We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Kahala Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spent 3 days/nights here in August and loved it. The setting in Kahala is quiet and attractive. The resort is compact and it was busy, but we never felt crowded out or overlooked. Even when there were functions on, things were business as usual for the hotel guests. All the facilities, from the beach and pool to the rooms, were beautifully clean and felt fresh, and the staff were quick to tidy up at the end of the day. The public areas are airy and welcoming.

We had a very spacious room looking out over the golf course and the hills beyond, and it was lovely sitting out on the lanai enjoying the cooling breezes. The bathroom was large and very well equipped. We dined at Plumeria Beach House, The Verandah and Hoku's, and found the food to be excellent, and for us, genuinely different. One of the aspects of the hotel we liked best was the staff. They were very pleasant while always being professional, were never at a loss, and really added to the holiday atmosphere. Their recognition of our birthdays was very much appreciated.

Plenty of families and children were at the hotel, which we didn't mind at all, but it's something you may want to bear in mind if you're looking for a couples-type romantic getaway. There are dolphins and other sea creatures to watch in the ponds at the centre of the resort, which can be surprisingly relaxing.

Special recommendation: have afternoon tea at The Verandah.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Aloha Duckbatte~Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that everything from staff to your room and restaurants were exceptional. Even more than that we are so honored that you celebrated your birthday with us, we wish you many more happy birthdays! We look forward to welcoming you back again! From all of us here at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    295
    110
    52
    44
See reviews for
519
770
38
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Indeed, it is also the most expensive place I have ever been. However, it is worthy every single dollar. When you arrive you directly get this Hawaiian feeling of joy and happyness. They welcome you with several gifts. It's just amazing. Service is perfect in every single detail. Its ambience breathtaking. Kahala is located 10 minutes away from Waikiki but in comparison to Waikiki hotels it offers a lot of privacy and relaxation (not commerzialized at all). Pool and (private) beach are directly connected. Breakfast buffett offers a great variety and is very delicious. There is also a pool with 6 dolfins and other beautiful fishes. As animal-loving people we thought the pool is too small but dolfins looked quite happy. And there are probably a lot of other nice things that I didn't mention. We thing this place is unique and if you can afford it you should definitely come!

Room Tip: Upgrade for hooneymooners - was very nice. Many, many thanks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Aloha ulfmertens~Congratulations to you and your wife! Thank you for choosing The Kahala Hotel & Resort to celebrate your honeymoon. We are so happy to hear that you found everything from service to beach and breakfast to be absolutely exceptional. We can't wait to welcome you back again! With many thanks from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at Kahala for 5 nights. First 5 nights of our 4 week honeymoon & we couldn't have picked a better place.
The resort was lovely & secluded. Exactly what you need for a honeymoon. About 15min drive away from Waikiki.

Although check in wasn't till 2pm, we were able to check in at 10am. Which was great as we had just flown in from Australia!

We had a lovely ocean view lanai room. Our room was spacious and clean. The bathrooms were quite impressive in size. The room was cleaned twice a day & we always had a lovely selection of chocolate strawberries & champagne. It's lovely to see management go out of their way to celebrate our honeymoon with us!

The bed was comfortable and if we had any requests they were always fulfilled! The staff are courteous, bubbly & helpful.

Breakfast Buffet was amazing! Always fresh. Always clean & a good choice of foods.

The gym was great. Had all the basic equipment and allowed us to work off our daily breakfasts!!!

The pool was slightly small, not a grand resort style pool but there are plenty of beds around the pool & the pool staff are very attentive. offering sunscreen, water and plenty of clean fresh towels.

The beach is lovely, just a 10m walk from the pool area. Also plenty of beds and lounges to use at the beach area.

If you are looking for a hotel which is quiet & secluded in Oahu, then this is it!

A BIG thank you the Kahala staff for making the start of our honeymoon so brilliant!
We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Although the Lanai rooms can be a little expensive, they are definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Aloha MonMon25~Mahalo Nui Loa for your very kind compliments and congratulations! We greatly appreciate you choosing to stay with us to celebrate your honeymoon. Nothing makes us happier than to hear that our guests are so happy with our magical brand of Aloha and find everything from our location to guestrooms and dining to be exceptional. Thank you again for your loyalty to our resort and for taking the time to write such wonderful words about your stay with us. We can't wait to welcome you back again! With many thanks and aloha form all of us at the Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Kahala to the rescue! Thank you Kahala hotel for saving us from Waikiki hell. Our stay here really made up for the nightmarish one night (which we barely lasted through) at the Sheraton Waikiki. We had such a lovely 2 week stay on the Big Island and planned on rounding our trip off in Oahu for a few nights before returning home. After the horrible experience we had at the Sheraton Waikiki, we quickly checked out early and decided to head over to the Kahala and it was the best decision made!
The rooms are spacious, service first class and the private beach exclusively for Kahala guests was the cherry on top. Even the clientele here were a lot less obnoxious and more laid back.
Above all, the service here is outstanding. From the valet/bell desk boys, front desk staff (James - thx for trying to help me print out my airline tix), and Lynn from housekeeping, you guys are all top notch. It's the little things that really count when it comes down to the competition between 5 star hotels on the island and yes, in my eyes you have surpassed the Halekulani in that respect. Just to give a quick example...the first night they only had king beds available for our small family (two young toddlers) and after returning back to our room later, the housekeeping staff had brought in a crib during turndown service without even requesting for one. Also, all our bath towels were replenished, my personal toiletries re-organized, my kids' stuffed toys were neatly tucked into bed & the iPhone/iPad chargers were all neatly looped and tucked nicely by the bedside table, beautiful Hawaiian music playing on the CD/ipod player and plumeria scent in the air, along with cold water bottles and ice filled in our ice bucket. It's the nice personal touches like this I appreciate as it separates this resort from the rest on the island.
Even the basic mountain view room we booked had a spectacular view of the golf course and a side view of the ocean. The rooms were very clean, however, I agree with some of the others that some repairs may be needed - particularly a half-opened vent in our bathroom which probably needed to be hammered back into the wall.

We will definitely be staying here again on our next visit to Oahu.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Aloha LLBrand~ Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for sharing such kind words! We are so happy that we were able to salvage the remainder of your vacation. I will definitely share your compliments with our teams especially James and Lynn. Truly the best compliment is a job well done! We also appreciate your feedback regarding the vents; as this helps us to improve. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back. With many thanks and aloha from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

After extensive Trip Advisor research on where to stay in Oahu, we picked the right place. We were met at the airport by a car service provided by the hotel. Our driver Paul whisked us away and brought us to paradise.
The Kahala is located outside the city which for us was perfect. The lobby is beautiful. Understated elegance. The staff from the concierge to the front desk to the bellman were fantastic. Friendly, helpful, always smiling.
The room was gorgeous. A partial ocean view was quite nice. Not oceanfront but pretty good. The grounds are beautiful. Love the dolphins, stingrays, fish. Always fun to watch. The restaurants were
nice. Fresh fish, lots of choices & beachfront.
The Kahala was probably one of the nicest hotels we've stayed at over the years. It's not cheap but you certainly get your money's worth. If you want a hotel away from the hustle-n- bustle of the city, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Aloha Chef127~ Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and for the outstanding compliments. We are so pleased that you found us to be exceptional. It is truly an honor to be considered one of the nicest hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back! With many thanks and aloha The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed at the Kahala for years, returning almost every year. It is a good value if you book 60 or 90 days in advance. Far away from the crowds at Waikiki, close to the restaurants in Kaimuki and a nice walk to Starbucks in the mall is easy. The beach is seldom crowded. Pool area and pool is too small, but great for kids. We like the large bathrooms with a full shower and a separate tub. Wifi is weak. No resort fee, but parking is not included and cabs are expensive to Waikiki.

The hotel as looked the same for decades. Maybe it's time to upgrade. We love it, but understand its not young any longer....just like us.

Room Tip: Kona Wing, partial Ocean View faces the mountains but is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Aloha Terry W.~ Thank you for sharing your kind compliments and your valuable feedback. We are so happy that you found our location so convenient and that you enjoyed our secluded beaches. We realize that our hotel is due for a refresh and are happy to inform that we will be installing all new carpeting throughout the resort. We are also installing new internet infrastructure so that we can offer improved internet speeds. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Warmest Regards from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Located about a 15 minute drive from busy Waikiki is the Kahala Resort. Tucked away at the end of where some Locals call the "Beverly Hills" of Honolulu, this resort has all that you need for a nice Hawaiian getaway.

Private beach is quiet and good for a dip or casual snorkeling, paddle boarding, or kayaking, it is not ideal for surfing or boogie boarding. It can get a bit windy although we did not have any issues while we were there.

Service is phenomenal, and even though we were there in the summer season, we did not feel overwhelmed by small kids running about, nor did the hotel ever "look" like it was worn out by the rush of vacationers.

A rental car can get you to Diamond Head in less than 10 minutes and to Waikiki in 15. We are usually traveling against rush hour traffic and that is always a perk.

Room Tip: Partial oceans usually have a view of the parking lot and front of hotel; tends to be located above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Aloha OrangeTang~ Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. As you figured out, our location is definitely one of the highlights of our hotel. The peaceful and comfortable setting is what attracts a lot of our guests. We are so delighted to hear that you found our services and our staff to be exceptional. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Many mahalos from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kahala Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.