We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Trip Kahala” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Kahala Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Parramatta, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Family Trip Kahala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Date Saturday 8th to Saturday 15th Feb
We arrived at 8 am after our flight from Sydney, to find the staff from the front desk to the room staff trying their best to get our rooms ready quickly for us to settle in, we knew that this is a late departure hotel 12pm they set us up in a private room so we could freshen up and rest this was 4 rooms 12 people with children to complicate issues, thank you to Lyn and Caroline at the front desk for this.
The staff around the pool where very helpful throughout the week, the breakfast restaurant staff set up our 14 person table for us every breakfast and where quick to supply coffee and tea and they remembered this for the whole week, thank you. We had meals at several of their restaurants and the food was great especially the Bolognese from the Veranda... yummy!
We also had a terrific experience with dolphin quest those dolphins where beautiful to pat, hold and swim with the staff where so professional with 14 people at the one time thumbs up thank you.
Willy on the canoe gave my wife and son & myself a nice ride late one day thank you.
We found the rooms all 6 (when the rest arrived a day later) very clean and spacious no one of the 12 adults could fault any rooms or staff, as Aussies tipping was an issue of understanding we all forgot at times however we never once had any staff get uppity or not offer to do something for us they were professional with us for the week.
The only negative I could say something about was the contracted free shuttle service and this was more to do with their maintenance of their buses one had leg heating issues towards the back right side.
Thank you for a terrific experience at this wonderful Resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,240
    320
    121
    54
    48
See reviews for
565
841
41
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

If you are looking for a property away from the hoards of people in Wakiki this is a great choice. Close enough for easy access but far enough for some quiet downtown. Nice beachfront, great food and well-appointed hotel rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Enjoyed every minute of our vacation. Our room was outstanding, quality & service is superb , everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Our room package came with breakfast which I highly recommend, breakfast can be pricey if purchased separate.

The shuttle service provided is great, as it takes you directly to Waikiki, or Ala Moan Mall, so much to see and do, or just enjoy a relaxing day on the beach. Or spend a day at the spa, well worth it.

We are looking forward to our next trip to Hawaii, definitely staying at the KAHALA.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room. Lower floor rooms don't have much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was wonderful, the property beautiful with lots to do, but our favorite were the SUP lessons with Willie. Each lesson resulted in a marked improvement in my son's ability. We even squeezed in one last lesson on the morning we were leaving. Willie was a wonderful teacher and he made our trip that much more special!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

You'll tip all day - tip the beach guy (can't drag your own chair out), tip the valet each time you take your car out (coffee run in the AM, activity run midday, dinner at night), tip the guy who takes you on a canoe ride. Also you'll be nickeled & dimed for all snorkel gear rentals (kids went multiple times each day). Beds very soft and mushy - challenging w a bad back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Aloha CAtravelfam. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize for not providing the value at the resort that met or exceeded your expectations. At the same time with respect to our beds we were disappointed that your experience was also below your expectations. We pride ourselves in providing a world class experience and we will certainly use your feedback to make the necessary improvements. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Was there last week for 7 days; February 9th-16th, hotel/service and food was amazing...love Hoku's restaurant. Their breakfast buffet are amazing/delicious. Our favourite hotel..if you like the Four Seasons, then you'll love this hotel...it's even be better than the four seasons of Maui.
Thank you to all the great staff at the hotel. Thank you for always making us feel at home.
See you all next yr.

K and A Pearce

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This resort on arrival seems fantastic, I stayed there for 7 nights. The rooms are no big deal small infact we had a ocean view. The cleanliness of the room leaves alot to be desired. Toilets made me want to throw up biggest germ harbour ever, they have the TOTO toilets when they were last sanitised I don't know. The carpet made your feet dirty underneath, and the chairs in the room were not the most comfy, and as I said before SMALL ROOM. Not worth the price. The food is repetative within the hotel, reservations even though you are in resort are a must. On two occasions we couldn't get into the new italian resturant on resort as they said they were fully booked, but when we walked past they seemed empty. The afternoon tea is delightful. The other resturant is ok and again repetative. Breakfast room beautiful looking over the ocean. The pool area is smallish, with the coldest swimming pool I have ever encountered, I saw a couple of people in there but other than that it was empty. Im talking about freezing and painful to get into.

The buses to Wakiki were always packed and that again was a pre book deal and if it was booked you waited a futher 2 hours for the next bus or took a taxi, most of the time we had to take taxis as who wants to be on a timetable with buses when they are on vacation? The bus on the one occasion we managed to get on it was clean. It was a 20 min run to Wakiki.

Thoughout our visit the main thing we witnessed was wedding after wedding which takes priority over the guests in the hotel, such as closing down the afternoon tea restaurant, taking over the reception/seating area.

The people at the spa were fantastic, very clean spa and relatively easy to get a appointment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Aloha NJBrit. Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for your experience. Your comments with respect to our rooms, pool, transportation, and food & beverage are very disappointing to us. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the afternoon tea as well as your spa experience. We truly appreciate your feedback and will work to make immediate improvements. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kahala Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.