their wine list was great and the service so friendly! I had a massage and was very pleased with the service I received, although very expensive! The only downside of my trip was that I did have very noisy neighbors across the hall from my room with lots of kids that continually played in the hallway, cried and yelled at their parents. It's amazing how parents these days cannot be respectful of others. They seem to lose touch that there are others in the same Hotel that may not want to hear their children crying or yelling in common areas...........I called the Front Desk and they took care of this problem right away and offered to move my room. The Hotel Manager came up to my room to apologize. I was pleased with the attentiveness of the staff in regards to this problem. Apparently, I was not the only one complaining about this family..........All in all, I came back relaxed, tan and ready to face the "real" world again! I can't wait to experience the Kahala again.............

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Aloha Robin L,

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review and for sharing your experiences with the Trip Advisor community. I am thrilled to hear that you have an outstanding stay and receive exceptional service at every level. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kahala in December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I have virtually no complaints about my stay. The staff are amazing. The room was fantastic. They went above and beyond to acknowledge my birthday. The food is exceptional. The views are unreal. We especially loved that the hotel is outside the city. The privacy factor was a huge plus for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Aloha Jaime T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful visit and was able to find rest and relaxation during your stay at The Kahala. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next Hawaii vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Loews Hotels, LHW, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kahala Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.