We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!! Must stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Kahala Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$335 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!!! Must stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel and staff were above and beyond what we expected. The staff is amazing, the hotel has a relaxing atmosphere, it's beautiful and immaculate. The beach area is great. Can't say enough about the staff, truly a wonderful hotel. Dolphin experience was so much fun, great experience for the entire family. Breakfast buffet was excellent, great food, wonderful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    295
    110
    53
    43
See reviews for
515
758
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel is fantastic,great beach,great views,great rooms,we stayed at the left lwing w partial ocean view but plenty view of the dolphins,the perfect spot,it was wonderfull to stay at the porch watching the dolphins playing and exercising,the breakfast buffet is a must so dont left the opportunity of buying the breakfast package,it cost 20 pp when the real cost is aound 40.great staff,must come bach!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had a great stay in the Kahala hotel, you are welcome with a necklace when you join and a free drinks, I was in the inside Lagoon with access to the Dolphin, the room were nice but pretty basic, sleep quality was good though.
Breakfast buffet was amazing, plenty of fruits with view on the beach, I really felt I was in heaven.
The spa is very poor, and the massage were for me very bad, my back felt worse after than before.
The hotel is away from the main beach but has it's own small beach.

Room Tip: A room with a view on the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you found everything from views to service to be exceptional. However, we are very sorry to hear that you left our spa feeling disappointed. Often times when people get massages, especially deep tissue massages, it is normal to feel some tenderness afterwards. We greatly appreciate you expressing your concerns, and we are truly sorry that you left disappointed. Mahalo again for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We do hope to welcome you back again! With Kindest Regards, The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights at the Kahala and then 4 nights at the Halekalani, arguably the 2 best hotels in Oahu, this past June. It was an amazing time spent away. The Kahala was truly a fantastic hotel, from the reservation people in the back offices I spoke to when phone booking, to the bell hops who greeted us on arrival out the front, the pool waiters, the barstaff, the breakfast staff, the conceirge, to all the people who looked after us so brilliantly, the Kahala team could not have been more helpful or friendlier. And, I've got to say, to me, this is what a really great hotel experience is all about- people. The people working at the Kahala seemed genuinely happy to be working there, and it showed. To each and every one of them, thank you.
Loved the island style decor of the room at the Kahala, mountain view king bed number on a lower floor with a picturesque view of palms trees and greenery, and its size and layout. One small point, although I really liked the size/ layout of the bathroom and closet area, it was out-dated looking, a bit tired. Bed was super comfortable, and the room lovely to arrive back to with the turn down service done.
The whole experience of staying at the Kahala was a fantasticly memorable time and I can't wait to go back.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

First rate room with great amenities.
Comfortable bed and everything totally spotless.
Great atmosphere with music left playing in the background.
Fantastic options for breakfast (American and Japanese)
Outstanding view both in room and at breakfast
Top-notch service during check-in, check-out and in between.

This stay was a gift to us, so I cannot comment on the prices.

Overall, wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Kahala is a sophisticated, strikingly beautiful, serene, beachfront resort located at the end of the road..... Soft background Hawaiian music is heard as you enter the public areas. Our stay got better and better. Check in was oddly delayed by lots of keyboard clicking and repeated promises that room would be ready... soon..... Once we cleared that hurdle and made our own way to the room, we were pleased to see the pretty Tommy Bahama style room, with 2 double beds, a chaise lounge, desk, dresser and round table. Our balcony overlooked the golf course, with an ocean view. The bathroom was wonderful-his and her vanities, his and her closets, shower, tub, with hand held shower spray, lots of drawer and cupboard space, coffee bar counter, safe, and a separate toilet room. Tommy Bahama toiletries, chenille robes and wonderful big white towels completed the bath. WSJ delivered daily. Turndown service was provided nightly. Housekeeping staff was quiet and courteous. Parking is valet or self-park in the adjacent several story garage. For self-park, you will need a parking pass to exit the garage. Plumeria buffet breakfast was included with the room. The buffet included different specials each day, as well as Japanese options, and an omelet station. Try acai sorbet, guava juice, kahalasadas, rolled crepes, Japanese pickled vegetables over rice, Kahala coffee, and fresh papaya and pineapple! All excellent! For early coffee drinkers, visit the cart at the bottom of the staircase by the orchid wall. We booked our tours by phone with the hotel concierge prior to our arrival and all were ticketed and ready at check-in. We spent our afternoons at the Kahala beach and pool; chaircovers and towels are provided by the pool staff. Fascinated, we returned to watch the trained dolphins daily at the hotel's renowned Dolphin Quest. We often just stopped to sit for a moment on the rocking chairs on the porch to watch the dolphins play and the ocean spray! Resort was only 20 minutes from airport -maybe 35 at high traffic times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The terrible rating is due to the WAY OVER-THE-TOP PRICES. Hotel was nice enough; bed did not lend itself to a good night's sleep. With the outlandish pricing, each room should have their own private chef and butler. At the least breakfast should be included in the price. COULD NOT BELIEVE the prices charged by the hotel restaurants. The hotel did offer a free shuttle into Waikiki, which we took advantage of to find places in town to eat.
The staff were very accommodating; Concierges Cameron and Frank were very helpful in reserving activities.
Would never stay again or recommend. So not worth the money; find a place for less and put the money saved towards your adventures.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so sorry to hear that you left disappointed and feel that our prices are too high. That concerns us as we certainly don't wish for our guests to leave feeling that way. We do all we can to make the facilities and dining prices as affordable as possible for our guests, and we greatly value your feedback so that our management team can further access our policies and offerings. Thank you again for sharing this important feedback with us and for letting us know that other than the price point you had a very enjoyable stay. With kind regards and many thanks again, The Kahala Hotel & Resort .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kahala Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.