We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing don't even explain how wonderful this place is!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added The Kahala Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50th Celebrations Special
Ranked #5 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
Cadillac, Michigan, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing don't even explain how wonderful this place is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the kahala for a week for our honeymoon best 7 days of our live! The hotel was beautiful! The staff was wonderful, very helpful and friendly! The restaurants have amazing food well worth the expensive cost of food and stay, we had the breakfast package I would recommend that to everyone for both of us breakfast would be close to $90 a day (well worth that price) but we didnt have to pay anything, the food was so good included 5 buffet tables 1 was the most amazing fruit we have ever eaten! And also on top of the 5 buffet tables they had an omelet bar where they make whatever omelet you want in front of you, we also ate at hoku's and the plumeria in the hotel both great restaurants. The hotel room was amazing such a beautiful view a huge room the bathroom was so wonderful included 2 vanities a walk in shower a soaking tub, 2 closets with robes, a fridge with free bottled water you can also call room service and have them stock the bar with whatever u want, coffee maker with a basket of coffee teas things that go with that, ice bucket (you have to call room service for more ice but they do fill it when your room is cleaned and also during turn down service) a full sized hair dryer that was nice since most places give you a Barbie sized hair dryer! Lol The bed was so comfy and there was slippers by the bed and with turn down service they turn romantic Hawaiian music on the CD player every night. We also received a free bottle of chilled champagne for it being our honeymoon! They have nice boutiques to shop in at the hotel. There is also a nice private beach where only hotel guests swim and nice seating area by the ocean,they have a nice pool with lounge seats all around it, an outdoor hot tub was nice, they have a waterfall that goes into the lagoon where they have 6 of their own dolphins, 2 mana rays, and a sea turtle. The only bad thing is on Wednesday you can't get a drink to save your life, the plumeria is closed that day (closest restaurant to the pool) they close the outside bar at 5 pm which is usually when people want to start drinking, and room service takes 1 hour that day, the other 2 restaurants 1 you can't go in while not wearing dress clothes the other one my husband sat in for an hour and nobody talked to him!! We where not the only people wanting a drink and it was the 3rd of July so they should have left the bar open longer!! The best thing was how quiet and secluded feeling the hotel was! Was like being in your own world! If you stay here you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Make sure to get the breakfast package you will want their breakfast everyday it's so good and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    864
    247
    95
    49
    41
See reviews for
414
594
35
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NEUILLY SUR SEINE
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Don't go to kahala resort hôtel:
Very expensive for a scenic(mountain view Room on the 1 floor with no lanai )
Old bathroom, Old towels with hole
I asked to up grade the Room, nô problem 200$ more per night to have a Room on 6 floor with sea view and parking view
To expensive
We are 3, I Ask for a 2 queens beds rooms: only on océan view: 400$ more per night

Everything is money, you need umbrella to the beach: 25$ a day
Local call even free call: 1 $ each
Swimming pool to small for a resort
But you can see turtle, dolphin, fish in the garden
Concierge is 0: we would like to book a restaurent: nô neccessary, she shaid, we go and 90 min waiting
Before arriving, we were at four seasons maui during 5 nights: paradise

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Aloha Jean Louis L~Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is always our goal to provide the most exceptional service, clearly we did not accomplish that during your stay. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the room upgrade charges. During high travel seasons hotels have less flexibility to offer complimentary upgrades due to the higher demand for rooms. We keep our pricing comparable to similar properties on Oahu and we offer many complimentary amenities for our guests, we apologize that you were not able to take advantage of them.Thank you again for sharing your important feedback with us and we do hope that we look forward to turning your experience around one day. With Kindest Regards, The Kahala Hotel & Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Large rooms with good amenities. Pool area tired. Staff overall a little unenthusiastic and did not make you feels special in what is considered a premium sty in Honolulu. Poor shuttle services into Honolulu. Was not impressed with queuing for breakfast and then being told a 45 minute wait until,we could be seated. Breakfast itself was quite average. While perfectly pleasant I did not feel this place went above and beyond to make you feel special as expected for a resort of this calibre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Aloha Phil~ Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are always listening and are so sorry to hear that your stay was a disappointment. Most disheartening is hearing that you were left with the impression that our staff does not go above an beyond. We are so sorry that is how you were made to feel and while we cannot undo the past, we want you to know that it is absolutely not the case. The Kahala has a reputation for a caring staff and genuine service, we do hope for the opportunity to show you that we truly embody the aloha spirit in all that we do. With Kindest Regards The Kahala Hotel & Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Kahala is not to be missed! The hotel will be celebrating its 50th birthday but it sure has kept up with the times! It truly is a 5 star hotel, but did not feel stuffy at all. The rooms are beautifully decorated and quite large. We were very fortunate to have a beachfront room and it had the most beautiful view. If you are lucky enough to have a ground floor room, you can open your patio door and walk directly out to the beach. I don't think that you can do that anywhere else on Oahu. The rooms in this wing are a bit of a walk from the lobby, but well worth it. The rooms on the opposite side of the beach front look over the dolphin pond. I was told these rooms are just as popular and are in demand from many time repeat guests..The beach here has little wave action, so safe for swimming. All of the staff we encountered were extremely friendly, especially the valet and bell staff. When returning to Oahu, we will come back to Kahala.....FOR SURE!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I am not often blown away by a place but this place was great. You are not in the hustle and bustle if Waikiki but close enough to go for the dinner. The beach is great. The service is excellent and the buffet breakfast is to die for. An excellent intimate upscale hotel. The concierge is great also. She told us about a great scuba spot on the north shore and an excellent food truck (giovani shrimp truck) near the scuba spot. She also told us about a great sushi spot.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Aloha 46466JerseyGuy~ Thank you for sharing your experience and for your kind remarks. Our location is truly one of our highlights and we are happy that you discovered it. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. From all of us here at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just returned from staying at the Kahala Resort and Hotel. My family and I stayed there 7/31 thru 8/3/13. This hotel is so beautiful has truly wonderful rooms, bathrooms and grounds and friendly helpful staff. It was my daughter's 8th birthday and there was a piece of mango cake and two large cookies waiting in our room when we arrived. We were upgraded to a premium ocean view room! Just perfect. great pool and beach. My daughter swam with the dolphins on site and had a wonderful experience. The buffet breakfast at the Plumeria was very scrumptous! This is a great location and is far enough away from downtown Honolulu that you get to truly enjoy the Hawaiian experience and really relax! We will definitely return to this hotel next time we are in Honolulu!!

Room Tip: Premium Ocean View Room was quite and perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just arrived home after our dream holiday in Hawaii. The Kahala is a stunning hotel with exceptional staff and quality throughout. The food is very nice in all areas (if a little pricey)
Car rental was easy as hertz are onsite. Beautiful calm beach always had space for us and the kids,and the Dolphin lagoon was very special as we took advantage of the opportunity to interact with them (at a price)
The pool area can be crowded and is unsupervised by staff which needs attention. There was an incident involving the pool while we were staying.
Overall The Kahala is easy to recommend to family's looking to experience Hawaii without the hustle and bustle of Waikiki.

Room Tip: Ocean views are stunning.Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Aloha Alan~ Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we are delighted to hear that your enjoyed recent stay with us here at The Kahala. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the many activities and amenities offered to our guests and we also appreciate you sharing these in your review. We appreciate your concern about the incident involving the pool, water safety is very important to us and although we cannot prevent accidents from happening we do require that our pool staff are all CPR trained and certified. We look forward to welcoming you back again! With many thanks and aloha from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LHW, BookIt.com, Amex, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kahala Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.