We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added The Kahala Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$355 (USD)
Ranked #6 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Mount Vernon, New York
1 review
“Paradise in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Recently stayed at the Kahala Resort and Spa June 27 through July 3. Upon arrival we were immediately greeted by the bellhop staff, luggage promptly handled and shown to check in. The reservationist that handled our check in was Noel. What a pleasure. Just the right amount of cheerfulness to make you feel instantly welcomed!! Throughout our stay, the hotel staff was always there to assist, everyone from the cleaning staff, the front desk, the shuttle service the concierge. A special shout out to Rose and Sarah of the cleaning staff, and to Cameron, and James, concierge staff and last but not least, Noel, front desk. Our room faced the mountainside what a beautiful view. The room was spacious and relaxing, the bathroom contained both a shower a huge soaking tub with double his and hers sinks. This is a family friendly resort, but exceptionally quiet. My favorite part of the resort was the Veranda where you could sit out in rocking chairs and overlook the hotel grounds with an unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean and listen to the live jazz nightly while enjoying a cocktail. Truly paradise!

Dee G.
Chicago

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    953
    265
    97
    50
    42
See reviews for
446
653
37
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Kahala for the first half of our honeymoon trip to Hawaii and were blown away. The service was unbeatable and the resort itself was amazing. No other place on our trip matched the Kahala.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It was many years ago but good/great memories last forever and this is one of them. Had spent some time in the middle east and we needed a break to something entirely different. The Office suggested and arranged it as a reward.
Well I do remember so well our arrival at the hotel . Firstly as habit would in 3rd world countries arriving from the airport limo to the hotel I grabbed my suitcases only to be told "mam please" as the doorman a true gentleman escorted me firstly and took all my luggage.
This was merely the beginning , as I said coming from a 3rd world country mucky horrid and not in the slightest feminine. Aaah the luxury of the bedroom so beautifully tropically designed and the view of the Pacific and Diamond Point.
The true glory of all was the breakfast room in the morning at that time on a little island on the grounds and entered by a bridge with beautiful dolphins swimming underneath.I seriously thought I'd passed to heaven . As said this was many years ago but check it out as I don't think this kind of wonderful vacation place could ever be lost. Staff great so helpful and by far the best of the Pacific .
enjoy and love it. avril hagan

Room Tip: rooms on the south quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Aloha All!!The service was excellent and the 'Aloha Spirit' was encompassing from our arrival to our departure. All the staff from valet, front desk, pool, and restaurants...welcomed us as if it was our 'home away from home' and MORE!!
The room was well appointed, large and wonderful oceanviews and large lanai area. Please know not all rooms have a lanai (Balcony)...if important to you, be sure to book a room with a lanai. Location was fabulous, off the mainstream of Waikiki and the beach was clean and in its own alcove. Excellent pool and beach staff, always ensuring if you need another towel, food, beverage, chairs, very attentive and courteous.We ate at Seaside Grill, Plumeria, and The Veranda. The Veranda is a must, try the ahi musubi and short rib tempura...ONOLICIOUS!You will not be disappointed anything that you order at the Veranda. We booked three rooms (8pax)s and everyone agreed the amenities were great but, it was the thoughtful service of the staff making us feel very special and pampered...Our family had a wonderful stay and in one word the staff made it 'MAGICAL'.
On another note, we did the Dolphin Quest...another must...the experience is unbelievable.
IF anything for improvement (nothing to do with the hotel) would suggest City or State not sure who is responsible to repave Kahala Avenue before the hotel driveway. Mahalo nui to the associates of The Kahala Hotel and Resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The view was perfect, service was friendly and excellent. Concierge services are excellent, they gave us great recommendations. There are a lot of choices for food. My favorite is the plumeria restaurant. Room service was excellent. Maids were great. They leave chocolate and water on your bed. Its kind of out of Waikiki but they have a shuttle bus that takes you into town. 6 out of 5 stars!!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alburtis, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for 3 nights and The Kahala was a wonderful place to stay. The room was spacious and we had an amazing view of the ocean. The staff was very attentive. The breakfast buffet every morning was also very good. The beach and pool were great as well. Although we didn't swim with the dolphins, they were so fun to watch. This place was away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki which we enjoyed. We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our first experience in Hawaii and we chose absolutely the right hotel for our stay on Oahu.

You will read that this hotel used to be the Kahala Hilton and used to be and still is the destination of high profile celebs, royalty and people who wanted a smart environment away from the hubbub of the majority of Hawaiian travellers. If you want peace and quiet in smart surroundings away from the madness of Waikiki beach then this is it. The hotel has a shuttle bus that will take you to Waikiki several times a day and will collect you too. Taxis are about $40 if you wish to make your own way.

Before I review the hotel, if you travel from the mainland (LAX) to Honolulu use Hawaiian Air as this will set the scene for this fabulous group of islands. Run by Hawaiians they really are so proud of their home land that you will really feel part of Hawaii before you arrive. We visited 4 islands and Hawaiian air were on time and excellent as an airline. I must also mention that if you hire cars in Hawaii, use Hertz and hire a Ford Mustang convertible, again our cars were ready and the service unbeatable. The weak link in our trip to Hawaii could easily have been the flights and cars but they just worked perfectly, I cannot rate either company more highly. Fell free to contact me if you need any more information.

Back to The Kahala, an easy drive from the airport at Honolulu to the hotel. On arrival we had a great welcome from the valet staff who took the car and luggage away and we were adorned with the Hawaiian Lei Garlands - Heavy beads for blokes and a multi coloured flower Lei for the ladies. LOVELY! We were taken to the reception desk (you will find most properties in Hawaii are huge and it is useful to allow yourself to be directed by staff to the reception areas). Rick Rogers was our receptionist and he very professionally dealt with our check in accompanied by the reception Manager Pok Kung. We had a fabulous suite on the 8th floor. The lounge area was a large sitting room with a drinks bar and even a sink with running water - excellent! The room had an en suite shower and toilet area, TV and phones. There was a balcony facing the ocean and swimming pool area. Off the sitting room was the bedroom with a Juliet balcony, lovely matching furniture, a desk, TV and phones. Off the bedroom was a fantastic dressing room, his and hers or his and his or hers and hers to be politically correct. At each end of the dressing room was a wash basin and dressing room area. One end had a toilet with an automatic personal washing system, (if you have never used one of these you are in for a treat!) The other end had a shower. Quality toiletries and plenty of hanging space and drawers. In the middle of this area was a large bath tub. LOVELY!!

The hotel has a main quality restaurant used for general meals and breakfast, there are other restaurants which we did not use. Breakfast was a massive buffet which catered for a very diverse group of people. There is a predominant amount of Japanese guests at this hotel, probably because of the proximity to Japan. Every day we saw at least one Japanese wedding taking place and on one day we saw 4!

There is an excellent bar area off reception where they serve drinks all day and afternoon tea.

Near to the swimming pool is a dolphin pool and every day they were taking people to swim with them - the children particularly loved it - it was great fun to watch them. There are also turtles and sting ray fish in another pool. Access to the beach is very easy, 10 steps from the pool and managed very well by the pool staff who offer chairs, towels and tables. There is an excellent pool bar serving food and drink all day.

All the staff at this hotel are excellent

There is a shuttle bus which runs several times a day to Waikiki if you wish to visit the madness of the area. You must go to see Waikiki to see the extreme contrast of the areas.

Kahala is great if you want a quieter smart time in Oahu, Waikiki will be for you if you want fast pace, huge hotels and what I see as Las Vegas by sea kind of holiday.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor, the top floor (10th) of the hotel allows smoking! Buy the best room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Loews Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kahala Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.