We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Kahala Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Chelmsford, Essex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

For the second part of our tour we picked The Kahala to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary after enjoying the delights of San Francisco. The hotel is lovely, beautiful beach, not very crowded and always helpful staff to find you sun beds and towels. The staff are a real credit to this hotel, always happy, they made our holiday. Would especially like to thank the lady on the reception desk who helped get us a taxi and contact the tour we were mis-sold by our holiday company (they didn't realise tour didn't pick up from our hotel - doh!). Restaurants are brilliant, lovely food, I recommend Hoku, lovely meal, they even bought us a dessert with Happy Anniversary on it, lovely touch. Yes, the hotel pool is not very big and was popular with families but this did not stop our enjoyment. I always prefer the beach anyway. Much of the grounds are given over to the dolphin lagoon, we did not swim with them but saw that this was popular. After visiting Waikiki and looking at the hotels we were going to choose I think we made the right decision. Thank you Kahala, lots of happy memories!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Aloha global-ant~ Mahalo for your very kind compliments and for taking the time to share your experience with us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us for such an important milestone! We hope you both have many more happy years of marriage. We are so happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and I have shared with our teams of what a good job they have done. Until we meet again and many mahalo! The Kahala Hotel & Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    295
    110
    52
    43
See reviews for
519
768
38
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rolling Prairie, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband Bill and I spent 8 beautiful days at the Kahala to celebrate my 60th birthday and my 1st trip to Hawaii. I can not even begin to describe how beautiful the hotel was. I am a Virgo and a "clean freak" and I walked the halls and even my room in my bare feet. The room over looked the mountain and to the right was the ocean and below us was the Dolphin Quest lagoon. Every night we had turn down service with fresh towels and bottled water and our robes and slippers laid out for us. The CD played romantic and relaxing Hawaiian music upon our return to the room. We loved having breakfast overlooking the ocean and sitting outside under the Plumeria trees. We had dinner at the Veranda several times and the service was outstanding. Had lunch and drinks at the Seaside Grill and as with all the restaurants the food and service was exemplary! Have seen several reviews that some of the food items were pricey One word HAWAII. How can you put a price on the ambiance of the sun and the ocean and all that is Hawaii. A very special Thank You goes to Cameron Frithsen who planned all our activities from my "bucket list" and was instrumental in making this the best birthday vacation ever. Linda at the front desk for our pain free check in and use of the visitors suite on our last day there. Michael and her trainee ( sorry can't remember her name) who truly went all out to make my birthday special all the way down to a candle and happy birthday written on my dessert. And last but not least our house keepers and turn down service who were friendly, efficient and went above our expectations.

Room Tip: Rooms on the mountain side with a balcony and view of the sun rising over Koko and the ocean are ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Aloha PAContessa~ Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful birthday experience. We are so pleased to hear that you had an incredible 60th birthday, but most importantly that you found our resort immaculate enough to walk around barefoot. Again we greatly appreciate all your wonderful and kind compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Warmest Aloha and many thanks from The Kahala Hotel & Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have always, always loved the Kahala and followed it through its changes, name changes, and everything else. I have stayed here now twice in the same month and, quite frankly, if it was not for the people, I think I may have to change my allegiance. Instead of rewarding frequent stays, they tend to do just the opposite. This time, for the first time in 40 years, I got a room without a lanai (usually get that as a complimentary upgrade) and the package I usually get which included breakfast for 2 (still a great deal for 2), was not an option for me at this time. I felt that they have finally gotten to a point in its wonderful history, that they have turned into just another expensive hotel except that the location remains excellent. I think they forgot who the customer is and this is coming from a long time guest of the Kahala. I will say that in all of my visits this is the first time I have ever given an "average" rating. I don't know what happened but it has changed.
They will probably hate me for this review but I'm stating facts. I'm kind of disappointed and this is after talking with the latest general manager. You would think???

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Aloha ASM129~ First I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is so disheartening to hear that your stay was such a disappointment. It is our intent that our guests receive the best service and leave feeling that way. We are very sorry that we were unable to upgrade at time of check in. We try our best to accommodate our repeat guests like yourself, with complimentary upgrades, however there are times when we are unable to offer them. In regards to your breakfast, breakfast buffet is always available as an option if you wish to include with your room rate. Again we truly apologize and we hope to welcome you back again. Warmest regards The Kahala Hotel & Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here twice and if you are going to Honolulu, THIS is the hotel to stay at. Very well kept and just a great property. We LOVED having breakfast out by the water and watching the sunrise come over the mountains. I actually surprised my wife there as that is where we got engaged! If you go there make sure you get the Acai bowl as it's probably the best Acai dish we have ever had. The dolphins in the back were a nice touch and their chocolate covered macadmias in our room were way too good. Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the mountains, it was small but nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Aloha Ray H~Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We love to hear guest stories like yours, it is truly warming to hear that you proposed to your wife at The Kahala. I'm so glad that your enjoyed everything from our Acai Bowls to our dolphins and mac nuts! We hope to welcome you back again! Warmest Regards from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, NJ
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here and wished that we had booked a longer stay. The experience from the greeting by the valet, the check in to the check out was superb. So many of the staff have been there for years (one I met over 40 years) I believe this is telling of how wonderful it is. A real test of staff to me is if you report something that you think is a problem and they take care of it right then and there and don't suggest that you speak to someone else or say they will report it, I had this happen twice here, I was impressed. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable (though I must say the mattresses in room 927 could use a flip!), the amenities are nice, the lighting and television well thought out.
The best part of the hotel is it is away from Waikiki. You have to see it to understand.
The breakfast buffet is great, and FYI if you want eggs other than an omelet, ask. We ate in Hoku's twice. The first night we had their 50th Anniversary dinner with a wine pairing. It was well presented and tasty. The wine pairing is a bargain. The second night we had a sushi/sashimi appetizer, I am wishing for that right now! We shared the lamb chop dinner, the lamb is encrusted in salt and roasted, they break it out of the salt shell at the table for you. We also had a tempura appetizer that I could have done without.
My one comment is that the pool is small and there were a lot of children running around. It would be much nicer if there were two pools. There is a baby pool but the babies/children all seemed to be either in the big pool or the Jacuzzi. Otherwise, the pool is nice, chairs seemed to be plentiful and there is good service. You can have lunch at the Grill (needs a more diverse menu) the Chinese Chicken Salad was very good. The dolphins are right next to the pool area and are a good source of amusement to visit throughout the day.
Cannot wait to visit again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Aloha dtf505~ Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so happy to hear that you love our resort so much. It is so good to hear that you were impressed with the promptness of our staff, I will definitely share your compliments and thoughts with our management teams. We do look forward to welcoming you back again! With Kindest Regards and many thanks The Kahala Hotel & Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This may have been the best hotel or resort experience that we have ever enjoyed. The facility was simply beautiful and elegant. The rooms are exceptionally clean and well appointed. The view from our balcony was truly eye-popping. The service was outstanding - with the staff trying to not just meet but exceed your expectations at every turn. We ended up ordering room service several times because we couldn't beat the view from our balcony. The Dolphin Quest adventure was beyond words and we spent hours watching the dolphins and trainers from our balcony during our visit. First class - all the way and a fabulous vacation experience.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view - you can't miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Aloha Bill S~Thank you so much for your very kind compliments and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are more than pleased that you had such an enjoyable time. It is so nice to hear that you found our dolphins so entertaining. They really are fascinating to watch. We can't wait till your next visit! Warmest Aloha and many thanks from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folly Beach, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My family had a great time! We loved the quiet location and friendly attentive staff , Great food . Spacious updated room. Lovely grounds. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet overlooking the ocean in the morning which was in our package.. My grandson had a great time at the pool.
He also swam with the dolphins at Dolpin Quest which is on location.
They have a great staff educating the public about marine life.
Great calm beach to swim on and only a short drive to Wakiki!
Thanks! See you next year. Mahalo

Room Tip: Would ask for a Lanai and either DOlphin, beach or Diamond head view, Golf course was nice too
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Aloha MAFollyBeach~ Aloha and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you found our guest rooms spacious and our staff attentive and friendly. And most of all we are so happy to hear that your grandson had a wonderful time with his dolphin encounter. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Until we meet again The Kahala Hotel & Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Hotels.com, Amex, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kahala Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.